Neutrogena Neutrogena Deep Clean Cleanser Cream

3.4

434 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cetyl Alcohol, PPG 15 Stearyl Ether, Methyl Gluceth 20, Steareth 21, Gelatin, Salicylic Acid, Polysorbate 60, Steareth 2, DEA Cetyl Phosphate, Disodium EDTA, Menthol, Fragrance 5/29/09


on 4/12/2015 11:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have normal skin and breakout occasionally. I use this cleanser every other day in the shower after exploitation with the St. Ives scrub. I mainly use this to keep my face in check. I have used this for six years and I think it works well. It even works sometimes as a spot treatment for me! Overall I would recommend this product to someone with relatively normal skin looking to keep minor breakouts at bay.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

3.5 stars. It's okay-ish. It has salicylic acid and a ph of about 3-4 which is what I wanted in a cleanser, and in that it's fine. I usually remove makeup with mineral oil and then cleanse anything remaining with this. I leave it on for about a minute and wash it off. I do feel like the oil gets sufficiently cleaned off. There is a film left, as others have mentioned, but I think that's a good thing - it's not drying up and stripping all the moisture out.

Likes: ph at right level for salicylic acid to exfoliate, cream doesn't feel stripping after using mineral oil

Dislikes: menthol leaves a gross "cooling" sensation, which can end up stinging if I've been lazy and not used mineral oil before. I'm not sure if it's actually having any "deep cleaning" effect, given that it's only on for a minute or so.

If I wasn't using the mineral oil before this I'd have stopped using it! But as my routine stands, it's fine. I've almost finished one tube and have repurchased a second because it was on sale.


on 4/5/2015 9:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used this Neutrogena product mostly in high school. I remember the cooling sensation of this product. Ultimately, this did not help "deep clean" my pores and I continued to have unmitigated breakouts all throughout high school and I would definitely not recommend this product. There are better products out there for dealing with acne, especially blackouts.


on 4/5/2015 2:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Not the worst cleanser I have ever used but not good either.
It seemed to leave a film on my skin and never really cleansed my skin well.
I always had left over makeup and needed a toner after to ensure my skin was clean.


on 3/12/2015 9:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This did not work for me. I have combination skin - Oily/Shiny T-zone and dry tight feeling everywhere else. I thought I would give this ago since my sister liked it. This broke me out pretty bad. I had cystic pimples under the skin and it was really painful. I think it was too harsh for my skin. Even though i get oily, i do feel that my skin is sensitive. It did make my skin feel really clean but it felt like it striped everything off my skin.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IF YOU HAVE DRY SKIN!!! I have extremely dry and sensitive skin and this cleanser made my skin dry and red. It contains things like cetyl alcohol, salicylic acid and menthol, which are all really bad for dry skin. maybe this would would better if you had combo or oily skin, but it will turn your skin into the sahara desert if you have dry skin


on 2/16/2015 9:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have tried SO many cleansers and I always come back to this! It makes your skin feel so clean, and soft, and my skin never feels tight after using this! It really does get down into your pores like it says, and gives you a better complexion and clears acne!


on 1/20/2015 7:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I made a makeup alley account specifically to review this awful product. I have been a diehard nitrogen fan since i started caring about skincare. I have acne prone, sensitive skin and I was previously on accutane. Since accutane has left my skin incredibly sensitive, i have to be careful about what i use. I have always been able to use neutrogena. This product contains so many awful ingredients including fragrance and menthol. Look up any reviews from professional sites and blogs, such as paula's choice and you will see this is not just my opinion! It has made me break out more than I have since being off accutane. It has honestly killed my self esteem about finally having clear skin and has RUINED my skin again! I thought this was just a "purging" process but after using it for awhile my skin got worse and worse. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT. I don't care what kind of skin you have this is a harmful product.


on 11/21/2014 7:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Love this one I don't like products that leaves a film on skin instead of cleaning it... This could be a bit drying so needs moisturizer afterwords


on 11/20/2014 6:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product made me incredibly sad. This used to be my HG cleanser. I started using it about 10 years ago. It was PERFECT for my skin. Then about 2 years ago i purchased a new bottle and it seemed that the packaging was slightly different and the texture was a tad different. I didn't think much of it at the time. Then, my skin broke out in a red pimply rash EVERYWHERE. I continued to use it, chalking it up to something else but it never subsided, even after purchasing yet ANOTHER bottle. Something changed. I was super bummed out. But when it worked for me, I loved it.


Back to Top