Aveda • Color Conserve • Shampoo

rated 3.2(104 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Npandora on 7/9/2014 2:25:00 PM more reviews by Npandora

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this shampoo. I have baby fine, thin dyed red hair. It doesn't weigh my hair down which is important with my hair type.
I'm not sure how well it keeps the color in as my red hair fades like crazy no matter what I do to it. I also just dyed it a week ago and started using this shampoo, so far so good.
I haven't used the conditioner as I don't use conditioner in the shower because of my fine oily hair.
I also don't mind the smell. I'm not sure why people complain about it so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Australianforbeerk2k3 on 6/16/2013 10:33:00 PM more reviews by Australianforbeerk2k3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product. I splurged and thought I was doing something good for myself, but I am disappointed. The shampoo cleaned my hair well and helped my colour to stay fresh, but it broke my out horribly. I started getting acne on my neck and little bumps all over my scalp. I have never had this before - ever. Took me a few months to figure out what the heck it was from, but as soon as I stopped using this it cleared up. In reading some of the other reviews on here, I'm realizing that I'm not the only one this happened to. Seems weird for a natural product to cause this type of reaction, but oh well! Such a waste!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SamanthaJo19 on 3/5/2013 5:29:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaJo19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo smells very clean and fresh, and helps keep your color treated hair vibrant and lasting. I was taken back a bit with the scent at first, purely because I've only used fruity and floral shampoos, but I grew to enjoy it. It leaves your hair soft, smooth, and smelling salon clean. It also lathers amazingly well! I've never tried a shampoo that lathered so well, and it makes my hair feel even more clean. The only downside is the price, I'm a cheapo on shampoo and hair products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fitnut on 1/20/2013 8:50:00 AM more reviews by fitnut

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Whenever I get compliments on my hair, it'a always after I have used the Color Conserve. Love this shampoo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GlammaGrrl on 1/8/2013 6:38:00 PM more reviews by GlammaGrrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is not sulfate-free. Disappointing :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 6/9/2012 3:00:00 AM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I used to buy this in liters a few years ago when I had my hair colored in an Aveda salon but stopped using it when I got into the much more expensive Kerastase line. I had a GC to a local Aveda salon so I decided to purchase this since I used to like it so much. The smell is amazing, I forgot how much I loved it. It lathers nicely but doesn't strip hair or make it feel overly clean. I had no tangles when I rinsed which is huge for me, I have fine blonde hair that tangles easily. I used it with the matching conditioner and air dried with Phomollient. Great end result, beachy waves with no crunch or frizz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 12/9/2011 3:55:00 PM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Color Conserve is more moisturizing than Aveda's Shampure, but less moisturizing than Aveda's Dry Remedy and Damage Remedy. It worked well for awhile, but then I realized it was irritating my scalp.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 canadamomof4 on 6/6/2011 3:07:00 PM more reviews by canadamomof4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love how this shampoo makes my hair look, but unfortunately it makes my forehead, jaw and side of face break-out horribly.
It is nice stuff, smell is great but I have to stop using it :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cdesla1 on 3/30/2011 9:51:00 PM more reviews by cdesla1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This product smells great and is very moisturizing. however, it is too moisturizing for my fine, thin, straight, oily hair--it weighs it down and makes my hair look limp and greasy. I color my hair vibrant red, so I am always on the lookout for a shampoo that will not strip my color, but will also not weigh down my hair. this is not it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lucyem on 12/14/2010 8:57:00 AM more reviews by lucyem

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I color my hair at an Aveda salon so picked this up to try. I love Aveda's philosophy and have used many of the products successfully in the past and still presently use the madder root conditioner. Well it took me a month to realize the absolutely horrid breakouts behind my jawbone were due to this product. I stopped using it and the problem cleared up. I mentioned this to my stylist and she commented that some people can react to some of the natural products. Maybe a random root or herb. As for the shampoo itself the price was OK. No different then buying Loreal Everpure, though I can find coupons for that and do not break out :) As for how it was in my hair, well like the price it was no different then anything else I have used. Obviously I would never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Shampoo products