Matrix Biolage - Hydrating Shampoo


299 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$


Ingredients: water, sodium laureth sulfate, sodium lauryl sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium chloride, cocamide mea, hexylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, fragrance, benzyl alcohol, methylparaben, propylparaben, citric acid, glycol distearate, guar hydoxypropyltrimonium chloride, tetrasodium EDTA, propylene glycol, polysorbate 20, algae extract, sage leaf extract, pollen extract, saponaria officinalis extract, wheat gern oil, cymbopogon schoenanthus extract, yellow 5.

on 9/25/2015 1:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

NOTE: same review was done for the shamps and conditioner.

First off, I would like to say that in all my years as a MUA member, this is only my second review. Ever. Hopefully that will give you an indication of how badly I hated this product - so bad that I just HAD to warn you.

Now I know everyone is different, so I'll try explain EXACTLY what my hair type is like, so you can assess whether or not this product is for you (and judging but the overall rating, it most likely is).

Anyway - my hair is naturally very blonde (so much so that I tint my eyebrows), its extremely thick and wavy. It has a tendency to dry a little bit frizzy, but given I use the right products (aka oleo slim relax OMG), I can usually get away with having my hair air dry and it looking someone amazeballs.

I saw that this product seemed to target thick wavy/curly hair, so swapped it out with my regular shamps and conditioner (which was Matrix Keratindose). BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER.

To summarise what my hair was like after shampooing and conditioning with this:
- rebellious AF (even though I still used my Kerastase serums)
- curlier than usual, which I was trying to embrace if it wasn't so STRAW LIKE
- heaps and HEAPS of frizzy fly aways... even on my part/hair line
- thick, in a horrible separated 80s hair kinda way

When I tried to tame the mane, I got even worse results:
- When I dried it (with hair dryer or straightener) there was HEAPS of steam coming off my strands, its like it didn't dry and still had heaps of moisture in it. Even if I let my hair air dry and tried blow drying it 16+ hours later
- I added some glorious heat protecting / smoothing serums that usually work a charm, and they made my hair stiff and really dry looking
- it seemed to be frizzy no matter how much time or energy I put into it

I don't know what else to say. I feel like this whole experience has been a horrible nightmare where your HG products get discontinued and your stuck with horrible cave man hair. Whats worse is that I was still using my HG serums, and I tried multiple approaches (let it dry naturally, blow dry it, straighten it, curl it) and I ended up giving up and putting my hair up in a bun.

If anyone lives in Perth Western Australia, and happens to love this item (or wants to try it) please PLEASE direct message me and I shall sell a near full shamps and conditioner to you for a very reasonable price.


on 2/6/2015 4:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Makes my hair so soft and shiny. Love this shampoo.

on 8/15/2014 12:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely am obsessed with this product. Whenever my stylist does my hair, it always comes out so smooth ad shiny before he even applies any serums! Recently I asked him what shampoo he uses and he gave me some ( he's a family friend). I'm in love. Will be re purchasing !!

on 8/7/2014 1:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have acne or just starting to get a little bit do NOT buy this, I didn't have to many pimples just black heads but with this shampoo it have me 10 pimples, I have over 6 on my forehead and the rest on my face, also it leaves your head oily after 12 hours or so,and it's a very uncomfortable feeling. Do NOT buy this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/1/2014 10:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I like this shampoo and definitely would buy it again. As it gets my hair and scalp totally clean without drying out either. And, i find, that a little bit does go a long way, with this product.

This along with other products from the Biolage line do work really well for my hair. I do not use this product all the time. I happen to buy such, when i have extra money for splurging only.

on 7/24/2014 5:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

My mother bleaches her hair to a white blonde and blow dries it everyday. Lots of damage. But she has baby soft hair!!! Why? This is the shampoo she uses. Whenever I go to visit her, I use her products too and my hair is in better condition when I leave. So, I decided to bring it to my place!

I have long, thick, and colored hair(natural hair color black and dyed dark brown), this cleanses without stripping, does not weigh my hair down instead makes it so flowing. This makes my hair so soft and shiny. I can't keep my hands out of my hair! This smells fresh&tropical too. I buy this in the jumbo size and there's often good sales. Will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 7/11/2014 8:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

After getting my hair bleached at a salon, my stylist recommended this product because I was having a lot of breakage. All this did is my hair out and made my hair fall out even more.

on 5/24/2014 8:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

How can a "hydrating" product contain SLS's? I got talked into buying a litre bottle of this and two washes with it made my hair dry and brittle. I'm kicking myself for not checking the ingredient list before purchase because now I'm stuck with a giant bottle of shampoo I paid a fortune for and I can't use. If you're actually looking for something hydrating, steer clear.

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product! I got my hair ombré about a year ago and I've been using this in between the treatments and its helping my hair look its best! This is totally my holy grail product:)

on 1/25/2014 3:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I tried this last year and it has quickly become one of my favorites. I use it in rotation with Redken All Soft, if that gives you any kind of idea about the kinds of products I usually like. I find that this works best if I use it in combination with the coordinating conditioning balm and by itself it's not quite moisturizing enough for me. It's decent for everyday use without being overly heavy. My hair is very thick, colored and tends toward being dry, especially in the winter, but many heavily moisturizing shampoos like Kenra make my hair super greasy. This has a pleasant fragrance: not like the best perfume ever, but not powdery or masculine like many shampoos. I buy this when I can get the one-liter bottles for $15 at Ulta with a 20% off coupon and that makes it nearly the same cost as your average mass-market shampoo, only I think it works quite a bit better than that. It leaves my hair feeling soft without being overly weighted down.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Top Rated Matrix Products

Back to Top