Matrix • Biolage - Hydrating Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.7(293 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Mishcakat on 7/11/2014 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Mishcakat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

After getting my hair bleached at a salon, my stylist recommended this product because I was having a lot of breakage. All this did is my hair out and made my hair fall out even more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 frankie79 on 5/24/2014 8:33:00 AM more reviews by frankie79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

How can a "hydrating" product contain SLS's? I got talked into buying a litre bottle of this and two washes with it made my hair dry and brittle. I'm kicking myself for not checking the ingredient list before purchase because now I'm stuck with a giant bottle of shampoo I paid a fortune for and I can't use. If you're actually looking for something hydrating, steer clear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lynnlovesyou211 on 4/7/2014 11:52:00 AM more reviews by lynnlovesyou211

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product! I got my hair ombré about a year ago and I've been using this in between the treatments and its helping my hair look its best! This is totally my holy grail product:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mudra on 1/25/2014 3:10:00 AM more reviews by mudra

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this last year and it has quickly become one of my favorites. I use it in rotation with Redken All Soft, if that gives you any kind of idea about the kinds of products I usually like. I find that this works best if I use it in combination with the coordinating conditioning balm and by itself it's not quite moisturizing enough for me. It's decent for everyday use without being overly heavy. My hair is very thick, colored and tends toward being dry, especially in the winter, but many heavily moisturizing shampoos like Kenra make my hair super greasy. This has a pleasant fragrance: not like the best perfume ever, but not powdery or masculine like many shampoos. I buy this when I can get the one-liter bottles for $15 at Ulta with a 20% off coupon and that makes it nearly the same cost as your average mass-market shampoo, only I think it works quite a bit better than that. It leaves my hair feeling soft without being overly weighted down.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ekb405 on 1/23/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by ekb405

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have used this shampoo along with the conditioner for a couple years now, and I LOVE it! my hair is always so shiny and healthy looking that strangers compliment me on my healthy hair. (I do flat iron it daily as well). It's never static-y after using these products and I hardly ever need a haircut because my ends don't 'die' as fast!
I recommend this to everyone I know! Plus the smell is fantastic!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jcake23 on 11/18/2013 2:37:00 AM more reviews by Jcake23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo a few days ago thinking it would moisturize my hair better than a drugstore shampoo. But this shampoo is horrible. First of all there is alcohol and salicylic acid in it which in no way could help moisturize your hair. Second of all it left me with a sore scalp and dry ends. The matching conditioner also doesn't help with moisture. I rather use a bottle of VO5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 julinko on 11/10/2013 9:19:00 AM more reviews by julinko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am giving this shampoo a 5 because I realized that I have used it for years.
Oh sure, I've strayed every once in a while, but I always come back to this.

Cleans my color treated hair without drying, smells good and does what I want my shampoo to do. I wish it were less expensive, but the large bottle lasts me a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Catherine257 on 8/20/2013 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Catherine257

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My hair is little frizzy and ends are dry, so I was looking for a good moisturising shampoo and conditioner ( I bought them both)
I really wanted to like this one , but unfortunately I didin't work .
It made my hair dry and more frizzy .
No shine, no hydrating , nothing .
I am so disappointed, cause the reviews were pretty good. Maybe it is because of new formula?
I don't know... Good that I had a bill cause it would be such a waste of money !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CSobish on 6/28/2013 7:44:00 PM more reviews by CSobish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ahh love this shampoo! My stylist uses it when I get my hair cut and love it so I finally got some. It's the generic Sally's shampoo but it smells the exact same (which is the main reason I got it!) I use a different brand conditioner and different heat spray but the shampoo smell comes through and lasts through the next day! So happy I bought it(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sonystar on 6/20/2013 4:59:00 PM more reviews by sonystar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

So like most reviews, I felt like this was the product for me. It left my hair silky and smooth. Then issues came in fast. I've been a solid customer for the last 9 months. At the time I figured it was worth the $16 or so for each of the two bottles. I started to notice that my hair first of all felt like it was not being clean at all. After all that scrubbing, I still felt the same way after the shower then before. It actually left oil residue on my hair. Gross. So much residue, it was weighing down my hair. I started to notice my hair color (chemically treated for highlights) actually getting somewhat dimmer. And, lets not forget the clumps of hair clogging up my drain. I thought that was normal...

But that wasn't the grossest part. Oh no. I straighten my hair with a flat iron so much. The oil that was in my hair was so gross to touch and it gave off an awful burnt odor. (Of course, i also noticed my flat iron was too hot (450), because I felt maybe if it was hotter, it would be more straight so I turned it to a cool 325 degrees.)

Yesterday I switched to Pantene's Pro-V Repair & Protect Shampoo & Conditioner. I felt that I was doing so much damage to my hair. After one shower, blow dry and flat iron, my hair actually looked (AND FELT) Like it came out of the SALON!!!!! I was amazed! No oil residue, lightweight, bright, smooth and silky!! PEOPLE ASKED ME IF I GOT A HAIRCUT AND THAT IT ACTUALLY LOOKED GREAT.

Moral of the story is, I spent $6 on my great hairday, how much did I spend on 9 months of this crap? $32? $64? Just because price is high doesn't mean its the greatest thing on earth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Matrix products

More Shampoo products