Matrix • Amplify Volumizing Mousse • Styling Products

rated 3.5(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catloveschanel on 4/1/2011 1:55:00 AM more reviews by Catloveschanel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Let the wedding trials begin.... Oh, that's right, they already have. So my photographer contacted me one day and said, "let's go catch the cherry blossoms" in the pouring rain in Seattle for some engagement photos. So I had an hour and half to get ready. I applied this on my fine, thin hair and as always, too much comes out. It just keeps coming out. So I pour half in the sink and use half that's left. It left my hair weighted down and looking darker in the spots where it stayed in as my hair is faded red, with blonde streaks (natural) and many different shades. So it left my hair looking brown instead of red. I had to pose a lot in the pouring rain, even with my cute umbrella, it just didn't do the trick. I should toss, but it will go under the sink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chrissyo on 2/8/2011 9:29:00 AM more reviews by chrissyo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great hold without any stiff, crunchy or sticky side effects. I've toyed with my styling product regime a couple of times, and this one definitely makes the biggest difference to volume and all day hold.

After moving to a new climate 4 years ago, my natural curls were no longer the same shiny, bouncy, spirally beauties they were back in the dry air and clean water of Colorado. A year or so after moving, I finally conceded nature wasn't doing me any favours, and resorted to hot rollers. I've been working ever since to perfect the combination of hair products to give me good hold and a bit of bounce.

My Babyliss ceramic rollers + this mousse + Biolage Thermal Active Spray + KMS Curl Up spray = consistently great hair that lasts all day (come rain, shine, humidity, public transport commuter sweat, etc). I've been regularly complimented by colleagues, friends and strangers alike. I have even been asked if I just got my hair done professionally on a couple of occasions at the end of the day, after having done a full day of work and commuting. So pleased to have finally perfected my routine!

For reference, I have slightly longer than shoulder-length hair and apply a ball of mousse about half the size of my fist after blow drying my hair. I then spray the thermal active spray and curl up (in that order). I also finish with a few spritzes of Paul Mitchell Freeze & Shine spray after taking out my curlers and styling my 'do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BluePlanet36 on 11/11/2010 4:00:00 PM more reviews by BluePlanet36

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love how this gives me just enough hold and control without being stiff and sticky. Having long hair again, I have to be careful not to use anything stiff or sticky. The smell is awesome and I would buy this again in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinklady7 on 2/3/2007 7:57:00 PM more reviews by pinklady7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I just got a new haircut that I had my hairdresser cut from a picture in a magazine. The picture suggested using this mousse to get the style I wanted. It did seem to give my hair a little more volume, but not tons. I have relatively thick hair to begin with, so that could be why. It makes my hair look & smell wonderful, if I blowdry it. Sometimes I have to wash and go, and when I put this product in my hair it looks kind of greasy. I wont repurchase because I think I can get the same results from a drugstore product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jenn9 on 12/27/2006 12:39:00 PM more reviews by Jenn9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Made my hair feel a bit thicker but it also felt coated and weighed down a bit. What annoyed me most is that my hair became a static nightmare. Would not use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DaleJrFan50 on 5/20/2006 7:35:00 PM more reviews by DaleJrFan50

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't sure how much volume I was gonna get out of this mousse. It turned out that I got a lot more volume than I expected and that LASTED ALL DAY! I love this mousse b/c it has a fresh smell and is nice. It gives great volume and stays even after I flat iron my hair to get it smooth. Wonderful product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lisa32183 on 3/4/2006 2:22:00 PM more reviews by Lisa32183

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is pretty amazing stuff! I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the variety of reviews. I have medium length, wavy-ish, fine hair that I like to blow dry straight. I was looking for something that would give me volume even if I wanted to flat iron. I apply this stuff to wet hair and blow dry with my head upside down. The volume is incredible! I then run a flat iron through, and I end up with a sleek, straight, but FULL look. The mousse even adds some hold, which is great. Even after sleeping on it, my hair looks good the next day. I am so glad to have found this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bestscreennameever on 12/19/2005 1:40:00 PM more reviews by bestscreennameever

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The Matrix Amplify shampoo and conditoner really do amplify your hair. My hair actually feels thicker and like I have more of it when I use this duo. However, the mousse hardly amplifies at all. The few times I have managed to get some volume out of this product it quickly disappears after I'm done styling. I have yet to find a good volumizing mousse. Don't waste your time on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 godfreygirl on 11/16/2005 2:00:00 PM more reviews by godfreygirl

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

This is for the Matrix "Vavoom Height of Glam Volumizing Foam" and it is the VERY BEST I've found yet for my baby fine hair...which seems to be getting thinner as I age. I'm a young thinking and acting 62 who passes as 50ish. Not bragging....just giving info for those this may also work good for. I have spent SOOOO much money on volumizing products that haven't worked that I could almost open my own store and this stuff is the BEST. My hair looks THREE times thicker with this....in combination with using "Product Jonathan Create Volume Thickening Foam. Using both together gives me a VERY FULL head of hair. The Product Jonathan comes in a clear bottle and looks like a liquid.....but comes out in a foam. Use these two together and you will NOT be disappointed.......TRUST ME on this one!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SwedishGirl26 on 10/17/2005 5:59:00 PM more reviews by SwedishGirl26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It smells really great. Makes my hair really BIG =)! But there`s 2 problems: 1: it tends to sometimes makes my hair a bit dry.. but I guess this is something almost all Mousse`es do? 2: The packing is really bad.. I do`n`t how maaaaaaany times the cork has broken. Which never happens with any other products. But still I think the content is so great so I have to give this 4 lippies! But I really hope they could fix this horrible Packaging Quality!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Matrix products

More Styling Products products