Ponds • Dry Skin Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.7(536 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 FeminineWoman on 7/24/2014 3:58:00 PM more reviews by FeminineWoman

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I began using Pond's Dry Skin Cream in my mid-forties, and wish I had discovered it years earlier.

When I apply it to my face and neck, it feels so emollient and creamy (never greasy), and after it works its magic on my skin, the appearance and feeling of my skin is supple and baby soft. I am now also using it on my décolleté. **Younger ladies, please start taking care of this area now. No matter how blessed a woman is with good genes, and has a jar of good moisturizer, the décolleté will always tell if she never used sunscreen and worshipped the tanning bed as a young woman.**

Another use for Pond's Dry Skin Cream is removing makeup. It does such a good job I don't feel a need to purchase Pond's Cold Cream. I gently rub this over my face, tissue off makeup, wash my face with a gentle foam cleanser, apply Roc@ Deep Wrinkle Night Cream on fine lines, and then apply Pond's liberally on my face. I wake up in the morning with soft, supple skin. When I moisturize in the morning time, I don't apply as much Pond's Dry Skin Cream. It seems my skin prefers a lighter touch in the morning. After waiting a couple of minutes, apply makeup, and it glides on effortlessly.

There is a slight perfume scent, which I find pleasant; however, if one doesn't care for a perfume scent, it will dissipate.

Packaging could be improved, imo. There isn't a safety seal at the top of the jar, so I always wonder if someone stuck their finger in the moisturizer to test the texture and scent. I will open the jar and check to see if there are indentions or fingerprints on the top. lol Aware that's not a guarantee no one has touched it, but it makes me feel a little better to purchase a jar with a smooth layer of cream.

Highly recommend this moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paisleypunk on 7/22/2014 6:25:00 PM more reviews by paisleypunk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It loses a point for unhygienic packaging, but as long as you're careful and use only clean fingers or a spoon, you shouldn't have a problem. This cream has never once made me break out.

It's super thick and moisturizing, exactly as promised. It doesn't feel too oily or sticky. The scent is a bit powdery, but I suppose I got used to it. This is a standard part of my skincare routine and it's not going anywhere soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EustaciaVye22 on 7/16/2014 12:53:00 AM more reviews by EustaciaVye22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Just started using this, as my grandmother swore by it and she had great skin all her life. Its about $5 or $6 here at my local CVS (who, by the way, makes an imitation product that has the EXACT same ingredients, and also works well). I love the easy-to-use jar it comes in, but also don't, because it might not be the most hygienic way to ship it and then it sits in the store - what's to stop someone from sticking a finger in? Anyway. the reviews that say this product is super thick and heavy are correct- however, I have several dry patches of skin by my nose and eyebrows, and this stuff cleared them up in a snap. I've been putting it on at night before bed and those dry patchy areas are silky smooth when I wake up. I've also used it under foundation with great success. it has a pleasant, baby powder type smell that I like, though that may be because I'm associating it with my grandmother and have fond memories. On the whole, this is a low-priced, heavy duty face cream that will give you that deep moisturizing you may be looking for. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mabina1 on 6/30/2014 3:33:00 PM more reviews by Mabina1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Got this product after starting a new cleansing regimen and my face was in need of moisture. My forehead was very flaky and when I applied my makeup you could see the cracks in my skin, even when I exfoliated. I used this before I went to bed one night and literally the next day my face was even better than before!!! I suffer from chronic acne and this cream did not break me out at all. I use it at night to make sure my skin is nice and moist. I do not use during the day because It is very oily. I love this cream as a night moisturizing cream and my skin has no flaky problem areas anymore. The packaging does not bother me because i do make sure I wash my hands before I apply anything to my face. I will definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hollzz on 6/21/2014 9:24:00 AM more reviews by hollzz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this product hoping it would be great for my face. My skin is dry and I need to apply lotion right after cleansing and the shower otherwise my face will feel tight in a few minutes. This didn't absorb nicely and my face felt a bit itchy sometimes. As other reviewers mentioned, it is not oil free which is not good for you. I have been using it as a foot cream when I do pedicures because it is thick. I'll use it up but won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diepset1 on 6/18/2014 1:20:00 PM more reviews by diepset1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is exactly what it says on the packaging..."caring classic." This is my moisturizer after getting out of the shower. When the harsh winter months come, this is what keeps my face from looking like snow flakes. There are many choices for moisturizers these days and many other brands, but I like this one the most. It just works!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NeutralMortal18 on 6/15/2014 11:26:00 PM more reviews by NeutralMortal18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Broke me out like crazy. Doesn't absorb. Contains mineral oil. Do not BUY!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 6/10/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My grandmother always used this after removing her Ponds cold cream. Compared to a lot of super rich creams out there that cost $300.00 dollars or more, this is a steal. Correctly named, Dry Skin Cream will take care of any dry patches you might have. I like to use it as an eye and throat cream. I use cold cream at night to take off my makeup, and I find that keeps the rest of my skin moist enough. However, if you have very dry skin, you might want to use this all over your face. This cream lends a soft velvety apperance to the skin. However, you need to use it sparingly. One trick if you have used too much is to take a blotting tissue and blot the excess away instead off washing it off. Personally, I don't think there is ever any need to go to bed with a gooey face. Your skin can only absorb so much cream. If you pile it on, you're not moisturizing more, you're just wasting your cream.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lac925 on 6/6/2014 10:28:00 AM more reviews by lac925

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Where has this been all this time??? I have dry, rough patches on my cheeks and by my nose (that always tends to become red and irritated) and I think I've tried every moisturizer out there from the cheap no-name brands to the more expensive brands, and none of them seemed to work right. I've even tried Vaseline Problem Skin Therapy, which is really thick and heavy but it seemed to work. I was running out, and I wanted to try something different (once again!), so I picked this up. It was super cheap ($4.97 at Walmart) and I was a little skeptical, but it wasn't expensive so I figured "What the heck!"

I...Love...It! My skin doesn't feel dried out within an hour of applying it and I like the consistency of the moisturizer. I only use a dab for my cheeks, chin and forehead - it goes a pretty long way; I'm still using the product that was on the lid! I agree about the packaging not be the most hygienic - but I'm sure you could put it into a travel pump or something.

Overall, I'm quite impressed with this. For something so cheap, it works really well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 terralynn on 6/2/2014 5:41:00 AM more reviews by terralynn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A lovely hydrating moisturiser for dry skin, the Ponds Dry Skin Cream is a sensational product. A thin application of the product before you go to sleep will leave your skin feeling lavishly silken and very well hydrated in the morning.
For such an affordable night cream I was blown away by the lovely fragrance. The smell of Ponds Dry Skin Cream faintly reminds me of baby powder, with a slight floral undertone. The smell isn't overpowering, but serves as a nice, added bonus to an already lovely cream.

Be wary of how much you use, however, because a thin layer is still very hydrating. If you find yourself breaking out then it might be worth using less of the product, and using it only in your dryer areas. Furthermore this is advertised as a day cream, but I would never use it as a day-time moisturiser because it's way too heavy.

I love this product, and I'll continue to buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Moisturizers products