Redken Guts 10 root volumizing foam spray

4.0

126 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/29/2015 10:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've tried tons of root lifters, mousses, and teasing methods on my fine hair. My hairdresser used this with my last cut, a long bob with layers, and I was amazed at the volume she was able to create! My "baby hair" is difficult to texturize and make voluminous, so I was excited to buy and try this product for myself. My hairdresser noted to only apply this to the roots, as it will dry out the ends of hair, and not to over apply or your hair won't move/will get weighed down and crunchy. She also recommended velvetine gelatine to get bounce and swing, and I've been using that for months. The combination of these two products gives me confidence in my hair, and I avoid looking like I have limp, lifeless hair by using these when I blowdry with a round brush. I would definitely recommend this to anyone with fine, limp hair who is looking to add weightless volume that lasts! I only wish that it was a little cheaper, but you do get your money's worth, and a little product goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/3/2014 4:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been using drugstore volume mousses in my thin, flat hair. They worked okay, but I was never quite satisfied. My stylist used this at my last cut and I really liked it's result. I've found I have to make sure it is dried completely with the hair dryer or it will leave my roots looking dirty or a bit dry. It does not work with air drying hair. It keeps my hair lifted for 2-3 days and washes out easy.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2014 5:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love love love this stuff. I am getting the best results I've ever had on my fine, layered shoulder-length hair. I have used with a round brush and also just by flipping my hair down and brushing while drying. I get incredible full, soft volume that lasts all day. Usually by afternoon my hair gets limp and is very hard to ressurrect. Going out at night means major renovations. It's 6 pm and I just brushed it and fluffed with my fingers and it looks just like it did this morning. Truly a miracle product for me, and if I ever hear that it's being discontinued I'll be stocking up!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2014 5:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Not bad overall, it did give my fine, straight hair some volume. It did leave a bit of crunchiness in my hair though but didn't weigh it down.


on 1/3/2014 4:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

A hairdresser turned me onto Guts. I use it about 3 days a week and the other days I use Redken Wax. I prefer the wax, but it leaves my hair a bit sticky after sleeping on it. I only shampoo every other day, so I use Guts on the shampoo days. It performs well for an aerosol foam, but you need to be careful to only spray on the roots, otherwise it will weigh hair down. I use on damp (almost dry) roots, finger-comb through roots and then blow dry upside down. This creates great long-lasting volume. I don't get the crunchy effect b/c I'm careful to not over use.


on 12/28/2013 5:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

hmmm im still not 100% sold on this product. i use it when i straighten my hair (which is very long thin blonde hair). i bought it because i was told to use it when i eventually cut my hair off for a a-line bob with a choppy cut to it so that it has volume and texture to it. It does give my hair a scruffy volume look (like a bed head look) and the smell is amazing ( i love strong smelling hair products) but it kinda just goes flat but the end of the day and i hate to fuss over my hair. I can just ruffle my hair up with my hands again and the volume comes back and the smells lingers till the next day. the price is a bit of a scare esp as the bottle isnt that big (if you use lot on you long hair) however my review may change once i cut my hair off this week and it may work a lot better with shorter hair.


on 12/25/2013 9:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I hate this stuff. My hair dresser used it on me and my roots were supper volume zed and looked awesome, so I went out and bought it as part of Ultas B2G1F deal. So mad I wasted my money. All it does is make my roots super crunchy and greasy like I sprayed them with glue. I can't even run the brush through them 2 min after I put it in to blow dry.

It's just sitting in my bathroom, wasting space. I can't bring myself to throw it away because it was so freaking expensive and it's only been used twice. Grrrr.


on 7/26/2013 8:41:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love GUTS! I'll put it away and try other stuff and come back and use it and think, why did I stop? One can lasts a long time. I spray it on wet hair and it gives me volume and sets my wavy hair into soft curls. I use a blow dryer on medium and bend over and dry upside down while scrunching my curls. I don't dry it completely, about 75%. Then I'll use hairspray lightly still upside down. Perfection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2012 1:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love how this smells! It's a mousse that comes out of a giant aersol can, you apply it to your roots (I actually prefer to spray this onto my palm just like you do with regular mousse). It gives a great texture to the root of your hair. I use this on my damp hair and Redken powder grip on the roots on dry, already-styled hair for fabulous Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader type hair!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2012 9:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I spray this mousse directly on my roots and massage into my hair concentrating on the crown. Then I blow dry with a vent brush to get maximum volume. When I've finished, my hair is soft and full without any of the stickiness that other products leave. I only wish this product was cheaper. I'm still looking for a drugstore product that compares.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top