Redken • Guts 10 root volumizing foam spray • Styling Products

rated 3.9(125 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 englande on 9/3/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by englande

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been using drugstore volume mousses in my thin, flat hair. They worked okay, but I was never quite satisfied. My stylist used this at my last cut and I really liked it's result. I've found I have to make sure it is dried completely with the hair dryer or it will leave my roots looking dirty or a bit dry. It does not work with air drying hair. It keeps my hair lifted for 2-3 days and washes out easy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HelenaS on 2/14/2014 5:58:00 PM more reviews by HelenaS

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love love love this stuff. I am getting the best results I've ever had on my fine, layered shoulder-length hair. I have used with a round brush and also just by flipping my hair down and brushing while drying. I get incredible full, soft volume that lasts all day. Usually by afternoon my hair gets limp and is very hard to ressurrect. Going out at night means major renovations. It's 6 pm and I just brushed it and fluffed with my fingers and it looks just like it did this morning. Truly a miracle product for me, and if I ever hear that it's being discontinued I'll be stocking up!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 1/8/2014 5:52:00 PM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Not bad overall, it did give my fine, straight hair some volume. It did leave a bit of crunchiness in my hair though but didn't weigh it down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hugapug99 on 1/3/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by hugapug99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

A hairdresser turned me onto Guts. I use it about 3 days a week and the other days I use Redken Wax. I prefer the wax, but it leaves my hair a bit sticky after sleeping on it. I only shampoo every other day, so I use Guts on the shampoo days. It performs well for an aerosol foam, but you need to be careful to only spray on the roots, otherwise it will weigh hair down. I use on damp (almost dry) roots, finger-comb through roots and then blow dry upside down. This creates great long-lasting volume. I don't get the crunchy effect b/c I'm careful to not over use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 roxysurf15 on 12/28/2013 5:50:00 PM more reviews by roxysurf15

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

hmmm im still not 100% sold on this product. i use it when i straighten my hair (which is very long thin blonde hair). i bought it because i was told to use it when i eventually cut my hair off for a a-line bob with a choppy cut to it so that it has volume and texture to it. It does give my hair a scruffy volume look (like a bed head look) and the smell is amazing ( i love strong smelling hair products) but it kinda just goes flat but the end of the day and i hate to fuss over my hair. I can just ruffle my hair up with my hands again and the volume comes back and the smells lingers till the next day. the price is a bit of a scare esp as the bottle isnt that big (if you use lot on you long hair) however my review may change once i cut my hair off this week and it may work a lot better with shorter hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Texas22 on 12/25/2013 9:59:00 AM more reviews by Texas22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this stuff. My hair dresser used it on me and my roots were supper volume zed and looked awesome, so I went out and bought it as part of Ultas B2G1F deal. So mad I wasted my money. All it does is make my roots super crunchy and greasy like I sprayed them with glue. I can't even run the brush through them 2 min after I put it in to blow dry.

It's just sitting in my bathroom, wasting space. I can't bring myself to throw it away because it was so freaking expensive and it's only been used twice. Grrrr.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 idigdirt on 7/26/2013 8:41:00 PM more reviews by idigdirt

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love GUTS! I'll put it away and try other stuff and come back and use it and think, why did I stop? One can lasts a long time. I spray it on wet hair and it gives me volume and sets my wavy hair into soft curls. I use a blow dryer on medium and bend over and dry upside down while scrunching my curls. I don't dry it completely, about 75%. Then I'll use hairspray lightly still upside down. Perfection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misspris26 on 12/11/2012 1:13:00 PM more reviews by misspris26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love how this smells! It's a mousse that comes out of a giant aersol can, you apply it to your roots (I actually prefer to spray this onto my palm just like you do with regular mousse). It gives a great texture to the root of your hair. I use this on my damp hair and Redken powder grip on the roots on dry, already-styled hair for fabulous Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader type hair!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 11/9/2012 9:23:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I spray this mousse directly on my roots and massage into my hair concentrating on the crown. Then I blow dry with a vent brush to get maximum volume. When I've finished, my hair is soft and full without any of the stickiness that other products leave. I only wish this product was cheaper. I'm still looking for a drugstore product that compares.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shine4739 on 6/1/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by shine4739

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

the only thing that it does is creating sticky hair that does not have any volume but lays flat onto your scalp. therefore I cannot recommend. I even like my 2 Syoss foam better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Styling Products products