Mason Pearson Handy Bristle & Nylon Brush


38 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$


on 9/22/2015 2:02:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

After 10 years or so of frying my hair via a straightener everyday, I decided to start looking after it properly. I started with ditching shampoo and styling products, then to find a decent brush. This brush is heaven and very much worth the price. The first time i used it I was in bliss from the way it felt on my a massage.It has only been a few days but the brush is pulling the natural oils (sebum) down my strands which now feel soft and shiny. Save your pennies and buy one of these brushes...for those writing about oily hair after using this, it is supposed to do that but it will pass when your scalp realises it doesn,t have to over produce sebum..Highly recommended

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I got the Handy Mixed Bristle Mason Pearson brush for USD$150 but it was something I had been wanting to lemming for awhile. I also bought the MP Dressing & Pocket combs. This brush works so well! I had no idea what I was missing! I have BSL 3A curly hair that is very thin but the MP brush glides through it. I really find this brush to be a necessary part of my morning ritual. I'm going to be extremely careful not to misplace it. I had been using The Wet Brush but there is no comparison between the 2 (nor MP combs vs DS combs). I am so happy & satisfied w my MP brush. Handy was the perfect size too. I almost ordered a Popular but I changed my mind coz it was $55 more but this brush is perfect. The handle fits in my hand well & the bristles give ur scalp a good massage! If ur gonna spend $85 on a brush spend a bit more & get the MP! I don't think u will regret this brush I only regret not getting it sooner. Very lux looking & feeling. It even came w a brush to brush the brush with. The smaller MP do not come w the cleaning brush. The packaging is so whimsical & old fashioned. Down town triple crown!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 7/2/2015 2:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had this before, and loved it. I still thought that I should have gotten the popular size instead, because it is bigger and Maybe the bristles were longer. So I sold this and bought popular. I could have just kept this. The bristles on this and the popular are equal sizes. However Im also happy with the popular size. But the handy is also recomedable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 6/1/2015 2:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using my Mason Pearson Handy Mixed brush for about 3 months now and I absolutely love it. I have fine, wavy, armpit-length hair (lots of it!) that I used to wash every other day. Usually by day 2 I would have greasy roots and dry ends. This brush does a fantastic job of distributing the oils and I am now able to go three days between washes! This brush is great for detangling yet is gentle and does not cause breakage like my old plastic brush did. I have used boar bristle brushes before but they have always caused a lot of static in my hair while the Mason Pearson does not. Overall it is great for brushing my hair and leaves me with the tidy, well groomed look that I love. Be warned however, this brush is not a styling brush, it is not meant for use with a hair dryer, so if you are like me and love well-brushed natural hair then I highly recommend this brush but if you are a fan of blow-waves this may not be the best brush for you.

on 12/8/2014 2:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a pre-review with a strong interest to buy.

Wanted to put out there - there is so much conflicting info, but that as of this date: MP only carries a 1 year limited warranty against manufacturing defects. DON'T BELIEVE THESE BRUSHES ARE GUARANTEED FOR LIFE - THEY HAVE CHANGED THIS AND THEY DON'T.

So that's out there, and I still want to try them out. Christmas is around the corner and I've been asked what I want for Xmas. Since I can't have a Loft Apt. in NYC, maybe I'll ask for this...LOL

on 12/4/2014 4:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So... I was under the impression that a hairbrush was just a hairbrush. I was wrong! I love this thing. Makes my thin, dry, damaged hair look so much better. Healthy looking and shiny, with less frizz and more volume. And I notice a lot less breakage. Will probably get the pocket version as well, to carry around in my purse. It is pricey, but I concider it to be worth it, especially if it is going to last me for a long time, which I think it will.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have super coarse, super thick hair that has been terribly damaged from years of coloring it. I quit the all over processes about a year ago and stopped other dying entirely about six months ago. I decided to get the brush because I wanted a treat for my hair rehab.

It was pretty frustrating to track down this brush. I had been told to be careful as their are a lot of reputable places selling fakes.

I live in a big Midwestern city and can usually find anything w a little effort.

I called the 800# on the mason pearson website to find authorized brush distributors in my area. The woman from Mason pearson on the line identified three area shops that sold the brushes. However, when I contacted each of the shops, NONE of them had ever sold the brushes. One of the three had never even heard of the brush. I was pretty frustrated.

A mason pearson brush is guaranteed for life if you purchase it from an authorized dealer, which is why I was so careful from where I got mine. I ended up purchasing mine from and was v satisfied with the sale.

Note I am a stickler about the brush's rules. No product on the brush. I don't use it for heat styling or on wet hair. And I don't immerse it in water for any reason

Really smooths out my healing hair, quickly and nicely, like no other brush I have found
Easy to clean
Easy to hold
Mixed bristles make it easy to get through my hair
Unbelievable lustre in my hair

Difficult to find- customer service was badly misinformed
Still must use other brush post-shower and blow drying

This brush has been on my wish list for years. I got it because my graying hair needed a lift. The brush more than satisfied me.

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is a super expensive hairbrush. That said, the quality is excellent. I bought the pocket pure boar bristle at first because I didn't want to spend a lot of money on the larger sizes -- silly me, the pocket brush is also very expensive. Then I discovered that it was really annoying to have to section my medium-thick hair in order to brush my entire scalp. So I bought the handy sized brush. Now I can brush my hair in a few strokes and it takes less time. The handy size has longer bristles. I highly recommend the handy size mixed bristle brush for hair of medium-thick density. My hair is chin-length. I am hoping to grow it much longer. I don't know what I will do with my pocket sized brush -- it is not really "pocket" sized. Perhaps I'll use it to brush a cat, a very lucky cat.

Edit 11/12/12: If you have a sensitive scalp, the nylon bristles can feel scratchy. I used to really scrub my head with my old bamboo bristle hair brush. The bristles on the bamboo brush were round tipped and gentle. With the Mason Pearson, I have to brush gently or else my scalp feels scratched and, oddly, this makes it itchy.

The Mason Pearson does a good job of spreading the natural oils of my scalp down to the tips of my hair. My hair has been in good shape since I bought this brush. It looks glossier and feels softer. I'm still happy with my purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 11/13/2012 3:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had been losing a lot of hair everyday the past years that my hair now is less than half the volume I had 10 years ago. I read some review about boar bristle brushes that it was supposed to be gentle on the hair and scalp. I initially bought the Denman mixed bristle but it doesn't quite reach my scalp so I ended up ordering this. MP reaches and massages my scalp really well. I have highlighted wavy hair that goes 2 inches below my shoulder blade, medium thickness and volume. I wasn't expecting much from this brush though I was still hoping it would do something better on my hair.
The day I received my handy MP I used it at night and the morning before I go to work. As soon as I get off the parking lot I saw my friend and the first thing that she told me was "my hair looks beautiful". I wash my hair every other day and that morning is the non wash day. I had been working in our department for 12 years now and not once I remember somebody told me that my hair is beautiful even when I changed my shampoo to Kerastase ( the best I tried ) or put all these shinning oil on my hair. I stopped using oils on my hair since I got my MP because I don't want to ruin my brush. But this brush make my hair so shiny, soft and tangle free than ever before. I had my MP for two weeks now and every single day I go to work somebody would compliment me about my hair. They even noticed my fading highlights. They think it's beautiful :) My friends would asked me what I had been using on my hair that it looks so " shiny and beautiful ". I told them it's just the MP hair brush. Some of them thinks I'm crazy for paying that much for a hair brush but I love my MP so much that I ordered also the junior size for home ( popular is too big for me, handy is a perfect size but I want to keep it for my purse because I find the pocket size too small ) and I also got the pocket 100% boar for my 4 yr old son.
MP handy is 8 1/2 by 2 1/2. Denman medium mixed bristle is 8 3/8 x 2 3/8. Denman has more boar bristles than MP. Denman barely touches my scalp but MP does perfectly. The pneumatic cushion on MP works very well but not on Denman. Even if you push hard the bristles in to push the cushion inward it would not budge at all. It is the same thing with the Sonia Kashuk hair brush. The cushion is hard. SK shape and amt of bristle is very much identical to MP except for the handle. However SK has a very strong burnt rubber smell that is absent on MP and Denman. Spornette luxury ( large ) the cushion pushes in slightly but not as much as the MP and it has a mild burnt rubber smell. The amount of bristle is the same like MP but the nylon bristle are colored black as opposed to the other 3 mentioned brushes that are white. MP is the most gentle to the scalp, followed by Denman then Spornette ( scratchy but would reach very thick hair ) then SK which has the stiffest nylon bristle hence scratchiest.
Since I started using MP I stopped losing so much hair. Sometimes I would only see 2-4 hair strands on the brush and sometimes not at all. Even in the shower I hardy lose hair now. It was hard to believe this brush actually made a difference but now I believe all the rave reviews. It maybe expensive but it is worth the investment. Very highly recommended.
BEWARE: of fake MP brushes. You can email MP to find out their authorized distributor. and are one of their authorized etailer. And you can get a good deal when they offer 20-25% off.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 5/20/2012 11:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I want to cry right now because this product was a huge disappointment for me! I People say brushing is the key to obtain healthy hair, and apparently it seems Mason Pearson brushes are considered as one of the best hair brushes in the world. I cannot express how much I HATE this brush.

My first impression on this brush was actually nice. Although my hair is naturally glossy, I could feel my hair turning smooth and a bit shinier. Well the next day, I realized that my hair was greasier than it normally is. I do have an oily scalp that makes my hair greasy and oily 24 hours after shampooing. But before it passed the 24 hours, the roots on my scalp were already greasy!!

It was only the beginning. Next day, I skipped my skinny serum (thinking that this brush will also lead me to the same effect the skinny serum does), air dried and after my hair was dry, I started brushing with the MP brush. Soon I realized that the more I brush, the frizzier the hair was! I normally don't have frizzy hair at all, and this brush just makes my hair look more damaged, frizzy, and unhealthy. Oh and I hate how my hair feels so heavy after using this brush. I changed back to my cheap plastic comb and my hair looked and felt a lot better.

Today was my third day using this brush and it's simply horrendous. My scalp is itchy everywhere! I don't know what's wrong with this brush because my scalp has never been itchy before. Now I'm officially afraid to use this brush.

I originally purchased this brush because I was hoping to achieve some desirable effects.
1. Did the hair brush make your hair soft and silky? Yes. But my cheap plastic comb can also do it when brushed multiple times.

2. Did it massage your scalp? I think so. The Nylon penetrates into my scalp. However, because I have so much hair I have to put some effort in order to make the brush pins reach into my scalp. Most importantly, it makes my scalp very itchy!!

3. Did it detangle your hair? Nope! I normally don't have detangling hair, but this brush, rather than making my hair light and smooth it tangles my hair! Hair feels very heavy after using this brush :(

4. Did it help with your static hairs? What about the little baby hairs? Yes and No. The only negative thing about my cheap plastic comb is that it makes my hair static if I brush a lot with it. The Mason Pearson brush did help avoiding the static hair. However, it frizzes my hair, and the ends of my hair look much damaged. It did not do anything to my baby hair.

5. Did it help with hair regrowth? I'm not sure. Honestly, I think it causes more hair fallouts because I see more hair coming out onto the Mason Pearson brush than I see on my cheap plastic comb.

I think Neiman Marcus carries MP brushes. Please go to Neiman Marcus and try it yourself before purchasing this online. In my opinion, just a normal brush, comb, and Paul Mitchell skinny serum gives far better desirable results than this expensive MP brush. Thanks for reading.

Popular Hair Styling Tools

Tangle Teezer
Tangle Teezer
219 Reviews
The Wet Brush
The Wet Brush
108 Reviews
18 Reviews

Top Rated Mason Pearson Products

Back to Top