Clairol Shimmer Lights

4.1

331 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycol Distearate, Fragrance/Parfum, Disodium Phosphate, Glycol Stearate, Ricinoleamidopropyl Ethyldimonium Ethosulfate, Cocamide Mea, Linoleamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Glycerin, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Propylene Glycol, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Citric Acid, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylizothiazolinone, EXT. Violet 2, Cl 60730, Violet 2, Cl 60725.


on 4/21/2015 12:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This purple shampoo works!! I have recently bleached my black hair to blonde with highlights. For reference I have thick long hair. This shampoo does what it says. It definitely keeps brassiness away and keeps my blonde bright. However, it is VERY DRYING. Just make sure you use a very good conditioner after. I only use it once a week or as needed. I also use a leave-in serum after washing with this shampoo because like I said it is very drying. For this shampoo to work you have to leave it on for at least 5 minutes then rinse off and viola! Happy blonde!



on 4/17/2015 7:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

This product is a mirical worker but I at least have to follow these steps...
1 slather my hair in coconut oil and leave it in for at least 30 minutes but usually leave it more and sometimes all night
2 wet my head and put the shimmer lights shampoo in
3 leave it in 3 to 6 minutes depending on how brassy my silver hair is
4 rinse and put in shimmer lights conditioner
5 leave that in for 3 min


on 4/11/2015 9:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My hair is pixie short, bleached and toned (with Wella T18) so it is a very cool silvery blonde except for my roots. I cannot double-process because when i first bleached i did some major damage and i cannot use anything higher than a vol 20 for at least a year (i got a bad chemical haircut....) Anyway, i use the lighest possible ash blonde that i can find on the market but there is always a difference between the parts that are bleached and those which aren't (and it's normal) I bought this shampoo, applied it on my roots only and left for 10 minutes. It got rid of SOME yellow but not a lot...The difference in tone is still visible. I cannot use this shampoo on the rest of my hair bcz it will turn it purple (i tried) so for me, it's a fail. However, i'm sure that if you need to get rid of bleached yellow hair it works.


on 4/1/2015 10:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been using purple/toning shampoos for probably 5 or so years. I have tried a few different within that time and to admit, I don't think Shimmer Lights is my favourite.

For starters, the smell of Shimmer Lights is so strong and overpowering, though, I can overlook it.

This shampoo may give your hair a purple/grey hue, depending on the porosity of your hair. I find it doesn't last, so I wouldn't worry too much. It obviously isn't going to lift your hair, but it will deposit some colour, so make sure you have reached your desired level before attempting to 'tone' with it.

As another poster said, you are not going to achieve that lavender look with this shampoo, lol.

I also find a little goes a long way as it's a thicker consistency, but the more you work it in the lighter colour of the product ends up in the end.

I like 'Light Blue Shade' a lot better and it's cheaper.


on 2/28/2015 3:22:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Ahh, Shimmer Lights.....this stuff has been around for-ever..the little old lady's old secret to keeping their hair the blue shade....lol..;)

Yes, it is true this can be used for white or gray hair to keep the yellow at bay. However, I am sure most using this are the ones wanting to tone down brassiness and gold tones in their bleached or color-treated hair.

I would say if your hair is very porous, or very dry or brittle, it might be wise to dilute this, so you do not end up with a purple cast to your hair. Which, if your hair is very porous, it is just as hard to remove the purple tinge. I have seen it happen with those who have porous or damaged hair. Also, if you use this daily or very frequent, I would also suggest watering this down, as, again, it can leave a purple tinge to your hair. This is pretty concentrated, and it means business!! This can easily be diluted by taking an empty tint-type of bottle and filling it up with about equal parts of this and water. I would put the water into the empty bottle first for easier mixing and then add the Shimmer Lights. If your hair is extremely porous, I would suggest mixing one ounce Shimmer Lights, to 3 ounces of water to dilute this down...

Just..this can easily end up giving you a purple tinge, if you are not careful or your hair is very damaged and/or very porous.

Thankfully these days there are more shampoos out there that cancel out the brassiness and yellow tones, that are not as "strong" as this one in the way of color-pigmentation. To me this just has too much of a risk of getting too much purple in one spot and not enough in another spot, or even staining the hair..which is why I suggest diluting it before using it.

That all said, this can work. Obviously this has been around for decades, but it can be a little tricky to use.As I said, there are better alternatives out there nowadays as opposed to using something so concentrated and risking the opposite of what you have, which would be purple-tinged hair instead of yellow/brassy-tinged hair.

Thankfully I am not needing this shampoo these days, but I have had plenty of experience with this and other brassy-control shampoos in the past.

While I would possibly use this again if I ever needed, I also know it has some cautions about it, as far as being so concentrated. I have seen people use this with the purple staining lasting for weeks..yes, weeks, even using a clarifying shampoo to try to remove it.....yes their hair was very porous, but it can happen.

This is not a terrible toning shampoo, just these days there are better ones out there that do not run the risk of purple hair. There is not much of a scent to this, it is a mild scent, but there is a scent, nonetheless. Also if your hands are really dry and/or cracked you might want to wear gloves when using this or your hands might end up a lovely purple shade of stain...Yes, it is that concentrated.

Again, not a terrible shampoo, and will do the job, but needs some caution with certain hair types and textures. Heavy-duty concentrated, so be warned..;)

Only 3-stars because it can be tricky to use and there are better options out there these days. However, I am used to this so I know what to expect and if I ever needed this, I might use it again, if in a pinch....you know, midnight haircolor gone wrong and you need to run to Wally World for a color-correcting shampoo..;)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really have no fight with this product. I'd been using the John Freida tone correcting shampoo until it became increasingly harder to find, except for the "cleansing treatment" that's apparently only found at Walmart. I loved the fragrance of that, as I do with most John Freida products, but alas. This was my next option. So off to Sally's I went. I sniffed it to see what all the fuss was about...and the smell is no joke. Very floral, and it. does. not. dissipate. after washing your hair. I mean, the first day you wash it is understandable. But the second, or even THIRD day? Holy cats! But. I will deal with it because it does indeed do what it's supposed to do. It keeps my all over blonde highlights from going brassy and gross and keeps them looking very soft and natural. Well. As natural as they can possibly be. I use this shampoo maybe once a week, then use the John Freida (haaayyy, lol) Sheer Blonde Go Blonder one or two times a week to keep my roots blended better. Good stuff. But that smell though.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

There are super controversial reviews about this product. ive used it recently on my light blonde hair. (for comparison to your own: my hair is a pale blonde with few yellow tones)

what this product will and wont do.
*it will refresh your already light blonde hair color if left in for five minutes to make it brighter
*it will slightly tone out any yellow color if left in for five minutes
*it will not turn yellow toned hair white or "platinum"
*it will not turn your hair silver or lavender if you leave it in for twenty minutes (these are all things i have personally tried on my own hair)

Over all this product is decent slightly drying but no more then what any clairifying or volumizing shampoo will do, the scent is not bad light many are saying. it has a slight floral hint thats all.

If you are looking for a product to slightly brighten yellow toned hair then this is a great product for you, i would stronrly suggest it. However if you are looking to acheive the very "on trend" grey/silver hair then im sorry to say this will not give you that result, however try a wella color charm toner that will help you acheive that. i hope this helped.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2014 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Shimmer lights is a great go-to product for when your hair grows brassy after a coloring. It definitely removes a good amount of the yellow tones after my hair is dyed and again weeks after when it begins to get brassy. I wouldn't recommend it any more than once a week, as the product will dry out hair and the smell is rather off-putting. I use it once every month or so to keep the color fresh. If my hair is very brassy, I'll keep the product on for about 5 minutes, although for regular use, two or so minutes will do the trick and leave the hair shiny. Overall, it's very useful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2014 1:21:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used this shampoo 4 days ago and my scalp feels like it's on fire! My hair is extremely dry and frizzy and the scent is so horrible I have had a terrible headache and been sick to my stomach from it even after washing my hair 3 times with a mild shampoo. I am taking this back to the store tomorrow and getting my money back! I will NEVER buy this product again! I have used the John Freida purple shampoo in the past with no issues and will usd that if necessary.


on 11/16/2014 9:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have mixed feelings about this stuff. It certainly tones and does what it says it will do, but this mixture is *VERY* drying. I use the conditioner too, but it doesn't condition very well. I have to use it in combination with another, better conditioner. I think I'll pay a couple extra dollars and buy a more high-end color depositing shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Clairol Products

image

Shimmer Lights

331 reviews
Back to Top