Maybelline • Expert Eyes in Velvet Black • Eyeliner

rated 3.7(50 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 7/19/2011 5:08:00 PM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Awful! This stuff barely has any pigment! I have to run a lighter over it to get it to show up! When I light it, it becomes a very rich black, but decides to melt and get clumpy within an hour or two of application! Good thing this was a swap extra, because I'd never buy this! I'll stick with my define a line eyeliner that actually HAS pigment without the need to heat it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SpicyCurry on 6/5/2011 8:02:00 PM more reviews by SpicyCurry

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I use these in black velvet and as stated in previous reviews, once heated with a lighter, this is the longest lasting, most rich black eyeliner I have found, and I own more black eyeliners than I care to mention, lol! I just heat it for like a half a second and then it applies soft and rich, but dries down to a budgeproof matte line. Worth the effort for someone like me, who wears black liner daily, and who lines all the way around the eye, and as someone who has oily eyelids! Great pricepoint, and you get two of them, and they are a convenient makeup bag size.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gitsNshiggles on 5/13/2011 3:12:00 AM more reviews by gitsNshiggles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this literally daily for my eyebrows, just to outline the shape and filling it in with wet n wild brow powder duo and for days i feel like having them darker, i apply it in tiny hairlike strokes. I think I would literally freak out if i ran out and had to go without it for the day. I have been using this for a very long time actually now that I think about it since my high-school days! It's kind of funny reading the reviews about people complaining about how it sucks when they're try to use it as an eyeliner. I know the packaging says brow and liner but the formula is way to hard and harsh for lids that it ends up dragging it. So I would recommend this only for your eyebrows not your eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoiresecret on 4/8/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by Victoiresecret

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I think some people have the wrong idea of this product. On the packaging (at least when I got it), it said Brow and Eye pencil. To me, it's just obvious that something that would be used on your brows would not ever come close to working as a liner...I bought this as a brow pencil and it's FANTASTIC.

First, it's super cheap. I bought this in canada (where our prices are always jacked up), for regular price at $4.95 for a double pack! The pigmentation of these are perfect (for brows)...they're very very buildable, don't look harsh and looks like hair when drawn on, not like black lines. The color is perfect for my brows and matches them exactly. I use it to define my brows, shape them and elongate them and it works perfectly. As long as you're careful not to overdo it, it make can your brows look natural and neat or (if you choose to build it up) bold. Staying power is decent, but without a bit of translucent power or a tiny bit of brow colored eyeshadow overtop, it stays 6hrs max, which I'm fine with. To make it last longer, just set it with some kind of powder

I kept one for me, gave one to my mom and I'd repurchase in a heartbeat! This is NOT an eyeliner though, unless you're willing to warm it up with a lighter everyday and to be honest, I'd rather just buy any one of the many many products that are meant to be used as rich, dark eyeliners

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupholism on 11/15/2010 3:16:00 AM more reviews by makeupholism

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Well, there is no other way around this: you HAVE to warm it with a lighter. This is my favorite for inner rim application. And it's worth the trouble of having a lighter on your makeup kit: you get the blackest black that lasts a long time. I restock anytime I see them on sale, as I go through these like crazy. (I'm a MUA, so I have to sharpen it between clients). Get it if you're willing to have a lighter handy. Otherwise, stick to higher priced brands like Urban Decay (24/7 in Zero) or Makeup Forever, which also does a very good job.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia1105 on 10/24/2010 10:08:00 PM more reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've pretty much avoided all d/s MU as they usually are never worth it, not to mention lack of testers, etc. But I remembered seeing this as a permanent fixture on my grandmothers table so, missing her, and upon recommendation of another woman, I picked this gem up. Yes it is a pain to have to light, but it's oddly enjoyable to light a match when I'm barely able to hold a cup of coffee in the morning I'm so tired. You have to light it to soften it, run it through once or twice, give it a second to cool and test it on the back of your hand (usually reshape to a point when it's softened), then you're set. A deep black, not too garish, that wears well and is easy to apply. Beats the pants off most of my HE pencils *when heated* otherwise it's relatively useless when "cold." I've dropped a ridiculous amount in hopes of finding my HG among the higher-end lines, but this is truly amazing and is cheap too! Plus it reminds me of that old-school, Hollywood beauty of the 50's that I always saw my grandma trying to recreate, so this really has a special place in my heart. Would absolutely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 balletdancer923 on 9/7/2010 1:19:00 AM more reviews by balletdancer923

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Worst eyeliner ever! No matter what I do I can't get this to show up on my eyes unless I press really hard, and I don't want to be pressing hard on the skin around my eyes! It smudges off very easily too. A big waste of money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emg93 on 6/25/2010 6:34:00 PM more reviews by emg93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was one of the biggest disappointments of my make-up applying career. I got this from a friend who was discarding it, and I soon found out why. No matter what I did, this stuff just smeared off. I never looked more disgusting and racoon-like than when I used this eyeliner. I kept it until I bought some new eyeliner from wet-n-wild, and then I chucked it in the trash... FOR GOOD. This is good for applying little sister halloween makeup, but terrible for an eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xkatkatarinax1 on 5/25/2010 6:03:00 PM more reviews by xkatkatarinax1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This liner is just OK... I think its a bit waxy. Like others have mentioned, you need to heat it up for it to be useable.
It does have staying power, and i usually use it on only the bottom lash line, because i have to basically stab myself in the eye when attempting to line the top of my eyes. The color is nice though and doesn't fade out or smear if you happen to slightly touch your eyes like some creamier liners i have tried. I guess that if you were desperate you could use this, but i am going to stick to my Milani and MAC liners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nell01 on 5/20/2010 3:12:00 PM more reviews by nell01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only eyeliner I use since I am on a tight budget. Yes, it hard but you can pass it through a match or lighter. I turn on the stove burner and pass it through for a second or two. Let it dry, or it will run (not to mention it's hot).

Maybe when my budget opens up, I will experiment with more expensive eyeliners but for now, this one works and looks great! Has staying power too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eyeliner products