Thayers Alcohol-free Witch Hazel toner with Aloe Vera

4.5

58 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Purified Water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf (Certified Organic Filet Of Aloe Vera), Glycerin (Vegetable), Fragrance (Natural Witch Hazel), Hamamelis Virginiana (THAYERS proprietary un-distilled Witch Hazel) Extract, Citric Acid, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Tocopheryl (Vitamin E) Acetate.


on 4/30/2015 10:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have battled with acne and buying countless different products. My skin was relatively clear for a long time until recently I started breaking out on my forehead and chin with a ton of tiny pimples that wouldn't go away for weeks! I refused to go back to buying a million different products that were harsh and over drying. I'm determined to cure acne the natural way. I started drinking lots and lots of water and eating more healthy foods and washing my face only with an aveeno moisturizing bar and neutragena gentle scrub (the 2 products that have kept my skin clear, for the most part) But the forehead and chin acne was still there, and somehow getting worse!!

I have heard about witch hazel but I've never seen it in the store, until i stumbled across this one in the supermarket. I love the fact that its alcohol free, as i'm trying to stray away from harsh products. I also liked the aloe vera part. I was very intrigued with this product so I bought it and tried it that night.

Almost immediately the acne felt like it was less inflamed. It's been 3 days since i bought it and ive been using it 3 times a day and the forehead and chin acne is almost completely gone!! my skin is smoother too. I'm so glad I found this.



on 9/10/2014 11:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Great toner! It is very gentle, alcohol-free, cleanses very well. I do not get sticky, greasy feeling afterwards, my face feels very clean and smooth. Does not break me out.
The only minus, I do not love the scent of this toner. However, it is not a big problem, as it fades in about 5 minutes.
I got it from Whole foods on sale for $6.99 (from $9.99).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2014 2:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this toner. I use it after cold cream to remove the traces of oil before I apply my AHA. I use it during the day to freshen up. In a pinch I use it to clean my face quickly before bed when I have only worn sunscreen. It smells nice, is inexpensive, and makes my skin look and feel wonderful! This has become a staple in my routine.


on 8/30/2013 7:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

HG HG HG. Skin irritated after a peel? This'll calm your skin down wonderfully. Picked a pimple that's now sweltering and tomato colored? This'll fix it. Wanna just clean your skin during the day? This is perfect. This is the best thing I've purchased for my skin, along with MUA glycolic peels.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Another one I replenish as soon as I only have about 1/8 of a bottle left. Maybe we all harbor an eyelash of doubt as to what, if anything, a toner actually does... so, I cherish this one mainly for what it doesn't do... like contain alcohol, or menthol, or any kind of fragrance. I trust it to remove anything that my vigilant OCM (or, sometimes Nature's Gate Tea tree Shampoo used a s facial cleanser, another review) doesn't get. I can get all aggro with this stuff until the cotton balls come away completely white, and my skin will not feel uncomfortable. In fact, it will feel a little bit... soft? Perhaps that's the smidgeon of aloe vera in there, doing it's lil thing. Or, my imagination. It's enough "it can't hurt, right?" to keep me spending $10 or so per bottle. I likes it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a good toner, I have only a few different kinds of toners and this is one of the better ones. I tried Dickson's, walmart brand witch hazel, Laura Mercier - Perfecting Water, and Arysa Naturals Ylang toner. This one comes in third place. This is a okay toner and probably ideal for oily skin but not for my combination skin.

I like how to toner smells and feels refreshing on the skin, it also minimizes pores well, but it does not balance my skin. It ALWAYS leaves it tight! I hate that. once this dries my face is itchy and tight. I always will follow up with a moisturizer which fixes the problem. So this is a okay-good toner especially for the price! Compared to high end toners, I'd give this 1 star.

I think the biggest thing this toner lacks is balancing of the pH on my skin. I bought this because of the rave reviews and because this was way cheaper than the other toners I buy. If you have very oily skin this may be the best thing for you. For me Laura Mercier and Arysa toners are the BEST

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2013 2:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this product from woodmans and i love it. I have acne-prone oily skin and this toner is amazing! I stopped using my toner from proactiv becuse it was too harsh on my skin, but thayers witch hazel with aloe vera felt great on my skin, helped with my acne, didn't dry out my skin, and helped remove the makeup residue that my makeup remover did not clean. Te bottle lasts a very long time. I finished mine a few months ago and now i am going to purchase it again! I am thinking of trying the rose petal version this time though since i have heard it is great too. I will be purchasing it online since my local woodmans does not carry it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2013 6:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm trying to pare down my daily skincare routine to very basic, mostly natural products so I started using this toner about a week ago. I really wanted a gentle, natural toner, that wouldn't upset my sensitive skin after harsh fruit acid peels. This is the one. I waited to see if this would sting or cause break-outs but I've had nothing but good experiences. It is cooling and soothing, but it also feels like it "tightens" up my face a little. I read a few reviews that said this helps with under eye bags and dark circles. No success on that front yet, but I don't really believe anything helps that, I've tried it all. I will keep buying this and I might try one of the scented ones, but the unscented has earned a place in the everyday routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2013 1:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is for the Thayers Alcohol free toner Cucumber Witch Hazel with Aloe Vera formula. I wanted to try this as my skin does not do well with regular witch hazel, it makes my rosacea flare. I'm okay if I use this a couple times weekly, I love that it removes those little white bumps at the sides of my nose that I get on occasion and so I will continue to use it for that. If I use it to often my rosacea seems to flare so I use it only when necessary. My skin is dry, mature, sensitive, mild rosacea, not prone to break outs other than the type mentioned above. It does smell like cucumber, I'm okay with that, I like them, lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2012 5:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I like this product as a toner. It cleans out your face well, probably takes of f the excess makeup but I wouldn't know since I don't wear makeup.. :/ but anyways it refreshers your skin and leaves it feeling smooth and fresh. It's probably not ideal if you're trying to treat acne, because it won't do anything for that. But really great as a basic toner




Back to Top