Peter Thomas Roth • Beta Hydroxy Acid 2% Acne Wash • Cleansers

rated 3.9(55 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 pinktigerr on 4/5/2014 7:03:00 PM more reviews by pinktigerr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my current morning face wash to help treat and prevent breakouts on my sensitive combination skin. While I do like it and feel that it is effective, I also don't think it is anything special nor worthy of the price tag, especially considering that there are several good salicylic acid cleansers on the market. That being said, it does the job of cleansing my skin and helping with acne without being too drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ivylim on 10/6/2013 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Ivylim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I been using this for about 2 weeks and I am definitely returning this. I paid about 35 dollars for this cleanser because I was breaking out on my forehead. I have oily combination skin and this cleanser dried out my skin which some of you may see this as a good thing however for me this is not what I expect. After using this cleanser the skin around my nose and my mouth were very flakey even after using moisturizer and serum. Perhaps this is too strong for my skin? I think this is a good cleanser but not right for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chrissykss on 4/29/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by Chrissykss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is hands-down the best face wash on the market, and I've tried a lot!
This cleans and dries out acne prone oily skin. I get a really deep clean when combining it with my claisonic. Love it! Try it! Expensive but worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ninaflorezbowling on 3/30/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by ninaflorezbowling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was skeptical buying this product because of how expensive it was. I bought the acne traveling pack which i think was around $38 from Sephora. This wash felt very nice on my face and did not sting. When washing it off my face felt very smooth like all the dead skin cells were removed. There was a bit of redness when i was towel drying my face. I don't think this is necessarily a great wash to use everyday because beta hydroxy acid can be irritating but i think it's a good wash to use a few times per week in combination of a topical treatment such as benzoyl peroxide or sulfur. I believe both of these topical treatments can also be purchased from the Peter Thomas Roth" line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ndeva600 on 3/18/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Ndeva600

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not the biggest fan of this product. I hit a point a couple of months ago where I broke out like crazy so I was on the hunt for a new cleanser that could help with acne.
I used this cleanser as part of my new skincare routine, and used about a pea sized amount in the morning. I followed the instructions and used it every other day to see how my skin would react. It did dry out my skin but I thought I would keep going for a few more weeks to see if my skin would get used to it. Unfortunately, it didnt. I felt like I continued to break out and it only got worse. Maybe this particular cleanser was a little too harsh on my skin since I have rarely used acne products but I have since discontinued using it.

The only positive about this cleanser is that I felt like it did make my skin smoother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cocolita on 12/16/2012 12:55:00 AM more reviews by cocolita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product in at Sephora in the small bottle along with some other acne products from PTR. The cleanser, after one night of use, has significantly reduced the size and appearance of my cystic acne, and brought up to the skin the nasty black and whitehead to dry out. All in on night!
I am 30 years old, with acne prone skin, and I am definitely going to make this my face wash. I was using Perricone, which had a 5 packaging quality, with a nice glass bottle with a pump. This product is plastic and you squeeze it out, thus making it less expensive,which is great! I don't need my face stuff in glass bottles.
I would recommend this over all others. And trust me i've used them all.
Perricone Super is great for Acne, but they've discontinued that line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PaleChamorra on 11/26/2012 12:21:00 PM more reviews by PaleChamorra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a miracle worker!! my skin is usually normal/oily, but as i hit age 24, i got SUPER oily and i'm breaking out from hormonal imbalance. i purchased a starter kit from sephora with this in it, and i will be purchasing the big bottle!

it THOROUGHLY cleanses my skin of all oil and overnight, my pimples came to a head and dried up! it also has shrunk the size of my increasingly large pores and kept me matte all day.

if you're dry, you may only use this once every few days, but i LOVE this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 faeriegirl0707 on 9/8/2012 6:09:00 PM more reviews by faeriegirl0707

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this cleanser. It makes my skin feel super clean and I havent had any breakouts in the few weeks i have started using it. It is expensive but the bottle is huge so it should last a long time. I would definately buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Camilla00 on 6/18/2012 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Camilla00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a sample pack for $78 which is very expensive for samples.
I found this cleanser did nothing for my pimples and just dried out my skin, I really wanted this product to work for me but it's been disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 schlisa87 on 4/26/2012 7:50:00 PM more reviews by schlisa87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product and it's very gentle on my face for containing BHA 2%. I use this cleanser only once a day in the morning because me skin does get sensitive. So far this cleanser hasn't left my face feeling dry or tight with is great. When I first used it I thought it smelled kind of bad but it's not really that noticeable anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Peter Thomas Roth products

More Cleansers products