Unlisted Brand • Perfumer's Workshop Tea Rose • Fragrances

rated 3.9(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 2/2/2014 7:15:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ahhhh, finally! THIS is rose! This is real true rose -- rosebush rose -- like sticking your nose directly into the bloom of a rose and inhaling. When you want to smell fresh roses, this is the perfume you want.

For EDT strength, it's nicely strong and lasting. I'm the type who gets headaches from fresh florals, and I don't wear many florals -- generally preferring orientals & vanillas & musks -- but this does not give me a headache. The Body Shop's Tea Rose perfume oil was much sharper and more inclined to give me a headache.

I was watching the 2004 pre-Oscar show Live, and I saw *the exact moment* when Nicole Kidman (wearing a lavender strapless gown) was told by a reporter/paparazzo that she smelled good, and -- sticking a mic in her face -- he asked her what she was wearing. She replied to him, "Tea Rose -- I've worn it since the 8th grade". (or did she say the 10th grade? ....)

Much was then made of the fact that she had just signed with Chanel to advertise #5 and what was she doing confessing to wearing Tea Rose at the Oscars?

Bravo, Nicole, for telling us what you were wearing, and bravo to the guy who asked her. That should happen on every red carpet -- we want to know what fragrances they're wearing too, reporters! We want to know that! Not just the gowns & the jewelry & the shoes -- we want to know their fragrances too!

A 2oz or 4oz bottle of PW Tea Rose EDT can be bought at TJ Maxx -- or online -- for $8-12. It smells like true rose, it has great strength and sillage, and it's one of the best bargains in all of perfumery.

They say the scent of rose alleviates anxiety and depression -- and personally, I find that to be true. This is the scent of fresh roses. It's an uplifting scent, very satisfying, and I love it.

ADDENDUM 2/5/14: For another true rose perfume -- many years ago, I sniffed Crabtree & Evelyn's "Evelyn Rose" in a store, and it smelled extremely authentically of fresh roses -- just like a fresh rosebush. It's still available on their website, but reviewers say it has been reformulated and does not smell nearly as good or authentic as their original formulation -- which is undoubtedly what I had smelled..

ADDENDUM 2/6/14: I wore Kuumba Made's Arabian Rose perfume oil last night while watching TV. Very true mature large red rose scent. Not tea rose or pink rose, it smelled like a mature red rose in full bloom. Another very nice inexpensive way to enjoy rose.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 h4nn4hbryce on 1/21/2014 12:20:00 PM more reviews by h4nn4hbryce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this...I really like rose. But theres an aftertaste-like scent that lingers after the rose that just smells musty to me, like an old basement. So, on me it's a combination of a top note of very fresh, nice rose, and a lingering musty scent that I don't like... it wasn't very expensive so I can deal with it, I wish it smelled more rosey on me. It does smell better in the bottle than on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cadej1998 on 7/20/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by cadej1998

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    


Tea Rose was signature for my Aunt Janis from its intro in the early '70's. She was a little lady who once stopped a bar fight between two men by whacking one over the head, so when I wear this perfume, I always smile and remember her with much love and respect. I like to wear Tea Rose at night, and often spray my sheets and blankets with it. It is comforting because it reminds me of growing up around flower gardens and woods. It smells like the spring months. If you want a true red rose, this little classic does a good job of recreating that smell.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/28/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, this one seems to engender serious emotional responses and not a few negative memory connections! Reading over the reviews, the five previous to my entry here are all colored by memory. I will say upfront that I had no connection with this fragrance prior to trying it. What that means is that, on me, Parfumer's Workshop Tea Rose is a plain, simple tea rose scent that is almost true. I don't know what happened to all the other notes, but I got a basic, simple yellow rose that is fresh and lovely. That's it. Nothing fancy, nothing icky and certainly didn't make anyone sick. Maybe you have to wear a tiny bit. I never wear more than a dab of any perfume. Soaking your skin in this would definitely be too too much, but that goes for almost every fragrance out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IsabellaDubose on 6/10/2013 9:55:00 AM more reviews by IsabellaDubose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Nicole Kidman wears this.
Princess Diana reportedly wore this.

Tea Rose by The Perfumer's Workshop is a real classic. I am extremely delighted to be able to find a bottle in Singapore. 56ml retails for S$9.90 and 125 ml for S$14.50.

Initially, I wasn't used to Tea Rose and it probably wasn't used to me. It smelt like a strong, old, and even dusty rose. There was a strange rubbery note to it. It lasted barely four hours on me and turned mildly sour. I was devastated.

Then, one week later I accompanied my friend to get her bottle of Tea Rose. She spritzed it on and I smelt how wonderfully pink it was. A bouquet of giant pink tea roses in full bloom. From then on, my nose seemed to have cleared and tea rose smelt fantastic on me. Tea roses blooming with a mild bitter edge to it, perhaps the reason why it's called tea rose (tea is bitter?). I have a notion that this smells better in colder climates.

I am happily spraying this almost everyday now as it is simply so gorgeous. When longevity fails me, I'd layer it with Crabtree&Evelyn's rosewater lotion to keep it going for 8-9 hours.

Highly recommend. It's most likely not made of real rose oil but hey, it has achieved such a realistic rose note that even pricier fragrances fail at. If you like roses, you must get this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 3/17/2013 3:41:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Forget all the chi-chi, absurdly over-priced rose niche perfumes. If you want to smell like a genuine tea rose this is the scent you should reach for. The most important thing is ONE spritz between your boobs is all you need. Seriously. That will last you the rest of the day. And you're getting this from someone who likes to spray perfume on like it was air freshner. But with this any more than a small spritz is overkill and it will ruin it for you. It will be too strong, too harsh. Pretty much goes for a song online, these days. I used to wear it ages ago, and I wouldn't hesitate to wear it again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 perfumefanatic on 3/17/2013 3:19:00 PM more reviews by perfumefanatic

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Classic rose scent with massive staying power. I also detect a jammy sweet strawberry note underlying the roses. I've tried layering this with other scents when I want to add a rosy note, but it always takes over. Maybe I will try decanting, daubing. A great bargain and a little goes a very long way!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 9/2/2012 1:03:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this fragrance but gave it 4 stars because of it's true tea rose scent, it's insane lasting power and silage, and it's dirt cheap price.


First, I had to transfer 3mls of this fragrance to an old mini perfume bottle with a stopper instead of a spray, I find that even spraying this into the air and walking through it imparts a bit too much of the fragrance onto me because it is monstrously strong. Dabbing it lightly is the only way to go for my personal use. I use so little of this when I do wear it that I'm guessing the giant 100ml bottle I bought for 10$ may go bad before I get event half way through it.


The scent is linear, single note massive strong and true tea rose. It probably is the single strongest rose perfume I've ever smelled. I love rose scents, but this perfume has taught me that I prefer them mixed with other notes rather than on their own. So I use this fragrance primarily for layering, and also as the occasional air freshener (I would probably use it as an air freshener more often if my boyfriend liked rose scents but sadly he does not). I like to mix it with other rose based perfumes that I feel could have a bit more rose, and it works amazingly for that.


I do understand why some people say this reminds them of rotting roses. When used at certain times and usually in large amounts I also detect a hint of this at first, it can be extremely offensive when like this. Fortunately it does not smell rotting to me most of the time. Overall, for what this is, I think this fragrance has a lot to offer. The one thing I would really like to see change is the bottle, it's hideous and cheap looking, they could easily make a more attractive bottle for the same price...


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 11/3/2011 2:58:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite classic floral scent. It's elegant, yet simple and natural-- fits me better than Grand Compositions like Chanel No 5, Fracas, or Joy. Yep, it's just rose and nothing but. However, the quality of the rose is absolutely perfect, velvety, fresh with dew and greenery-- avoiding the cloying sweetness common to rose scents. Rose oil is used as an antidepressant in aromatherapy, so no surprise that I gravitate to Tea Rose on rainy or difficult days. When applied with proper restraint, this scent gets loads of compliments. I feel pretty... oh so pretty...


I've actually had better luck with the now-discontinued EDP than with the EDT now widely available. It's actually less of a sillage monster, and is smoother and less shrill in the opening. I found my EDP on eBay, and hopefully you can too!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenPhil1313 on 9/12/2011 9:10:00 PM more reviews by JenPhil1313

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have kept a bottle of this on hand for probably 20 years. This is a true, fresh, bright, clean tea rose scent. There are no musky or spicy or "dirty" undertones. This is the smell of pure tea rose and nothing else. If you are crazy about the smell of roses- which I am- then you'll love this fragrance. And I find that this mixes nicely with other scents since it only smells like roses- I can spritz a little of this on after I have used Coty Wild Musk or other scented products and it almost seems to make anything smell even better. Yes, this does have a rep for being loved by sweet old ladies. But the key word there is sweet.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products