Murad • Clarifying Body Spray • Skincare - Body

rated 4.1(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 belkabelka on 6/24/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by belkabelka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay -- first things first, I loved the stuff. I've been suffering from body acne for as long as I could remember, and this stuff really did help clear things up. It wasn't perfect, but I could see it working.

The downside? It lasted me all of two weeks. That's right -- two weeks. I wasn't using a crazy amount, either -- three spritzes a day like suggested, and I didn't linger with the spray.

I thought maybe my pump had broken. It wasn't -- no matter which way I tried to get the product out, it wouldn't budge. It's also impossible to tell how much is left in the bottle, and it weighed exactly the same when I ran out as it did brand new. I'm sure there's a way to open up the bottle and pour the contents into a different spray bottle, but those kinds of projects are for someone way craftier than I am.

As much as I did like the product, I don't think I can shell out $37 every two weeks to get a new one. I'm trying the Neutrogena mist now as a replacement and so far, no complaints!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zhenyaf22 on 6/11/2014 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Zhenyaf22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am 35 years old and for a few years have been suffering from bacne and chestne. I have been using this product for two months now have seen a dramatic change. It does work, but I have been using it every day religiously! I use it in combination with Neutrogena Acne Body Wash and CeraVe normal to dry skin moisturizer. Also, twice a week I use Murad's Aha/BHA cleanser to help with acne scarring. In the padt two months my skin has improved, it did not get rid of all acne and it is not a cure, but definetly I see good results and will keep using it. I am planning on getting a spot treatment to supplement my regimen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 graceyyy on 1/6/2014 2:00:00 AM more reviews by graceyyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Just a little background info- I'm a gal in my late teens who has been suffering from "bacne" (and chest acne) for years. I hate bacne so so so much, even more than my face acne. I used a prescription medicine on my back for a few years that i got from my dermatologist, but it never completely cleared my back. I bought this a year ago to see if it would work better, and i havent gone back to the prescription stuff. It cleared my back up COMPLETELY. Its a little expensive, but cheaper than having to go to the derm to get my refill presciption! I love this, 100% recommend :) its also easy to use because it is a spray instead of a cream, so you dont need someone to help you apply it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* csquared14 on 10/7/2013 12:54:00 PM more reviews by csquared14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Dr. Murad, you little effective dermatologist you. Why must your products be SO EXPENSIVE?

I bought this product during a mysterious shortage in Neutrogena's body spray in my area. No one seemed to have it. It was in the 90s, I had a trip coming up. I was terrified. That's a descriptor that no one who has ever had to deal with back acne will doubt. It's awful and confidence-destroying, not to mention irritating to walk into a store and have to always be like "Well, that has a low back, so no." Desperate, I picked this up at Ricky's. For $40. Forty. Dollars. To replace a product I usually spend $9.

Is it worth the astronomical price? I wish I could tell you no, but that would be a lie. This product is awesome. It has both SA (a relatively low dose) and a retinol, and it is EFFECTIVE. The Neutrogena product controlled by body acne, this completely eliminated it, and also helped with the dark spots left behind. It has a slightly menthol-like scent and it feels very cool when it goes on, which I personally like but others might not agree with. The spray really does work at all angles, which is great. The bottle is a little sketchy--I was sure that I had some sort of display model when I first picked it up, because it seemed like there was no product in it. I guess that it's some sort of pressurized bottle-within-a-bottle to ensure that it can be sprayed upside down. Don't get me wrong, it's annoying to not know how much you have left. But this did such a good job that it's hard for me to fault it too much.

I now have a bottle of this and a bottle of the Neutrogena stuff. I use the Neutrogena daily, and the Murad once a week or so as a maintenance procedure. This works for me and justifies the price, since I only use it once a week. When I was using it every day, the bottle lasted me about 3 months. If you are having problems with stubborn acne on your body, I cannot recommend this product enough. It's a splurge, but for your own personal comfort and confidence, I really do think it's worth the try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SickSexFix on 9/10/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by SickSexFix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm just not sure about this product. I've been using it on and off for 8 months now and I really think consistency is KEY to this. You have to use it at least once a day for it to be effective. I've had body acne since I hit puberty and the only thing that works 100% is when I'm on birth control. I stopped taking that after years and have been working on clearing the body acne that came raging back once my hormones leveled out. For reference, I've used all sorts of products containing retinol, bha and aha, but they've only been body washes and creams/gels so this is my first acne body spray.

What I really like about this product is the 360 spray however the draw back is the bottle is opaque so I can't see or feel (by picking it up) how much is in there. It's like a bottle within a bottle. I've yet to figure out a way to open the top so I can reuse it (which I plan to do once it's used up so if anyone knows how to do that, let me know!)

The smell is quite medicinal, due to the menthol I guess, and it takes a while for it to go away (maybe 10 minutes once it's completely dry). The smell doesn't bother me as much as the menthol in the product. I think it's unecessary and I don't really like the cooling effect. It's fantastic on hot summer days but horrible during the winter when it's cold out! lol Some people probably like menthol because it *feels* like it's working but I just find it unnecessary. It does dry without any tackiness. Using it twice a day was a chore and made my skin overly dry.

Does it work? Somewhat. I don't think this formula is aggressive enough for my skin. I find it doesn't help much for the blocked pores on my chest (weird..) but it does work on my back as far as keeping new spots from coming up but I have to use it religiously for upkeep. The retinol and maybe tiny percentage of glycolic are the real winners in this product and has helped clear up (albeit, slowly) the pigmentation marks from healing spots. I don't find the active ingredient (SA) in this product to be a high enough percentage for me (0.5%). If your acne responds well to SA and you have some extra cash, then I'd give this product a try.

I wish the formula was stronger - maybe a BHA in there as well as more retinol or even lactic acid? A higher percentage of glycolic acid and niacinamide? I just can't justify the price for a product that only contains a small percentage of AHAs and some retinol (oh and blue lotus flower extract.. what is that for anyway?)

If I could get the top off once I finish this product I'll probably fill the bottle up with a AHA BHA toner and I'll be set. I won't buy this again due to the price ($28+) and the fact that there are others out there for me to try. I intend to try the Neutrogena body spray, the one from Glytone and the Derma Topix Gly-Sal next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cassiekay05 on 8/18/2013 9:01:00 PM more reviews by cassiekay05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product really saved the skin on my chest. I started working out about 6 months ago, and my chest started breaking out horribly all the time. This product was recommended to me by a Sephora associate, and I was unsure because other Murad products have made me break out in the past. However, I took the chance and bought the product. I use it twice a day every day, and it's made such a huge difference. I can totally tell when I stop using it (as a test), because I start breaking out again. I took this product with me when I traveled Europe this summer, and I could tell it really helped me not break out, especially in hot places like Rome and Athens. When you spray it on, it's really cold and tingly at first (this feels very pleasant when it's hot). It does take a little while to dry; I spray it on as soon as I get out of the shower so that it's dry by the time I'm ready to put my clothes on. My mom did not like this because the "tingle" was too much for her; however, I love it. I highly recommend this for body acne, especially chest and shoulders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mayita73 on 5/14/2013 6:58:00 PM more reviews by Mayita73

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is amazing!
Clear back acne, but you have to be consistent!
A little expensive but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mel_C on 5/14/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by Mel_C

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for years and really like the product. Towards the end of the bottle, sometimes the spray nozzle would stop working properly, but that never bothered me. I recently just bought a new bottle and I'm not very happy with the new nozzle. Its very strong and there is almost no way to control the massive amount of product that comes out with just a quick short spray. HUGE waste of product and I have it running down my whole body after trying to spray just a little. They may have changed the nozzle in the hopes the new one wouldn't quit working, but I'd rather have the older style nozzle back. I'm pretty disappointed and I'm contemplating whether or not I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DJ89 on 5/2/2013 8:34:00 AM more reviews by DJ89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So disappointed with this! I bought this last summer and I've used it a handful of times, enough to know that it is not for me! After reading so many positive reviews on here, I ordered this online and it was quite expensive but Im willing to spend whatever to get rid of my body acne! Anyway the spray is formulated so that u can hold it upside down and get to the areas on your back but I found that it wasn't spraying properly so I would end up using my hands anyway to spread it on my back. Once I sprayed it on, it made me feel soo cold I can't explain the weird feeling! I waited for it to dry and put on my clothes. Repeated this for a while and honestly? I was left with more spots and it did nothing for the current breakouts I had :( I dropped it and got hold of a couple other things that have thankfully gotten rid of my body acne! No thanks to this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 javachip00 on 4/9/2013 2:23:00 AM more reviews by javachip00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not much to say, except I can't live without it. It's pricey but worth it for me.
I went without it for a little while to save money, and I tried using other products with the same amount of salicylic acid. For some reason, it didn't work!
I didn't go as far as comparing ingredients, so I don't know what I was missing, but I just decided that I just need Murad Clarifying Body Spray in my life.
I spray it on my back as soon as I get out of the shower. I like the tingly feeling - I can really tell it's working. I just wish there was more product to make up for the steep price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Skincare - Body products