Paul Mitchell • Color Protect Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 2.8(39 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 roseannabanana on 7/18/2014 3:03:00 PM more reviews by roseannabanana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I only had a small bottle of this so it was hard to tell whether it protected my colour, but it worked nice as a regular conditioner/detangler.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OMGURTEEF on 3/17/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by OMGURTEEF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this conditioner for the first time this weekend. I've been using the Color Protect shampoo for months and I love it, but I'd always used Nature's Gate or Avalon Organics conditioners with varying results. But since Ulta was having a Buy 2 Get 1 sale on Paul Mitchell products, and since I needed a new styling wax, I decided to give the conditioner a shot. And I'm glad I did.
This conditioner is extremely lightweight, but still quite hydrating. I'm still in the process of growing out my natural color, so I still need a bit of extra moisture, but heavy conditioners tend to weigh my fine hair down. This provides the right amount of moisture without adding weight, and it's easy to rinse out, so it doesn't leave my hair looking greasy.
It's about $2 USD more than its shampoo counterpart, which brings it to about $14 USD at Ulta. That's really not bad. It's more expensive than the organic brands I was using, but it outperforms them ten fold.
The packaging, like the shampoo, has the kind of cap that you press open, rather than having to flip the cap up and risk breaking a nail. I prefer these types of caps because they are easier to open, but also don't leak when it's time to turn the bottle upside-down to get the remainder of product out when it's almost empty.
I will continue to use products from this PM range even after I've gone back to my natural hair color entirely. I feel it nourishes my hair the most, isn't overly pricey, and BONUS - Paul Mitchell products are all cruelty-free!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sheenabeena on 3/25/2012 11:54:00 AM more reviews by sheenabeena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I could barely get a brush through my hair. It left such a heavy residue that I had to rethink if I forgot to rinse it out. On the plus side, if marketed as a volumizing conditioner, it would probably get good reviews. However, as a conditioner in general, it is not so good. I should have read the other reviews before buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DD1969 on 2/18/2012 12:36:00 PM more reviews by DD1969

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is an average to ineffective conditioner. It works better than the Organix conditioners I've tried - it's not waxy - but it doesn't seem to do much on my fine, highlighted hair. It feels soft and silky when the hair is wet, but the effects don't seem to last, even after letting the hair dry naturally. It's OK for me because with my oily scalp, I can't use very heavy conditioners, but I'll be looking for something better soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NinaFatalle on 8/16/2011 2:04:00 PM more reviews by NinaFatalle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i bleached and dyed my hair a raspberry red. it lasted for months and i credit this shampoo for that. for an african american woman it is important that whatever product we use softens and detangles and this coditioner is amazing. my hair has never been more soft and bouncy. the color started to fade after a few trips to the pool but that can only be expected.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 louismayes on 6/24/2011 10:46:00 AM more reviews by louismayes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Awful never had something make my hair feel so dull lifeless and weighed down! I have naturally thick but not corse dark hair i had a salon color done dark red they recomended the PM color shampoo and conditioner was about 20 for both to keep the colour looking best. Never used a professional shampoo before so was expecting great things, tought how to use only a small amout of each etc and that it wouldn't lather up. After first use dissapointed due to hair not shiny anymore kept using it every other day for a week, by the end of the week was fed up of horrid build up on hair! Would not wash out hair was the worst i ever seen it, went back to salon they said it had hapened to other clients too and exchanged it for redken color shampoos and conditioner and washed my hair out for free its now back to its former shiny supple self thankfully! Would never go near PM color shampoo and contioner again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 theTITSstay on 7/3/2010 11:19:00 PM more reviews by theTITSstay

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This conditioner is just ok - it is a nice light conditioner with a pleasant scent, but I need to use something a bit more moisturizing. I alternate this with the PM Instant Moisture conditioner. I also don't like the lack of slip. My hair feels tangled after I get out of the shower and I have to spend some careful time with a comb.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lalafraser on 9/20/2009 8:42:00 AM more reviews by lalafraser

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the worst conditioner I have ever used. Not only does it not keep my colour (everytime I used it I would end up standing in a pool of brown) but my hair has never felt so greasy as it does after using this condtioner and the shampoo. Disgusting. Never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shauna23 on 7/28/2009 1:57:00 AM more reviews by shauna23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The conditioner is a lot better than the matching shampoo. It moistens my super stripped hair without being too heavy or greasy. Took points off for the weird smell and the fact that drugstore brands (Pantene anyone?) do as well if not better for much less. Won't waste the money again, that's for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 apollo84 on 7/3/2009 4:57:00 PM more reviews by apollo84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've always like PM products; I tried to like this conditioner, but no amount of rinsing got out the greasy film on my hair! It felt thick and cakey after washing... and at $12 a bottle, definitely won't buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paul Mitchell products

More Conditioner products