Cetaphil Cetaphil Gentle Cleansing Bar

4.2

249 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Stearic Acid, Sodium Tallowate, Water, Sodium Stearate, Sodium Dodecylbenzene Sulfonate, Sodium Cocoate, PEG-20, Sodium Chloride, Masking Fragrance, Sodium Isethionate, Petrolatum, Sodium Isostearoyl Lactylate, Sucrose Cocoate, Titanium Dioxide, Pentasodium Pentetate, Tetrasodium Etidronate, May also contain Sodium Palm Kernelate.


on 6/19/2015 2:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

During the summer months my skin becomes very sensitive. I decided that this year I would take control of the situation. I originally bought this for my face but because I am already using the gentle cleanser from cetaphil I decided to use this for my body. By the next day my skin has calmed down. It has a very light scent thay I enjoy and I will continue to use this



on 6/16/2015 5:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is way better for your face, because it is a gentle cleanser. But I don't find that this does anything for my face. Maybe I have high expectations when I'm buying soap- especially soap to use on my face. I'd like my soap to have some natural ingredients, as well as brightening properties; along with anything else that soap can do- but this is just a gentle cleanser. Other than that, it doesn't do anything. It feels great, and lathers up nicely, but I won't be repurchasing this soap. Not to mention, when I lather it up after a few times of using it- the soap breaks apart in little white flakes. #NotCute.


on 4/28/2015 4:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used Dove for a long time before I recently noticed that my skin would get a bit dry after I washed. So, I decided to try Cetaphil and I love it! It does not have any fragrance and it is a very gentle soap. I would recommend to all and especially those with sensitive skin.


on 2/20/2015 8:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I started using Epiduo a few weeks ago, and along with that I've also been using the Cetaphil dermacontrol foaming face wash and SPF moisturizer. No complaints, my skin is doing great aside from being a little more dry than usual. I needed something to take my makeup off with though and I thought the best thing to do was to get something from the Cetaphil line since it seems to be working well with my skin (and I also didn't want to mess with other products in fear of it burning my face haha). Great purchase. It gets all my makeup off and definitely doesn't burn!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2014 8:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

So far this bar soap is doing a great job! Been using it for about 1-2 weeks and definitely notice a change in my skin. I have acne/sensitive skin so im always looking for a product that's not going to make my skin worse. I've noticed a decrease in my acne breakouts, and its awesome with removing my makeup and making my face feel/look clean. Although the only complaint I would have is it makes my face feel abit tight after using.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2014 10:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am currently on an emergency trip. I left with a carry on and this soap. I had no choice but to use this as my face wash and body wash. When I skyped my husband, he asked what I was doing differently as my complexion is beautiful. In the past, I used this soap as a face wash and stopped due to horror stories about bar cleansers on facial skin. Yet, in the past when I used it, I remembered my co-workers asking what I'm using as my complexion is so beautiful. I'm down to a sliver of soap at this time. Of course where I am, there is not a place to purchase this item. When I get back home I will probably buy some more and continue to use this. It makes my life pretty simple.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/23/2014 3:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't wear makeup on a daily basis, on those days that I don't, at night I mix Cetaphil with baking soda as a daily exfoliante, and it's gentle and does the job.
On the days I need some help removing makeup, I only use this on my eyes (after using an oil makeup remover) as even with the clarisonic, this isn't strong enough to do any good (in my opinion).
I buy this over and over, it's a staple.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2014 11:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have normal/ dry from retinA skin. I have tried many other cleansers & ALWAYS come back to this. (Derm gave me bar when i was pregnant 8 yrs ago & had a strange rash from my daily facial cloths) It does dry my skin a little too much somedays, but it cleans it so well- & it doesn't burn or irritate my skin like a lot of other cleansers do. I have gotten to where I am afraid to try anything new bc I either get dry skin, acne, or a rash from fragrance any time I stray. Never used the liquid version. May try it this winter.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2014 11:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

HOLY CROW! I've passed this bar up many times, until recently I saw the study compared the three most commonly used bar cleansers that have a pH 5.5. Cetaphil is one of them, dove is another. Remember, we not talking about soap. Castile is soap, with a pH of 14. Ivory, Pears, Camay, et al all have pH ranges that are between 8 and 14.
I've tested them all with lab pH test strips (litmus strips) when you use alkaline cleansing products you are destroying your acid mantle. You will get the worst acne of your life unless you respect the pH people.

When it comes down to the question "what makes great skin" it's diet, as in a balanced, alkaline diet, water, free from flouride, and gentle pH balanced cleansers.
Dove is example. They say it's got a pH of seven but it varies from 6-7. That's ok...but Dove contains Lauric Acid, a highly comedogenic ingredient. Otherwise it's perfect.
Then we have CetapHil. I've been using it 3 days now. My skin is not dry, not irritated and stuff is coming out if my pores in a non-inflamed fashion.
***UPDATE***
Damn it. Started getting those bumps and nasolabial area, which is a clear indication of contact dermatitis. If not there, then around the eyes. I suspect it's the fragrance, which is quite strong however pleasant. I'm going to have to put this bar down and try something else I guess.
***UPDATE***
3 weeks later-no...it's not the CetapHil. I have cut out everything except this bar and aloevera juice/orange water I mixed myself in a stainless steel mister. As soon as I added back in a certain BHA liquid, I saw signs of irritation again. I'm going to keep going with this and eliminate anything irritating, since I know this bar isn't one of the offenders
***Update***
A month later and I broke out in a strange dry rash in a line along my cheek. The masking fragrance is deleterious to my skin, clearly. If they would just take the parfum out, it would be perfect. I've written the company with this complaint, and if you feel so inclined, I'd advise you to do likewise.

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I seriously am OBSESSED with this product. I'm suprised by people saying this made them break out since i have the most acne prone skin ever! ( break out from changing my detergent, face wash, shampoo, conditioner , anything!) This is the only product that calms my skin. I always go back to using this product.. one thing i will say is i find the product in the bar to be very different from the pump fash wash, I bought the pump one time when on promotion and broke out and found the texture and formula so different. If you have acne prone skin/ super oily in spots/ super dry in spots this is a must have!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top