Bobbi Brown • Shimmer Wash Shadow - Lilac • Eye Shadow

rated 3.8(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 5/2/2014 7:25:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My most recent purchase in the BB Shimmerwash range. After most of my longtime Shimmerwash favorites have sadly been discontinued - Fawn, Bronze, Navajo, Gold, Rock, Ash - I gave this soft lilac shade a try at the counter. I liked it enough on the back of my hand to take it home and it also works well in various looks with my grey/green eyes and light cool toned skin. I wear Alabaster/Porcelain in BB, Mac NW10/15 for reference. Lilac has a wonderful soft shimmery finish that is most flattering on the eyes, illuminating them, without turning lids frosty or crepey. The texture of the Shimmerwashes is ideal for anyone looking for a natural look and it seems to work for women regardless of age. I would describe the effect of the Shimmerwashes subtle washes of color, really pretty. In fact, after getting compliments on my eye looks I have turned on several people to this line of shimmery shadows that were looking for something subtle and those are friends and family between the age of 20 and 70+! Because this formula is so versatile and the range of shades was so beautiful I am in disbelief as to why so many of the shades were eliminated! I guess we have to thankful for the remaining shades, such as Lilac Shimmerwash and I will repurchase this shade when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cainca on 10/12/2013 11:30:00 PM more reviews by cainca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Light lavender, wonderful shimmer. It's not an "everyday shadow" but I've gone through two of these. A BB classic - always love the effect and am always happy I have it in my makeup bag for a special day or just something different. It is sophisticated -- without glittery side effects like some of BB's newer shadows that I'm not interested in. This is sophisticated, sexy lavender shimmer. The BB website calls this BRIGHT LAVENDER. I'm a huge fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pel2iwinkle on 4/13/2011 12:11:00 AM more reviews by pel2iwinkle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome product. I own a lot of BB shadows and Lilac is one of my favorites. It is a subtle sophisticated way to wear lilac. It brightens the eye and enhances it without drawing saying BAM I'm wearing lilac. I picked it up at the CCO about 2 months ago and have made quite a dent in it already. Gorgeous! The color comes on quite sheer but can be built up, depending on how intensely you want to wear it. I like pairing it with Eggplant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olelala on 10/28/2009 11:01:00 AM more reviews by olelala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Received in a swap from a generous MUAer, and it's officially love! BB Lilac is a shimmery, iridescent wash of light lavender, perfect on my NC40 skin. I use it on its on as a wash, and it highlights my brown eyes and makes me look fresh and awake. The e/s pan is HUGE, and will last forever. Being a fan of light colors, I can safely say that this e/s is HG of the lilacs. =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetcg49 on 5/16/2009 7:38:00 PM more reviews by sweetcg49

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Lilac is described on the Bobbi Brown website as "light lavender," and I think that's an accurate description. It gives a light lavender shimmer, and, on me, works best if blended with other shades. As others have said, it does not provide much color, but I think that's the whole point. It's a wash, and as such delivers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 7/16/2008 6:15:00 PM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Being a recent BB convert, I'd looked at Lilac and thought it was gorgeous... until I tried to apply it. Although the color *is* pretty, it's not highly pigmented and doesn't show up well on my NW15 skin at all.


The color itself is great--it's a shimmery, opalescent lilac/lavender that is shimmery but not sparkly. This is a lavender that I wouldn't be afraid to wear to the office. The only thing is, even if I pack it on, I don't get more than a hint of color. Compared to other Shimmer Wash Shadows (Bone, Chocolate, Heather Mauve), this has very little pigment--a real disappointment.


I'd recommend that you skip this one, personally, and stick with MAC Vellum, Digit, or Crystal to get that lilac shimmery color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Heathcliff79 on 2/24/2008 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Heathcliff79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I usually use this as a sheer pick-me-up wash when I'm running late for work. It's not very pigmented, so it doesn't go on nearly as purple as it looks in the pot. Layering it makes it a little bit too frosty for my taste; otherwise it isn't frosty -- just a nice pearlized sheen. I bought it to replace my Stila O'Keefe / Key shadow that I used for the same purpose, but was just too frosty for my taste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* astrid101359 on 1/20/2008 11:46:00 AM more reviews by astrid101359

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Bobbi Brown Lilac Shimmer Wash Eyeshadow is by far the most beautiful lilac colour I have seen and is the "grown up pink lipstick of lilac shadows". I imagine this working well as an all-over wash or as a crease colour in combination with other shadows; my favorite way to wear this however is to pair it with Bobbi's Bone Shimmer Wash as a base with Lilac on my lower lid, Clinique's Quickliner for Eyes in Grape with a slightly heavy application on upper lashline and subtle on lower lashline (just enough to balance out the look) and finally a good 3 or so coats of mascara on upperr lashes only; this edgy approach creates a 'frame' around lilac and the colour just 'pops'. If used with an eyeshadow primer such as Urban Decay Primer Potion Lilac stays put, goes on like silk and builds up evenly if layered. This is a somewhat playful eyeshadow in the fact it is not an everyday neutral we are used to; lilac is a modern 'new natural' and would look professional from law firm environment to a more casual atmosphere. I am very pale with pink undertones but I can only imaagine how gorgeous this would look on darker complexions. Expensive at $20 but given the vast array of glitter and frost shades out there it would be wise to have this little gem at your fingertips. Sophistocated, minimal and elegant.For reference I have green/gold/mostly yellow eye colour.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cindyrella1212 on 7/8/2006 1:02:00 AM more reviews by Cindyrella1212

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't been this excited about a e/s shade in awhile. This is perfect for my blue eyes. It's not too bold, not too subtle--just right. I use white matte to highlight browbone and use the lilac on lid & crease with saphhire shimmer gel e/l. Really makes my eyes pop! I got this combo idea from BB online BTW. The only downside is I wish BB made her shadows in a smaller pot--I'll never use it all up & if they were smaller she could charge a little less too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vina501 on 10/2/2005 3:29:00 PM more reviews by vina501

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love BB eyeshadows, both matte and shimmerwash and this is no exception. I think that this is the most beautiful eyeshadow that I have ever seen! It is the most perfect shade of lilac with a very subtle almost blue sheen, but not at all scary. A perfect spring shade! If you love purple eyeshadow this is a must have!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Eye Shadow products