Sally Hansen Mega Shine Top Coat

3.4

228 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/27/2015 4:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

I just recently repurchased this after running out of the bottles I had for years. I love this topcoat! It's very glossy as the name suggests and makes polish last for up to a week which in my book is a good amount of time. It also works wonders as a quick dry as it dries super fast. It does get goopy about halfway through the bottle but unlike some top coats it still manages to be usable. I agree with some of the other reviews that complained about not being able to see how much is left but it's a minor gripe for how well it works.



on 1/12/2015 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

HATED THIS TOP COAT!!! It was horrid! I have never tried a polish this bad before! I don't know if I just got a bad bottle but it never dried and wasn't "mega shiny" as they claimed. I gave this polish so many tries and it failed each time. Eventually I just left it in my polish drawer and years later I am finally throwing it away. Also the packaging is silver so you cant see how much product is left. WILL NOT REPURCHASE!


on 12/17/2014 2:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Great top coat from Sally Hansen! I'm a huge fan of Sally Hansen products because although they're not the cheapest products in the market, they're pretty affordable for a great quality product.

Purchased this top coat but I've started using it as a base coat too! And it works well as well. The brush is good and consistency is pretty nice as well. It's easy to apply and it lasts for quite a while.

It really makes my nail polishes stand out more! (And helps to cover lots of imperfections of my nail polish application too). It does not dry out easily or clog at the covers like many other polishes.

Would definitely repurchase, it's a product I don't mind using and buying again and again.


on 12/12/2014 4:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am surprised there are so many negative reviews for this TC. I absolutely love it. Having tried a few different ones throughout the years I always come back to this one (I still haven't tried Seche Vite, so this may change). It dries within minutes and it is super shiny. I am on my 6th or 7th bottle and haven't experienced any shrinking, peeling or bubbling. My only reasons for marking it down to 4 lippies are the same as the previous reviewer: it gets thick too quickly and silver bottle means you can't see how much of it is left.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2014 8:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing top coat. Very shiny. Makes a manicure last for up to 5-7 days! I dont really like that the bottles isn't clear as you can't tell how much product is left and also mine went a little goopy after a few months. I'm on my second bottle now and would highly recommend.


on 8/11/2014 1:31:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

OK-call me crazy BUT I have used this a few times and twice my nails became funky. Not all ten but one maybe? I put this on and a day or so later, while in the shower, my entire nail-the polish, not my fingernail!-peeled off in one piece! Very weird-just like I had a sticker on! So I tried it again-polish chipped again on one nail and a huge piece peeled off! I want to like this but it's just too weird for me....):


on 7/1/2014 8:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The best top coat Ive ever used. Your nail varnish will shine (and no chips) like its wet for at least 2 weeks, maybe longer. Even with cheap nail varnishes that leave no shine, put 2 coats on and they will look fantastic. I wont use any other top coat, have used this for years. When I use this on my toes, I can get about 3 to 4 weeks wear without having to retouch, its that good!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/30/2014 9:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this top coat! I used to use only Seche Vite, but it would lift sometimes. I've never had a problem with lifting with the Sally Hansen Mega Shine, minimal chipping, and a super shiny protective layer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2014 6:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I found that this top coat left brush strokes and wasn't that shiny compared to side by side comparison of other top coats on my fingers. However, it seemed to be tougher than the other top coats I used and didn't chip within 24hours, which was when I removed the mani. I am returning it though becuase the shine is just horrible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2014 12:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this top coat for what I use it for - adding shine, hiding flaws and extending wear time to a mani or pedi. I use another QDTC when I do my mani/pedi (normally at night) and then I use SH Mega Shine the next morning to add tons of shine and hide any accidental sheet or bump marks. It dries within 2-3 minutes this way and gives me way more shine than I get with my regular QDTC. I've also slapped it on a 2 week old pedi that was looking dull, and it made my polish look brand new! A few cons - my bottle got bubbly fast so have some thinner on hand, and also I don't like the non-clear bottle. Overall, a quality product I use regularly and would not be without.




Back to Top