Sally Hansen • Mega Shine Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 3.4(215 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 mekimchiie on 4/13/2014 7:02:00 PM more reviews by mekimchiie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

disclaimer: the bottle I have has a blue cap and it doesn't say extended wear. It just says megashine top coat. Now, it does what it says. It is pretty glossy. However I think the cheaper sally Hansen top coats (I'm thinking some of the clear bottle ones) are just as glossy. You also have to make sure you are putting it on really thick to get the gloss. A thin layer doesnt seem that glossy (in fact i put on a second thick layer because i didnt think my first probably thin layer was shiny enough). The drying time seems pretty good. Its not rapid quick but in the time it took me to review Essie mambo on my phone, this top coat has dried (and I had put it on thick). Now what you have to know about this gloss is that you have to wait for your color to dry first. If you don't, you will likely end up streaking the color when you apply this on. What's great about this product that I love is that if your color is old and thick and its applied all unevenly with bumps and is essentially a hot mess, you throw this on while the color is still drying and it evens it all out. I can't remember if the other SH top coats do that, but this one certainly does. So this coat is great for beginners and pack rats. But for everyone else, its simply not worth its price when comparing shine/dollar with other SH top coats. I think I will search for that cheaper SH top coat than buy this again. Its not bad, there are just better ones out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hel19 on 2/5/2014 4:07:00 AM more reviews by Hel19

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best top coat-EVER! Just one coat gives an instant mirrored shine! I love this product- especially over a deep red or any dark nail polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cheungc on 2/1/2014 1:10:00 PM more reviews by Cheungc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Am seriously impressed with this Mega Shine top coat after switching over from Sephora's generic brand top coat due to the reviews I'd read of the Sally Hansen products.

True to its promise, this product dries very quickly (usually 5 mins is more than enough, even if the underlying nail colour would've taken longer to dry properly). On my hands, I can often get up to 5 days' unchipped wear and it lasts for 2 weeks unchipped on my toe nails. The product also keeps the shine well throughout the entire wear time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SandieRose on 12/2/2013 11:21:00 AM more reviews by SandieRose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This nail Polish is a must have for any painted nails. I purchased mine in need for a top coat and this done so much more than I expected. Yes a bit pricey but you have to pay extra for quality right? this is so so so much better than your normal top coat it dries in seconds and it can be applied to nearly dry nail polish, it gives you that salon finish with exactly what it says on the bottle mega shine no chips no fading just perfect painted nails for at least 2 weeks. I find some topcoats make your nail polish wet again take ages to dry and therefore end up smudging because you assume they're dry as I said this drys in literally seconds a must have girls absolutely brilliant, my nail length has benefited from this also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vintageblush on 11/3/2013 1:47:00 AM more reviews by Vintageblush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is my number 1 beauty product out of everything. Super easy to apply. Apply over wet or dry polish and it makes any manicure perfect. I can get up to 2 weeks from one paint job. Love love love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NailGirl99 on 10/27/2013 10:32:00 AM more reviews by NailGirl99

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Current product (blue chome top) does no better than a clear polish and is not worth the premium price. Average shine but prone to pillow marks hours after application. Doesn't stand up to daily wear & if your hands are in a lot of water tends to peel right off. Brush is more of a flat and applies product like a paddle. Does not fan out for even application.

Original formula (black top) was FANTASTIC!! Shine and durability was phenomenal!!! It applied thick but easy to apply. It dried to a hard, beautiful shine very quickly. My manicure would last average of 3-4 weeks. Created a gel like appearance with a hard LONG lasting shine you did not have to baby. I've used this exclusively since they first introduced it and absolutely LOVED IT!! Will not purchase again.

I've recommended it to hundreds of women but no longer. I've been blessed with wonderful nails & get compliments constantly. Sally Hansen was the mainstay of my manicure routine for as long as I can remember but no more. I could count on a beautiful manicure with professional results at an affordable price. Sad to have to hunt for new products. :-(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 10/17/2013 11:00:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am not satisfied with the product. It chips too soon, especially applied directly to nails. Besides, I could detect some shrinkage. The shine could be better. Yet I could see that this product works best when paired up with Sally Hansen nail polish. The package looks cool but it is absolutely unpractical since you cannot see how much product is left.
The only thing I like about the top coat is how thin it gets applied. Wish SV had the same application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baby_grazi_x05 on 10/11/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by baby_grazi_x05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this, but it just NEVER sets for me! I did my nails last night at 8PM and at 8AM this morning, my credit card dinged my polish! What?? I get SOME shrinkage, but not as much as I do with Seche Vite. I like how thin it is and how easily it is to apply, but that's where my likes end. The packaging is horrible - you can't see how much you've got left! Sigh. I'm going back to Seche Vite. AGAIN. Cripes - this is like a bad relationship!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SophieCosford on 10/3/2013 3:48:00 PM more reviews by SophieCosford

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is freaking amazing. I got it free as part of a gift with purchase set and I've used nearly the whole bottle. If you apply a thick coat as directed over your nearly dry colour it smooths out any bubbles or ridges in the colour. I just applied a very cheap colour that was gloopy and dried with bubbles and all uneven. I applied this top coat and it makes the colour layer underneath appear smooth as silk. Almost looks like a gel nail effect. Love. Will definitely purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RoniRamone on 9/30/2013 5:16:00 AM more reviews by RoniRamone

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for free in a Sally Hansen gift set and I love it! It makes painting your nails so easy because they dry so quickly. They also make them shine in a really nice way. I'm not certain, but I think it may even help delay chipping, although that of course is inevitable. I like it because I used to use Revlon top coat and I noticed that I got marks from my sheets after I slept, but with this it always looks like I just applied fresh colour even when it's chipping away! Would definitely recommend compared to drugstore brands like Revlon and Maybelline

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Top/Base Coats products