Kanebo • Sun proguard UV Ultra Protect SPF 50+ PA+++ • Skincare - Face

rated 4.5(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 CaterpillarGirl on 2/28/2006 5:52:00 AM more reviews by CaterpillarGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG daily sunscreen! I love it because it really mattifies and helps keep me from getting oily throughout the day, doesn't break me out, and doesn't sting my sensitive skin like many sunscreens do. I think I can clear up some of the confusion about the issue of it being white/chalky on some people but not others: There are two formulas, one with a green cap, and another with a blue cap. The one with the green cap is a "whitening" formula, which is why it leaves a slightly chalky finish. The one with the blue cap (my HG!) is the non-whitening formula that does not leave a chalky finish. The only complaint I have about this sunscreen is that it is very difficult to find here in the U.S. I have looked everywhere, and I even called Kanebo to see if I could place a special order with them directly and they told me that they don't sell this product to the U.S., period. There are a few vendors on ebay that sell it from time to time, but at an extremely inflated price. If anyone reading this review knows where I can track down more of this product, please email me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yumi_lumi on 8/16/2005 10:40:00 PM more reviews by yumi_lumi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't notice a white cast like previous reviewers have wrote but maybe that's because my skin is already pale anyway. This sunscreen is not very greasy and it absorbs into the skin very, very well. It doesn't have that obvious sunscreen scent either. 10-15 minutes after application you can't really feel it at all. It isn't perfect but I would repurchase. I just hate the liquid texture. It runs off my face and glops in areas before I can even smooth it on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harpsandhurdles on 7/14/2004 12:55:00 PM more reviews by harpsandhurdles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

The best sunscreen ever! I bought this off of Ebay for about 5 bucks. It has the most perfect runny, milky texture, and it absolutely does not feel greasy at all, it would be great for somebody with oily skin! I have acne prone combo skin, Ive been using it for about 2 weeks.......no breakouts, + an SPF 50...UVA/UVB protection.......the perfect sunscreen!!! HG Status!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaimmie on 4/3/2004 6:08:00 PM more reviews by jaimmie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Whoa, after I put this on, and looked at myself in the mirror, it looked like I had put on some white face makeup. I had to rub more onto my neck so my colouring would look even, lol. Nice sunscreen though, I love how runny it is and how easy it is to apply, and is matte and NOT greasy! My skin feels nice after putting this on. As above, my only one complaint is there's a very significant white cast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckristen on 4/1/2004 12:38:00 PM more reviews by ckristen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this formula is milky and does run, but that only makes it so much easier to apply. i am not a fan of rubbing sunscreen into my skin, cause the action does cause sagging and wrinkles, so i am in love with easy glide formulas. this also does leave a white cast on my face, but after i have it on for an hour, it mixes in with my natural face oil and looks natural and dewy. definite deal, i would say this works a lot better than christian dior's, and it works so much better and at a fraction of the cost too! definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nikkybaby on 3/17/2004 11:53:00 PM more reviews by nikkybaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I really like that this stuff has a light, runny texture and dries to a matte finish. I hated the "old type" sun screens that made my face feel suffocated by a film of oil that would just sit on the skin and melt in the heat. I don't really care about the slight whitish cast it leaves since I use this on my body (I use Freshel White C UV day protector on my face) and I love that this is truly WATERPROOF(others make the claim but no the cut IMHO) and lasts for HOURS!! It's amusing to sit in the waves on a beautiful sunny day and watch water run off my skin like I'm TEFLON coated, hehe. You do need to take a long shower to make sure you get rid of this at the end of the day. Definitely a staple in my holiday kit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maeve on 6/15/2003 9:01:00 PM more reviews by maeve

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was my 1st Kanebo's sunscreen but for such a cheap price, it worked surprisingly well on my oily skin. No breakouts and matte finish. Will stock up more of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rian on 3/3/2003 2:29:00 PM more reviews by rian

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I consider this a cheap alternative for Shiseido Anessa SPF 50, which is my all-time favorite! I think the Kanebo sun proguard works just as well as,is matte and runny just like Shiseido Anessa. Only problem is it leaves a slight white cast, and you don't want to apply too much of it. It also accentuates any dry spots on your face. But it's cheap, I paid $4.50 for a 30 ml container. Now if only I could read the Japanese instructions!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Kanebo products

More Skincare - Face products