Shiseido • The Makeup Eye Liner pencil • Eyeliner

rated 3.8(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kennymoron on 5/1/2012 12:41:00 AM more reviews by kennymoron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A very good pencil eyeliner, I didn't expect it to be this good. All pencil eyeliner that I've ever tried always smudge (especially the black one). Well, I do want to smudge it sometimes but I feel like I need to find a pencil eyeliner that doesn't smudge and stays on all day for everyday use.

This one stays on all day, even if I splash my face with water during the day. I got the eyeliner in no 7, "Deep Brown/ Brun Profond" and I love this color for everyday use because it is not as strong as black but able to give enough definition for your eye. I don't know whether the black one will smudge at the end of the day because I never try the black one and all black pencil eyeliner that I've tried (which include Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Zero and Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes in Matte Black) always smudge.

I got this one for free because my mom bought some Shiseido skincare so I can't comment on the price. But knowing Shiseido, I bet this one will be expensive. I like the packaging because it is simple. I might not repurchase tho because I didnt even purchase it on the first place and I never, ever finish a pencil eyeliner (at least not yet). There are many other brands to try and I'll keep looking even tho I love this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bloodnite on 3/21/2010 9:28:00 PM more reviews by bloodnite

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

One of the best eyeliner pencils I've used. Goes on very smooth and dark. I like the soft plastic base they have it in. I used to use Clinque Quick Eyes eyeliner but they had it in a crumbly wooden pencil like base and whenever I sharpened it, bits of wood got stuck in the product.

This one has a nice smoothness to the product and sharpening is easy, no annoying bits get into the product after sharpening.

Application is very easy, I'm quite a novice when it comes to applying makeup but this pencil makes it really easy. I would buy it again if I planned to continue to use pencils but I want to try liquid liners next. It is pricey though. But if I was going to buy Dept Store type eyeliners like this versus Clinque or Lancome, I'd definitely go with this one.
I have dark Asian eyes and this eyeliner helps accentuate them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlackPinStripes on 3/3/2010 5:03:00 PM more reviews by BlackPinStripes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

just average..and i would say below average. i have to warm this up with a hair dryer to soften it up, the color is decent but could be more intense. it fades a lot, and also smudges some. the best far is that it is completely non-irratating, even on the waterline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hetsy on 11/22/2009 11:18:00 AM more reviews by hetsy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a review for the Shiseido Smoothing Eyeliner Pencil. Love this. I have tried so many eyeliners and they all tend to melt away. I wear eyeline on my waterline and this definitely lasts the longest and when it does eventually fade, it does not give me panda eyes. Definitely my best find so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KIMBERLYkimberly on 10/16/2009 1:24:00 PM more reviews by KIMBERLYkimberly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

There is nothing special about this eyeliner. I bought it in black brown, and it smuged like hell. looked like that I have dirt on my eyes in the end of the day. It's just a product with a retail price and a drugstore quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xysalii on 7/28/2009 4:02:00 PM more reviews by xysalii

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I guess it all depends on your skin type. I LOVE this product and it is the only eyeliner I use after trying so many. I live on a tropical island and it is hot and humid every day unless its raining. This liner goes on smoothly and stays on even in a typhoon. When I read the other reviews I wondered if we were talking about the same product. So it probably mostly depends on your skin type. For me, when I come out of the shower my friends ask if I tatooed my eyeliner on because it simply does not wear off. It is the best by far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ekim413 on 12/24/2008 11:09:00 PM more reviews by ekim413

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeliner does all of the following quite consistently:


[ pros ] glides on smoothly, applies rich black color, one stick lasts at least 14 mo. with daily use;
[ cons ] fades quickly, smudges easily, melts under my eyes;


This is one of those products I've always had around (for years) so out of sentiment/familiarity I will continue to repurchase until I find my HG pencil liner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 delllim on 11/21/2008 9:56:00 PM more reviews by delllim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had realistic expecations: Pencil eyeliners WILL smudge.

So i was looking for an almost effortless application and how much i like how my eyes look after using it. I do like how this pencil is hard yet the application is smooth and precise. Softer pencils smudge way too easily and even though it was hard to allow myself the splurge of $16 for a rather short stick, it only took one week to decide it's worth the money considering i returned the twice-as-long Sephora one at half the price that i had to sharpen every 2 days. This Shiseido pencil wears well on my lower lids too which i love and at the end of the day, no raccoon eyes despite no touching up! Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shesseder on 10/2/2008 1:40:00 PM more reviews by shesseder

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got green, which isn't a true green. It's a bluish dark green, in other words, it's teal. It glides easily. It smudges easily, even when you're not trying to smudge it, but I don't mind because at the end of the day, it doesn't leave me looking like a racoon. It looks more like an eye shadow. I wear contact lenses, and it doesn't irritate my eyes, not even when I use it inside the eyelash line. But I won't buy it again because I want a true green liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jessicaho on 8/30/2008 4:21:00 PM more reviews by jessicaho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

THE worst eyeliner I have ever used. I love Shiseido's stuff, but this just doesn't cut it. Literally, FIVE minutes after I put this on, without touching it, it's already smudged/faded--just UGH.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Eyeliner products