The Body Shop Lip Butter - Mango

3.0

90 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 4/30/2015 9:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lip butter is alright- not terrible but not particularly good either. The packaging could be improved as it is unhygienic. This lip butter smells really good, but it is not very moisturizing. it's ok for me because I don't have dry lips, but I don't think this would be beneficial for someone with dry lips.



on 12/21/2014 8:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The packaging should be better because it is not really hygienic. Overall, it's a good product. My lips tend to get dry and chapped all year long and this lip butter has made then really soft. I apply it as many times as I need during the day. It's a little bit pricey in Brazil, but it's still worth the investiment because it lasts for quite some time and doesn't make my lips get dry when I'm not using it.


on 12/14/2014 8:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Two lippies because it does not do anything terrible to my lips.

Not more because its useless. I have sensitive lips tha dry and chop very easily. But even stadard Nivea cream works way better than this. Can't remember when my lips and the surrounding are were this dry...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2014 2:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I got this in the 'Fruit and Nut' lip butter trio set. I've tried the Grapefruit one a few years back and liked it, and I've also tried the Shea Butter one which I wasn't really fussed about, it's actually waiting to be used on my heels. However this Mango one is not bad. I like the scent and it doesn't seem as thin and pasty-white as the Shea. The pots are cute but for me they're too expensive and not moisturising enough.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised at how many low reviews this LB got. Personally, I love it. I recently picked this up at TBS, decided to stop by because I had received their strawberry scented body butter and body mist as a gift and was immediately sold, and was instantly hooked onto the scent. It reminded me of sweet ripe mangos. ***mouth salivating*** at first I though I had grabbed the LB in peach ( my fav fruit) but found out after I got home that it was the mango version. No biggie because seriously the scent is AMAZING. Often times as I'm sitting at my vanity table doing my makeup, I'll just take a sniff of this just to sweeten my senses😜. In terms of the texture, it definitely has a slicker feeling compared to my EOS or Burt's Bees balms which feels waxier. I actually prefer the former because it doesn't cake up when I'm applying my lipstick over it. The packaging is cute(I do like potted products). Overall, I feel like this is a great product and I'm ready to go back for more. TBS was running a sale (buy 2 get 1Free) so this was free. $6 is kind of high for a LB but I'm still willing to pay it for this product.




::::EDIT::::::: after moving to a dryer climate region I've realized that this balm is not moisturizing enough. my lips will feel dry again after it disappears. $6 for a non moisturizing balm? no.....


on 4/27/2014 10:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

There's nothing like a glass of icy, freshly-squeezed mango juice on a hot summer day in a downtown cafe in Cairo that's filled with the fruity smoke of shisha pipes.

This lip butter doesn't capture that rich, tropical smell of mango, however, and smells more like Skittles candy. But I don't mind. It's a cute product with fun, bright packaging that's a nice pick-me-up nonetheless. It's not a serious lip balm, but more of a stocking-stuffer or something colorful for your desk or a teenager's dresser.

The fact that it's a bit sticky, lasts about a half hour before it dries out and doesn't do much to moisturise makes me think it should be called a lip gloss and not a butter. My lips were a bit chapped because of the early spring breezes, and I relied on Carmex as usual because this didn't help much. I enjoy using it anyways, as it's cute and has a sweet smell, but I wouldn't repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2014 5:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

For $6? No thanks - but for $3 - it's fine. The mango/fruity scent is nice and it's some-what hydrating on a superficial level. A nice "stocking stuffer" but by no means a HG.


on 2/20/2014 11:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This doesn't smell like the other products from the Mango line, but it smells delicious nonetheless...reminds of me Tropical Skittles! The only other TBS lip butter I've tried is Chocomania and that one didn't impress me very much. This one, however, is divine. I like lip balms that are more oily than waxy and this fits into that category. I love to apply this right before bed because I will wake up with smooth, hydrated lips that still taste faintly of mango. This also makes a great base for lipsticks that are usually drying (such as MAC). I would repurchase again, but only during another sale, since I think $6 USD is way too much for a lip balm. Although the packaging is cute, it isn't hygienic and I would like this product more if it were available in stick-form. Also, I wish it contained SPF. But other than that, love it!


on 8/22/2013 11:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Now, if you're like me, your lips dry and crack and flake like there is no tomorrow. I have been searching for months to find a lip balm that works effectively and doesn't drain my wallet. So obviously The Body Shop isn't the place to go if you are on a budget, but I guess I was feeling fancy so I went there and bought this mango lip butter. At first, it seemed awesome and smelled tasty and tasted like fruit! After about 5 minutes, the thick layer ai had put on left, and I was left with a dry film of what it used to be. Not appealing. So I tried again, and again, and kept getting the same result! Whether it was applied thinly, thickly, rubbed in, or left overnight I could not get this stuff to work! I ended up checking the ingredients, and found stuff like tocopheryl acetate, ammonium glycyrrhizate, dyes, and fragrances that were far from natural. The only decent ingredients I found were mango seed oil, beeswax, and hydrogenated castor oil. Maybe that's why it's so shiny! After all this was done, I started making lip balms which worked 5000x better than this. If your lips are severely dry like mine, please skip this product. Go find some other one that will do the job and keep your lips from falling off!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My lips are really finicky but this stuff works great for me! It leaves and keeps my lips really moisturized. It feels soft and buttery. The smell is amazing! Already bought back-ups.

http://kateslouisebeautyblog.blogspot.com/2013/01/the-body-shop-mango-lip-butter.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1504 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
176 Reviews
lip maximizer
98 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Top Rated The Body Shop Products

image

Facial Buffer

31 reviews
Back to Top