The Body Shop • Lip Butter - Mango • Lip Treatments

rated 3.0(85 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 4/14/2014 5:00:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

For $6? No thanks - but for $3 - it's fine. The mango/fruity scent is nice and it's some-what hydrating on a superficial level. A nice "stocking stuffer" but by no means a HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalalalila on 2/20/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by lalalalila

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This doesn't smell like the other products from the Mango line, but it smells delicious nonetheless...reminds of me Tropical Skittles! The only other TBS lip butter I've tried is Chocomania and that one didn't impress me very much. This one, however, is divine. I like lip balms that are more oily than waxy and this fits into that category. I love to apply this right before bed because I will wake up with smooth, hydrated lips that still taste faintly of mango. This also makes a great base for lipsticks that are usually drying (such as MAC). I would repurchase again, but only during another sale, since I think $6 USD is way too much for a lip balm. Although the packaging is cute, it isn't hygienic and I would like this product more if it were available in stick-form. Also, I wish it contained SPF. But other than that, love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 8/25/2013 7:13:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Good:
tastes great
looks pretty (sheer, shiny finish)
packaging

Meh:
texture (sort of greasy)
somewhat moisturizing
price

Bad:
wears off very quickly (but this isn't surprising given the nature of the product)
no lasting effect
too many chemical ingredients

Overall: it's fine, but nothing to write home about.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Potatomonk on 8/22/2013 11:00:00 AM more reviews by Potatomonk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Now, if you're like me, your lips dry and crack and flake like there is no tomorrow. I have been searching for months to find a lip balm that works effectively and doesn't drain my wallet. So obviously The Body Shop isn't the place to go if you are on a budget, but I guess I was feeling fancy so I went there and bought this mango lip butter. At first, it seemed awesome and smelled tasty and tasted like fruit! After about 5 minutes, the thick layer ai had put on left, and I was left with a dry film of what it used to be. Not appealing. So I tried again, and again, and kept getting the same result! Whether it was applied thinly, thickly, rubbed in, or left overnight I could not get this stuff to work! I ended up checking the ingredients, and found stuff like tocopheryl acetate, ammonium glycyrrhizate, dyes, and fragrances that were far from natural. The only decent ingredients I found were mango seed oil, beeswax, and hydrogenated castor oil. Maybe that's why it's so shiny! After all this was done, I started making lip balms which worked 5000x better than this. If your lips are severely dry like mine, please skip this product. Go find some other one that will do the job and keep your lips from falling off!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katielouiseoct86 on 2/6/2013 11:33:00 PM more reviews by katielouiseoct86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My lips are really finicky but this stuff works great for me! It leaves and keeps my lips really moisturized. It feels soft and buttery. The smell is amazing! Already bought back-ups.

http://kateslouisebeautyblog.blogspot.com/2013/01/the-body-shop-mango-lip-butter.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Littlemissninja on 10/22/2012 12:21:00 AM more reviews by Littlemissninja

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I got this lip balm in a pack of three lip butters (mango, coconut, and shea). I think they were 10 dollars. I loove the scent, I just wish it was a teeny bit more moisturizing, though. Sometimes I feel the lip butters are a bit heavy (you know what I mean? A bit greasy, but not soo moisturizing). I like the compact packaging as well. Overall, I think it deserves a 3.5/5. I love the amazing scent, but probably won't repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cellara on 10/20/2012 8:01:00 PM more reviews by cellara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Lip balms and butters are a very subjective topic because people have different opinions and skin types. I really like the smell of this lip balm and it worked very well for me. i think this is better for the summertime ( which is when i used it) because of the fruity flavor and the light layer it leaves on the lips. It worked very well for me. I used it along with eos lip balms and I applied every 4 hours and after eating. I don't know if I will repurchase because of the price of individuals. But I got mine for 3 for $10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 zillzi on 7/8/2012 11:53:00 AM more reviews by zillzi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wish this would moisturize better than it does, then I would love it. Now I only like it.. mainly because of the scent (mango is my fave fruit). I put a good amount of it on my lips before I go to bed but when I wake up my lips are their usual dry selves again. My best use for this is in the gap between coming out of the shower until I'm finished with my makeup, by then it's gone from my lips and I can apply some other lip product.
It smells really good, I think better on the lips than in the pot. There is a lot of product in it too so I think the prize is reasonable after all. If your lips aren't super dry like mine you might try this, but I'm not going to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 belle169 on 5/11/2012 12:27:00 AM more reviews by belle169

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this balm. I have yet to find a Body Shop product that I don't really like, actually, but this one is particularly nice. I recieved this as a gift a few years ago, and although I enjoyed it as a moisturising balm, I wasn't really that enthused with mango scents at the time, and so didn't really use it that much. However, a few months ago I rediscovered it, and was pleasantly surprised to find that, actually, I do love the scent now. There is a faint flavour as well, but I don't think it's particularly strong, and as it's pleasant enough, I don't mind it.
Pros: Super moisturising! I often put this on before I go to bed, and I wake up with soft, smooth lips.
Great smell - if you like mango scents, buy this!
Lasts for ages. I'll say this for the Body Shop, it's generous with the amount you get.
Gives a really nice smooth gloss to the lips, and makes them appear just a tad lighter than their natural colour.
Cons: I guess for some, the fact that it's in a pot could be an issue, but as I keep my nails fairly short (as a pianist), this isn't really an issue for me. If it's only you using it, and you have clean hands, I don't think it's really unsanitary, either.
This product is a little pricey (about NZ$14), although as mine was a gift it doesn't really matter. I still think that for the amount and quality you receive, the price is very reasonable.
Overall: love this, and may very well repurchase. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeupskincare on 4/8/2012 6:10:00 PM more reviews by Makeupskincare

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Mmm this is gorgeous, the smell is just delish. It doesn't really do much on the moisturing side after you apply it but it lasts long and you can smell it hours after so for that I will definately repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lip Treatments products