Sebastian • Molding Mud • Styling Products

rated 3.7(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 BENEPENNY on 2/26/2014 11:23:00 AM more reviews by BENEPENNY

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am an African American male. For the most part, I wear my hair close (Caesar / gentlemen taper/ temple taper). That said, I like my natural waves to show. The problem that I have ALWAYS had is that I cannot stand the oiliness / greasiness that pomades (normally petroleum based) used to leave behind. Having Normal/ Combo skin coupled with a product that melts into the hairline especially when wearing a hat has always been the BAIN on my existence when it came to hair care. Over the years, manufacturers realized a) this problem existed and b) petroleum / mineral oil is really bad for your hair – let alone your whole body. These two products serve absolutely benefit to the hair / body. It doesn't make it stronger, softer, more moisturized … nothing. All it does is provide sheen temporarily because it’s basically placing shellac on the skin / hair. I digress …

Enter Sebastian Molding Mud. I first used this in the 80’s and with great success. When it was taken out of the tub (it was white), you’d put in in your hands and pull them apart and it was like spider webs!!! Then you’d rub your hands together to emulsify and distribute/ style. It was the coolest product and the smell was fantastic!!! It was very moisturizing and didn't harden. It was very moldable and smelled great! The tub used to last me a year, no exaggeration. I can’t recall the size of the tub but it was EASILY twice the size of the current re-iteration. The only reason I stopped using it years ago is because it was discontinued (booooo, Sebastian … booo!!!) . Fast forward to current times… I was in Ulta looking for something moisturizing and would help hold the waves w/o the greasiness and I saw Molding Mud!!!** the skies opened and all was right again in the world – or so I thought …

The packaging was a bit off putting (again, ½ the size of the original version). It had no smell and it didn't look the same. I purchased it nonetheless bc it must have the same functionality as the original, right?!?! WRONG!!! When you first used it, there’s the layer of something on top that you have to crack through (think it the top layer of a crème brulee) to get to the product. Then once you rub your hands together, it emulsifies BUT there are these crystallized flakes that won’t break down. I apply to the hair and it feels okay. Brush through and walk out the door … only to see that the shine I had upon application is now completely gone (w /in a matter of minutes) and my hair looks like I didn't even touch it. Then the cardinal sin started happening. My head started to itch. Too much alcohol or too much of a drying agent is in this product to do ANYTHING for my head of hair. That said, and $17 later, it will be going back … PRONTO!!!! Maybe if they bring back the OLD/ ORIGINAL formulation, I’ll be back. Until then, it can stay on the shelf collecting dust or going to someone unfamiliar with the awesome formulation of its predecessor.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 1/16/2011 1:30:00 PM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is definitely different from any other pomade that I've tried. Firstly, I do love the smell...smells just like beeswax. Some people probably won't like it though, but I personally don't mind. It's also a lot thinner than other waxes out there, which is good because it doesn't make my hair feel heavy after putting it on. I use this mostly when my hair is straight, and it keeps it sleek and tamed throughout the day. And it lasts forever! I've had my container for almost 2 years and I'm about halfway done! Definitely worth the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissMermaid05 on 4/22/2010 12:59:00 AM more reviews by MissMermaid05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Spotted this at Marshall's today and knew I had to grab it for only $5.99!!! What a deal! Tried it right away on my curled hair and wow, the product is amazing. I did have to be extra careful with not over applying. I have thin, fine, and long hair; after application, my hair was soft with less fly away. Can't say much about the product maintaining long lasting curls since I just got it today and tried it around the afternoon. Will provide an update on the product later. Ladies, go grab a jar now at Marshalls if you haven't yet!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bwkkhong on 11/4/2009 6:09:00 PM more reviews by bwkkhong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm just going straight to it and say that this is amazing. Bought this at Selfridges after being told that the xtah crude clay has been reformulated into this, which is so much better - I found that the xtah crude clay left my hair far too sticky. This, however, gives my hair control, no shine - but also doesn't dull the hair, all without leaving it greasy.

Also, the great thing about this is that it's buildable, and that's incredibly important and useful especially for shorter styles. I'm a guy with fairly spikey/messy hair. I just rub it into my hair and then a little more to define certain parts.

Loving this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mzsassy on 2/23/2009 12:47:00 PM more reviews by mzsassy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product because it has a multitude of uses when used in the correct proportions. I've used it to lightly smooth my hair after I've flat ironed it. I've also used it to provide slight hold when wearing my hair in updos and other structured styles. This product really helps to smooth the edges of my textured hair without the aid of heavy gels. I simply take a small amount and emulsify it in my hands. A light, buildable application is the key in the product. Otherwise, it can leave the hair heavy and tacky. However, maybe that's your goal. I've used this product for a long time. However, I've noticed that since Sebastion revamped its packaging, I haven't been able to find the old, larger size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bartamy on 1/20/2008 10:29:00 AM more reviews by bartamy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best product for controlling my hair, which is fine, but abundant and curly/wavy. It provides defintion, defrizzes and does not dry out my hair. I have tried everything, even a combination of Phyto products that was recommended to me by my stylist. Nothing comes close to working. I'm not a gourmand scent lover, but I like the scent on my hair. When I apply it, I can smell it, but it settles nicely into my hair and no one seems to notice it. I haven't suffered any breakouts from using it, but perhaps that's because I only use it on top layers, at the ends, and more in the back, where my hair is thickest. Definitely do not overuse; your hair will end up looking like you spent a week in an oil vat. Start with small amounts and work it in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninadelsol on 12/1/2007 1:37:00 AM more reviews by ninadelsol

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I'm having a bad hair day and I think nothing is going to save my curly hair from frizzing up into a fro, Sebastian's Molding Mud saves the day. My curls are defined, and glossy. I took off one lippy because of the smell and texture of the product, but it makes up for it in quality and durability. Worth every penny and better than gel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 debbism on 9/17/2007 10:11:00 AM more reviews by debbism

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use this all the time when I had a curly perm. It basically gave me that fun beach look and kept the curl definition and prevented frizzies in the top layers of my hair.

It was not overly sticky or gooey and as long as you don't use too much, neither was the hair after using it. The nice thing is that you can re-activate it by spritzing with water adn re-styling instead of adding more or re-washing.

I was not so wils about the packaging - although I hope by now, they have changed. It used to be that the tub had a small opening and it was hard to get it all out, reaching under the lip of the opening which was always sharp.

Unfortunately, since I have given up cones, this product is off limits for me....but if I ever change back to cones and sls, I would definitely get this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SavvyChic on 9/8/2006 12:58:00 PM more reviews by SavvyChic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I noticed a lot of reviews here mention the scent in a negative way, but I've gotten a lot of compliments on how good my hair smells when I've been around men! Maybe it is how it mixes with my chemistry, but it does smell a bit odd in the jar. I have naturally wavy hair that is more curly when layered. This helps to weigh down frizz and keep the ends looking nice together. I try to keep it away from the roots because of the weight it adds. You definitely don't want to use too much of this. I also have to keep it away from my skin (not using it on the inner layers) because of breakouts. I do like how this can create a 'piecey' look, & works best for me air drying. The directions stated how to achieve different looks using cool or heat, so you can work with this product many ways. They also state to use a gel, such as their Wet, before applying. I find it does look best with Wet, but also using it without. I've bought this off & on for 2 decades now and mostly use it when my daily favorites are not giving me a good hair day, this product is the rescue! UPDATE: Chose to change to not buy again due to I've since found other products I like in my hair and don't use what I have of this product hardly ever. When I do, it is just on the ends and I can find inexpensive silicone serums for that purpose because the price is a lot for this product, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kchalbi on 7/16/2006 12:49:00 PM more reviews by kchalbi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know what it is about this stuff, but I just keep coming back to it! I've tried everything out there and always end up back with this. I have curly hair and scrunch a little bit of this into the ends to give the curls a little extra oomph and hold-it holds the shape all day for me! I do wish it added a little more shine, and it can give a very sticky feel if you use too much. Product junkie that I am, I know I will continue to try everything else, but something about this has me buying it over and over!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebastian products

More Styling Products products