New York Color Eye Liner Pencil in 921A (Black)

3.8

78 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 7/28/2015 6:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This review is for NYC 921 "Jet Black" I don't know if NYC still makes 921A if it has been DC? This is a basic wooden pencil you can get where ever they sell NYC makeup (DS's). I prefer NYC to Wetnwild baby got black because 921 is a richer black & lasts longer on my rheumy eyes extremely oily lids. I feared a shortage of these pencils coz all summer I could not find them; they were always sold out! Today I found them at Kmart so I grabbed a fistful of these gr8 liners at a buck a piece u can't go wrong & they don't dry up! I like to be prepared should they become scarce again. My fave pencil liner. I was using MUFE Aqua Mat Black pencil which is $20 & I get the same smoky effect from this dollar Jet Black pencil so no need to spend mega bucks on a basic black eyeliner! I get 4-5 hrs of wear w this b4 needing to touch it up I get maybe 6-7 hrs w MUFE. Any old makeup pencil sharpener will sharpen this to a point & from there I melt it w a cigarette lighter slightly to warm up the lead which makes it way dark like looks like a gel almost & guarantees staying-power. This does not irritate my sensitive eyes. I love this pencil it's my HG & now I've got an ample supply so I don't need to worry abt running out after today. I've been using 921 for many years (also along w wnw).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 7/1/2015 2:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

You really have to push this pencil with enough pressure to actually hurt your eyeballs to get anything out of it. The pencil is too hard, too light, and just generally not pigmented enough. Only get it if you're desperate and only have 99 cents.


on 2/1/2014 12:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's not terrible and it's not great. Just standard 99 cent eyeliner. I think wet n wild's pencil liner is better and costs the same. I stock up when I can, I find a way to use it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

HOLY SATAN THIS IS AN AWFUL EYELINER

I mean, this thing is so hard, you have to press on your eyeballs until it hurts to get ANY color out of it. And once you have it on, it doesn't last long. No thanks.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2013 6:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of the worst eyeliners ever, but for the price i guess it's expected. It was really hard to go on, it definitely didn't go on smooth. Not only did it feel hard on your skin, I had to really press it down for it work properly. Such a waste... The texture was hard and difficult to work with. The eyeliner didn't last long at all! I applied it on my waterline and it would transfer to my lower lashes within 5 minutes, which is just so annoying!


on 4/15/2013 4:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Sorry to say that it didn't work for me. It took a lot of work to get a solid line across my eye. The formula was very hard and there was not enough pigmentation for my liking (not really black in my opinion). Maybe I got some older stock... But it is very cheap, a generous size, and a good choice if you are looking for a softer line. Please keep in mind that there are many choices that are better even if they are more expensive.


on 3/15/2013 1:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't like it. It doesn't last.


on 11/25/2012 6:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This eyeliner has been around ever since I started wearing makeup in 8th grade. The price has also stayed the same but I think some reviewers are right. The formula may have changed but I think I actually like the new formula. It takes me two applications for the eyeliner to stay put on both my tightline and waterline as well. By that I mean I have to run it over about twice but I can't complain since the price is dirt cheap. It's very pigmented in my opinion and it doesn't even smudge on me at all. I usually leave my home around 11am in the morning and take off my makeup around 2am. I checked to see if the eyeliner was still on my waterline and tightline and what do ya know? It really stayed! I was very impressed because sometimes although my higher-end eyeliners does stay, they tend to smudge more. Sometimes they go on sale at my local Rite-aid or CVS for 40% off so it's less than a dollar. Definitely worth it. Buy two so you can keep one in your purse for on the go!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/29/2012 1:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to use this eyeliner a long time ago, by long I mean 8 years ago. It worked back then & I used this on my waterline. I remember it did show up on my waterline, but the staying power wasn't good. At the time I was 12, so I didn't really care about staying power. But after years of experience with make up, I now know that it's not a good eyeliner. I recently bought this again after 8 years without using this, & it did not even show up on my waterline at all! It was only like 90 cents, so it didn't bother me that much. But, I was still bothered by the fact that no color whatsoever showed up with this. I know this is extremely cheap, but if you really want a good, decent quality eyeliner...go for a higher end, or even Revlon colorstay eyeliner. There are better drugstore eyeliners than this. Never again will I waste my precious 90 cents on this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Wow- these totally cheap liners are awesome! I have yet to pick up the Waterproof liners that have really good reviews but Ive been using these liners since i can remember & will continue to buy them or use them since they last forever!
=PRICE/AVAILABILITY=
NYC Eyeliner pencils can be found wherever your NYC Products are sold. I can generally find these at most drugstores like CVS, Walgreens, Rite Aid as well as some Walmarts & Targets. The price is unbelievable! these are $1!!!! yes $1 for the whole pencil. There are double ended pencils as well as mechanical pencils available from NYC Cosmetics. This is for the whole pencil of #921A (not #921 which is way different) The price will vary slightly depending on your location as well as sales/discounts. But nonetheless, these pencils are $1- ive owned them forever & ever!
=SHADE/FORMULA/PERFORMANCE=
#921A is a flat matte black eyeliner. Its a regular wooden pencil eyeliner but its soft enough to line the waterline as well as the lash lines without tugging or pulling. Its soft enough to do so but not too soft where it runs & smears immediately. I always use an eye primer so it may help w/ smearing in the end & if you have oily lids or watery eyes, setting any liner w/ a powder shadow or a powder will help w/ staying power. On my eyes, this liner will last at least 7-8 hrs on the lash lines w/ out fading. On the waterline, around 4-5 hrs then it begins to fade, which every pencil liner for me, wont last too long on my waterlines since i have allergy eyes. I think for $1- this liner beats alot of my other pencil liners. #921A Black is a true black liner, it shows up dark. Its great for using w/ more dramatic looks or any look where definition of the eyes is wanted. Ive been using this liner forever- its super dark, soft enough for my liking (im a fan of more creamy pencils but this one i will always love since its almost there) and performance it pretty great! They are great for the price- better than some more expensive liners. I will continue to purchase these- im def going to try their Waterproof liners (they are $3 for half the size of these) I think these are great for beginners or anyone who likes a soft smoky natural look. This is a great basic black liner!
=PACKAGING=
These liners are standard wooden eye liner pencils. But what makes these either great or a pain is that they are super duper long!!! I dont mind it since the more you use it & sharpen the pencil, the shorter & more usable it becomes. So id rather get more pencil for the price. Its a standard wooden pencil. These sharpen easily. No hard chunks or bit of wood. They fit in the standard pencil sharpener so no special one needed. There is a metallic silver writing/logo labeling. So make sure to check for proper name. Since they also have a 921 instead of 921A which is a huge difference between the two. If your store is unorganized which happens, it makes it a little difficult to dig through them to find the proper pencil. I think its a basic pencil. Does its job- hold the cream pencil part fine. No drying up for the years ive owned my pencils. They have a plastic cellophane wrapper that you twist off & open with a plastic cap to go over the pencil tip to keep it safe & secure. The lid fits securely so no sliding off in bags. These are great to take along with you if you need a pencil.
Overall, the NYC Eyeliner in Black #921A is a great true black. I love them, such a great value- def a great basic black liner- its pigmented, soft, can be blended out for a smoky look or set it with a powder & they will be good to go!!! they also have a wide selection of colors to pick from either from the whole pencils or the double ended pencils!




Top Rated New York Color Products

image

Matte Me Crazy

35 reviews
image

309B Sheer Red

155 reviews
Back to Top