Helena Rubinstein Extravagant

3.3

16 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/20/2010 10:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

You should know that my eyelashes are sparse, thin, with an average length and stick straight. I expect from mascara to hold a curl so thatís why I prefer the waterproof versions. Back then I didnít know this so I thought that a high end mascara had to do a terrific job.

Maybe the waterproof version would have worked but this mascara is definitely not for me. It cannot hold my curl and that is a deal breaker for me. Another downside is the price.

Nevertheless, I do think this would be excellent mascara for those who have eyelashes that are not pointing downwards. I remember it gave me a lot of volume and length and the color was very black and glossy. The texture of the product plus the brush made it really easy to apply and he packaging is also very pretty. As washable mascara it was very easy to remove with water and a normal eye makeup remover.

I only buy waterproof mascaras and I think this mascara (along with its waterproof counterpart) is discontinued anyway. But I know that other Helena Rubinstein mascaras have a very high quality.



on 5/8/2006 7:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this mascara. Don't understand the bad reviews it's gotten. It's a great daytime mascara. HR talks about graphic volume and I can't describe it better. Natural looking, nice seperation of eyelashes (no spider eye effect), nice building, I'll definately repurchase this mascara. As I liked it so much I bought the lashqueen mascara by HR as well. What a bummer. It's the most horrible mascara I ever used! This one is great though!


on 9/18/2005 3:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I must be really stupid, because I bought this mascara twice! The first time, I thought there was sth. wrong with it, because no matter what I did, I ended up with clumps and spider lashes. IMO it is very close in performance to L'Oreal's Lash Architect, which I also didn't like.


on 9/16/2005 11:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very fine lashes- very fine! And if you see my pics, most people think I have put on fake lashes! I apply many coats and it wont make them spidery, it actually defines each lash! Superb!!!!!!!!!! Hands up all the way, especially for those with fine lashes! Update: Have found my HG in Dior show and cover girl lash exact.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2005 9:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My worst ever mascara, even drugstore Maybelline is ALOT better than this.

It flakes terribly! The flakes went into my eyes and it was so painful, causing tears. After I've removed them from my eyes, I found them all over my undereye and cheeks! It smudges to my eyebags area after 1/2 hour. No holding of curls, no thickening effect. Nothing.

Never again. Lucky mine was just a GWP sized sample. I threw it away after 2 uses.


on 9/26/2004 2:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bouht this in Aubergine, a very nice light purple colour. And even though it doesnt show very much, I prefer a subtle effect, the one you can only see outdoors, inside it just looks dark. The best thing about this mascara: nice volumen, no clumpliness. The great thing I found about it and nobody says it is that every other mascara I have used I inevitably smudge the skin next to the root of the eyelashes when putting it on, because I like to get so close to the root (for that eyeliner without eyeliner effect). I would just remove the stains with a cotton tip once dry. AMAZINGLY, this mascara does not do that, never seen before, it goes on clean, doesnt leave rests on lids or roots. The BIG problem about this mascara is that it flakes terribly after a few hours, which is reason enough for me not to buy it again. But I am going to try the black one in Waterproof version next to see if the flaking problem stops. Other than that its is a great mascara (and trust me, I am a volume mascara-master!).


on 4/20/2004 2:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Helena Rubinstein have the BEST mascara in the world!! It can last whole day and it bring out my eye!
Better than Lancome.


on 11/27/2003 7:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Excellent Excellent. This has beccome one of my most beloved mascaras along with Lancome Difinicil. This is a must have in every womans make-up kit. Totally worth the Geld.


on 11/14/2003 5:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very disappointed with this. Granted, I had quite high expectations, but I don't think they were unreasonable. In my opinion, this is an average mascara. Also, I ordered 'Brown' but it looks black to me, which is kind of annoying. I didn't care for the packaging, either (hideous faux gold wand). I don't think its price is warranted, but it isn't a total failure of a product so I will use it until I need to replace it for another mascara. I would rather spend on something that will deliver next time...Perhaps I will try one of the other formulas, like Crescendo.


on 11/11/2003 4:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

That sucks so bad! I was all excited about this and then I went to look at who owns HR and it's Loreal and they test on animals! Oh well! Yet another company to add to my (will never buy from list)To find what other companies do & do not test on anmals go to Peta.org to find their extensive do and do not test list.




Top Rated Helena Rubinstein Products

image

Magic Concealer

82 reviews
Back to Top