Terra Nova Pikaki Perfume Essence

3.8

12 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/5/2013 10:59:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

Many thanks to Maliastyle's review. I too have overspent way too much money purchasing Child perfume, even if I was fortunate enough to have scored a 20% off discount from beautyhabit. I'm done.....done I tell you. I purchased a little bottle of this perfume essence and have NOT looked back once. It's a beautiful scent, if you love jasmine. Plus it lasts most all day long. One of my best finds this year!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 4/28/2009 9:18:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As an avid lover of Child, I feel like I've scoured the earth looking for cheaper versions of the $165 EDP. I'm now on my second bottle of it (and going on my fourth roll-on). When I discovered Terra Nova's pikake, my heart sank at the thought of the money I've poured into Susan Owens' pocket, when all that time I could have purchased mountains of this stuff.




Child, on me, is a straight pikake scent, and that's exactly what this is. The main difference is the lasting power. This comes in a .5 oz bottle, and when I first got it, I thought, I'm going to go through this in no time! But I was pleasantly taken aback - a dab of this on my wrist at 7 am lasts on my skin until about 5 pm. An entire work day. And the sillage is amazing. I'm enveloped in sweet, warm fragrance that blends with my own skin so well it's almost as if I smell like this naturally. All this for $16!




And yes, for those who claim that Child drives men wild, well, it does - but it's not Child. It's Hawaiian jasmine. I still wear Child but layer it with this for lasting power, and I swear it smells like one and the same. I can't wait to get my hands on the rest of the line.




One gripe: packaging. I wish the cap came with a little plastic attachment (similar to The Body Shop's oils) for ease of application.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2007 11:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this perfume. Pikake, also called Sampaguita in the Philippines, is my country's national flower. I thought it would suit me well, and I was right. It's a sensual fragrance, yet somehow still innocent, girlish and natural.


on 4/3/2006 5:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow! I'm so blown away by this fragrance that costs almost nothing and is sooo lovely! I'm not one for tropical florals (while sadly I love the flowers themselves, I find that no one gets the scents quite right in a fragrance), but this one is really quite lovely and the ONLY pikake scent I will wear. Seriously, I can't stand the Child-alikes and Child, which are WAY too strong and overpowering, but this is light and lovely! Don't waste your money on the roll-ons, go for this!


on 9/18/2005 9:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wasn't crazy about this one. It is intensely tropical, and everyone else wears it, where I live. The lasting power is very good, and packaging and price can't be beat.


on 10/4/2004 9:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this! So light and fresh, yet tropical and I can definitely sniff the similarities to Child perfume in this.


on 3/16/2004 5:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really liked the Pikaki. It is a very unusual scent and seems to linger. I would compare it to a lily, very buttery and perfumy. I woulod only wear it on very specific evenings though. as daily it would be a little too much.


on 2/13/2004 10:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

OH HORROR! Okay, maybe that was a little dramatic, but this reminded me of the loud, disgusting, and highly overrated Fracas, unfortunately. Thank goddness for samples.


on 9/18/2003 10:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Although at first whiff, this perfume oil smells nice like Pikake, it transforms into an intolerable putrid, acrid chemical foulness on my skin. It leads me to believe that there are synthetic fragrances in the perfume, rather than pure essential oils. I would not purchase again, and also will not be wearing it again. A disappointment, but at least I'm only out $12!


on 5/4/2003 3:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is indeed lovely, if a bit one-dimetional. Nice, light rendition of pikake. I'd prefer a richer version. It did not last very long on me; only about 4 hours, but for the price ($12.00!) that's not such an issue. My main problem is that it just didn't do much for me, but I thing many would find this very pleasant and the quality is quite good for the price. I'll probably send it to my little sister. Nice, just not for me.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1352 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
335 Reviews
Chance
956 Reviews
Light Blue
1405 Reviews
Back to Top