Terra Nova Pikaki Perfume Essence

3.7

14 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/22/2015 7:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ugh, I am really disappointed with this. It smells like toxic chemicals; not the creamy beautiful fragrance of Jasmine that I was expecting. Maybe I got a bad batch, because I am really surprised by all the rave reviews of this. I thought perhaps it was too strong, so I also tried putting it behind my knees so that I can get a softer waft of it. Nope, it still smelled vile.



Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am rather sensitive to fragrances, and am allergic to just about everything in normal perfumes, so I prefer to wear perfume oils instead. This is one of my favorites! I have received so many compliments on it, and one of them was that it is "just right-a very subtle scent that is detectable from fairly close, so it isn't enveloping everyone within a five-mile radius in a cloud of stench." (This was from someone at the hair salon I go to-had to quote them on that.) And that is the reason, in a nutshell, that I wear this so often-it is detectable, but just enough. The scent is also very natural, with no artificiality about it-I have had people who are familiar with the scent of jasmine tell me that it is one of the best representations they have ever noticed. Best of all, it does not break my skin out-I can wear it anywhere without worrying about how I'll feel later. Terra Nova has a website, I believe, but I bought my perfume oil elsewhere for about fifteen dollars-the little glass bottle is tiny, but a little goes a long way. I will buy this again and again!


on 6/5/2013 10:59:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

Many thanks to Maliastyle's review. I too have overspent way too much money purchasing Child perfume, even if I was fortunate enough to have scored a 20% off discount from beautyhabit. I'm done.....done I tell you. I purchased a little bottle of this perfume essence and have NOT looked back once. It's a beautiful scent, if you love jasmine. Plus it lasts most all day long. One of my best finds this year!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2009 9:18:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As an avid lover of Child, I feel like I've scoured the earth looking for cheaper versions of the $165 EDP. I'm now on my second bottle of it (and going on my fourth roll-on). When I discovered Terra Nova's pikake, my heart sank at the thought of the money I've poured into Susan Owens' pocket, when all that time I could have purchased mountains of this stuff.




Child, on me, is a straight pikake scent, and that's exactly what this is. The main difference is the lasting power. This comes in a .5 oz bottle, and when I first got it, I thought, I'm going to go through this in no time! But I was pleasantly taken aback - a dab of this on my wrist at 7 am lasts on my skin until about 5 pm. An entire work day. And the sillage is amazing. I'm enveloped in sweet, warm fragrance that blends with my own skin so well it's almost as if I smell like this naturally. All this for $16!




And yes, for those who claim that Child drives men wild, well, it does - but it's not Child. It's Hawaiian jasmine. I still wear Child but layer it with this for lasting power, and I swear it smells like one and the same. I can't wait to get my hands on the rest of the line.




One gripe: packaging. I wish the cap came with a little plastic attachment (similar to The Body Shop's oils) for ease of application.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2007 11:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this perfume. Pikake, also called Sampaguita in the Philippines, is my country's national flower. I thought it would suit me well, and I was right. It's a sensual fragrance, yet somehow still innocent, girlish and natural.


on 4/3/2006 5:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow! I'm so blown away by this fragrance that costs almost nothing and is sooo lovely! I'm not one for tropical florals (while sadly I love the flowers themselves, I find that no one gets the scents quite right in a fragrance), but this one is really quite lovely and the ONLY pikake scent I will wear. Seriously, I can't stand the Child-alikes and Child, which are WAY too strong and overpowering, but this is light and lovely! Don't waste your money on the roll-ons, go for this!


on 9/18/2005 9:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wasn't crazy about this one. It is intensely tropical, and everyone else wears it, where I live. The lasting power is very good, and packaging and price can't be beat.


on 10/4/2004 9:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this! So light and fresh, yet tropical and I can definitely sniff the similarities to Child perfume in this.


on 3/16/2004 5:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really liked the Pikaki. It is a very unusual scent and seems to linger. I would compare it to a lily, very buttery and perfumy. I woulod only wear it on very specific evenings though. as daily it would be a little too much.


on 2/13/2004 10:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

OH HORROR! Okay, maybe that was a little dramatic, but this reminded me of the loud, disgusting, and highly overrated Fracas, unfortunately. Thank goddness for samples.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
339 Reviews
Light Blue
1407 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top