Stila Convertible Color Camellia

4.1

39 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/29/2015 12:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've bought this twice because I lost the first one, not because I ran out. I have bought some of the other colors, too, over the years. At one point I had Lillium, Camellia, and Gerbera.

I fly and go on road trips just enough that I am constantly aware of what Sephora has available in travel sizes, and I would rather carry a small purse than a big one. It's nice when I find items that are safe for my carry-on that could get me through a surprise layover without a lot of bulk and without the airline objecting to how many ounces of liquid I have.

I've always liked the idea of Convertible Color, a pigmented cream that works as both blush and lip color, yet most shades look better either on the cheeks or on the lips. I think Stila had this before Bobbi Brown came out with Pot Rouge. They are similar products. A few of the colors really are "convertible."

I love nude/peach/beige lip colors, and peachy nude blushes, so Camellia was the first Convertible Color I bought. It was too much of an earth tone for most of my Stila-buying friends, though, who gravitated toward the pinks. I'm the type who likes a beige lip with a smokey eye, so Camellia works for me but I think pinks do make better lip choices for most complexions.

While this isn't the longest lasting thing on Earth, it stays about as long as the average lipstick, and I find the longevity as a blush to be pretty good. And guess what, if it needs a touch-up, there it is, in my purse with a handy little mirror in the lid. A regular lipstick is smaller, and you could theoretically apply it to your cheeks, too. But most likely there's no mirror.

Most people want a little more pink in this type of product, so Lilliam and Petunia are worth a look if Camellia is too beige or nude for you. I found Lilliam to be a very natural-looking soft pink for porcelain skin that doesn't give you an obvious makeup look.

These products aren't the most hygienic because if you're not toting brushes in your bag, you're applying with your fingers, and then you have to wipe your fingers on something -- a tissue, a neighbor, your jeans -- and then there are the tiny little fibers floating through space that inevitably land on your cream blush. I have been known to wipe a Kleenex over the top (and waste some product) just to keep that darn surface looking clean. But at least TSA lets you carry it on the plane.

$25 per compact. It lasts for months. This Stila product has been around for at least fifteen years, maybe longer, so it must have a good number of loyalists.



on 2/1/2015 11:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my go-to shade for a minimal makeup look. It's the perfect shade of pinkish-brown. It looks incredibly natural on my NC35 skin. Peony is also a good shade but it's a little more pink. I love Camellia for all seasons because it is so neutral. During summer I sometimes will wear Gladiola or petunia to give an extra pop, and winter I break out my poppy. I love all the converitble colors because they last so long and give a natural flush. I know these are formulated for both lips and cheeks but I have found they work better just for the cheeks. Poppy looks ok on lips because it's a neutral red, but camellia looks like concealor on the lips. Overall they are amazing and will continue to repurchase as long as they're available! Oh, and the packaging is absolutely adorable !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2013 5:09:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I recently rediscovered this blush in my make up drawer. I had forgotten all about it while pursuing a love affair with my Tarte Amazon Clay blushes. The color works really well for me. I am NC20 with light olive undertones. This is a dense product that is not as creamy as most cream blushes are. I don't use it on my lips as I find it not moisturizing enough. I use a small stippling brush and kind of dab it on and then blend out. It is a peachy brown shade that can be quite subtle if used with a light hand. Good choice for a more mature skin. I just recently figured out how to use these cream blushes more effectively. A small flat top stippling brush helps to apply cream blushes gently without messing up the foundation underneath.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2013 7:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a very pretty, brownish peach color. Ive been using this more lately but still love my peony. this goes on like a wash of color but if you like, you can intensify. This really complements my warm light skin, and looks natural like a slight flush. I use this more in colder weather because my skin tends to get dry. I would love to try the other colors out.


on 9/21/2012 10:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with blush. It's hard for me to find colors that I really like. I am NC44 MAC/173 MUFE HD, and I am not a fan of bright blushes. I have found that I have a preference for brown-toned/tinged cheek colors and I finally realized that the "perfect everyday" blush for me would be a brownie pink. Enter Camellia, it's so beautiful! It's also my first cream blush and it just looks so natural. I'm grateful to the MA at my Sephora who took me right to it when I told her the type of color I was looking for.


on 11/7/2011 10:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Very flattering warm, soft peach shade on my NC30/C4 light tan Asian complexion. Overall a peachy healthy shade with a very slight brown undertone, all which flatters my yellow skintone. Would recommend with anyone with yellow undertones and a slight tan. I could see why this might look "dirty" on lighter complexions, but this is a daily blush for me that is very hard to overdo. It compliments any lipshade, is very natural and soft looking, and I feel healthy and warm in it! I use my MAC 130 to stipple and blend on my apples and tap with my fingers to warm it up a bit. It dries matte and lasts at least 8 hours. Love this formula!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2011 5:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

How I love this! It gives me such a natural peachy color. I almost love it on my lips more than my cheeks. It's very flattering, soft, not oily, and makes my fair skin with yellow undertones look healthy and radiant. I adore this cc, It's hands down my favorite. It also works nicely as a contour.


on 8/21/2010 7:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This has to be my favorite Stila convertible color. It's perfect on my NC30-ish yellow skin tone. Dont let the color in the pan scare you away! It looks really brown and orange and muddy but on my cheeks it gives me the perfect, most gorgeous bronzey peachy look with out being orange. It's absolutely gorgeous! Easy to use and blend. I prefer using fingers or a foundation brush for best application. A little goes a long way so while it seems like there's not a lot of product it will last you forever! So while it's retails for $20.00, it's totally worth it! Not to mention the packaging is just absolutely adorable! I love the packaging and the nice little mirror that comes in it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This was definitely one of my favorites in my Stila haul. I kind of panicked when I first put it on because it was hellla pigmented and pulled a little orange. But after blending it, I was in love. It is a gorgeous, terracotta bronze and works well as a low key blush for me. I could definitely see this as a contouring blush as well. It is definitely a unique color and looks great with my olive skin, like a glow more than a color. It has the most subtle shimmer to it that I don't even see it when its on. I could definitely see how CC's are addictive. This is more than I usually spend on a blush but it is amazing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/9/2010 5:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I think this is great to use as a cream blush. I tried MAC's and NYX's cream blushes and felt that they were too creamy for my liking. This blush is denser in texture compared to the two and the blush in pot keeps it's form rather than dipping. I use Sonia Kashuk's flat brush to apply this cream shadow and it works well for application and blending. On me, (NC42) this blush comes off as a rosy brown and is great to wear on a day to day basis.


Popular Blush Products


Sin
Sin
768 Reviews
sunbasque
sunbasque
272 Reviews


Back to Top