New York Color • Liquid Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.3(359 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 gsalazar82 on 7/19/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by gsalazar82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Holy Grail!! I've repurchased this liner at least 10x. It's not that's it good for the price, it's a genuinely good liquid liner. It's super black, dries matte, and is long wearing. The price point is just a bonus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilyjen on 7/11/2014 6:07:00 PM more reviews by ilyjen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my holy grail eyeliner. I've tried high end products that weren't as good as this. The texture is a fantastic smooth black (not at all dull) and unless it comes in contact with liquid, it stays put all day. It can be difficult or messy if you have a hard time drawing wings (practice makes perfect) because there is a lot of color payoff and product on the brush. The only downside to this is the brush can occasionally become disoriented after a while, with a few stray strands, causing there to be lines where you don't intend them BUT the fantastic thing about this is it's less than $3 at the drugstore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shygirl7 on 6/14/2014 12:12:00 AM more reviews by shygirl7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I will always buy this! Since the summer, I've been using gel liner. I love it, except that no matter what, it ALWAYS smudges into the bottom inner corner of my eye.. I look like a raccoon after a few hours. I have to swipe to remove it, ruining my undereye concealer. It's a pain!
I picked this up on a whim at walmart. I think I paid $3 CAD. The best decision I've ever made (makeup wise). This lasts all day given that I don't touch it or get water around my eyes. This isn't waterproof so I don't expect it to hold up against the waterworks. This doesn't smudge at all onto my bottom eye area!! Holy grail! Totally affordable too. The finish is matte and this hasn't flaked on me.
The only this I didn't like about it is the brush. It's bristles are too long and it's not tapered at all. No big deal though, I can still make sharp, crisp wings with the brush.
If your situation sounds like mine, smudging after a few hours, go for this! You only have to lose $3.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maiitaii on 6/8/2014 9:52:00 PM more reviews by maiitaii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Overall, this is a 4-star product, and I'll get to why later, but there are some things I absolutely LOVE this eyeliner for, and it's a staple in my makeup bag. Let's start off with the color, very nice, very black, really opaque for a liquid liner as cheap as this. I like the texture a lot too. Yes, it is very watery, but that's not a bad thing. It makes it really easy to do bold, thick lines. That's all this liner is really good for, bold lines, but it is GREAT for bold lines. The brush is wide, flat, and really flexible. Good luck getting a thin, natural looking line with this. It's not going to happen unless you have superhumanly steady hands. Even then, it's so watery that a thin, even line is just really not going to work out. That's why this only gets 4 stars, it's not an all purpose eyeliner by any means (to be fair, I haven't really found one). The shape of the brush is freaking awesome for bold, thick lines though. I've never made such smooth, bold shapes so quickly before. Since it's watery and easy to remove, it's also really easy fix it up without having to redo your whole eye if you make a mistake. It's pretty much the opposite of water-proof, if you cry or sweat it'll probably come right off, but that means it's also easy to remove. Otherwise it lasts just fine, no flaking, I haven't had an issue with my pretty oily lids either. I have bad allergies and just super sensitive eyes in general and this doesn't bother me at all, so that's another thing. I don't really wear contacts anymore, but this is the type of liner I could see being contact-compatible since it doesn't flake. I find that it dries fast too. All in all, this is a miracle for me for when I want a bolder look, but it's useless for a more natural look. I'd definitely repurchase it though! I love bold liner :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taylor123 on 6/4/2014 10:33:00 PM more reviews by taylor123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Not happy with this product at all. I like a lot of NYC products and I was on the hunt for a good drugstore liquid eyeliner. I came across this and it was only like 3 dollars at my CVS, for the price I thought it was worth a try. It ended up going in the garbage because CVS's return policy isn't the best and I wouldn't want to give it to a friend because it gave me a bad reaction in addition to just being a bad product.
PROS:
-the liner comes out very black.
-affordable price.
-easy to find.
-nice packaging. very slim and small.
CONS:
-the product itself is VERY runny and watery. takes FOREVER to dry.
-even when it was dried, it flaked off very easily and smudged and I was constantly cleaning it up and fixing it.
-the brush is a very thin and extremely flimsy. It's not a felt tip, it's a brush. It's very difficult to use and very hard to get a precise line without the brush going everywhere. Not steady or easy to use especially if you're used to angled brushes and felt tip liners. Not a fan.
-when I went to take it off at the end of the day I used the same makeup remover I've been using for 6+ years and I got some of the liner in my eyes from it smearing all over the place trying to get it off and my eyes got very red and itchy and the skin around my eyes also got very irritated. I know it was NOT the makeup remover because I've been using it for years and never had any issues. I don't know what ingredient caused the reaction but I've never had a liner do that to me before. So annoying!

All in all I definitely wont be repurchasing. I had a weird reaction and it's just not worth it even though it's super cheap. I will stick to my Maybelline gel eye liner and my Maybelline Line Stiletto, both are so much better in every way. I just think there are better products out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anndiee on 6/1/2014 9:13:00 AM more reviews by anndiee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Dang good liquid liner for the price! This gives a bold black line, and long wear time, but isn't a pain to remove (like WnW's H20 liquid). This doesn't flak or smudge, and the brush is just the right length to make a perfect line or a wing. I see no other reason to buy more expensive liquid liners, when I'm so pleased with the performance of this one. I wish NYC made this in other colors though. I will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Allyx on 5/30/2014 1:12:00 PM more reviews by Allyx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this eyeliner for years and love it. Affordable, long lasting, pigmented and easy to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blissta on 5/29/2014 2:27:00 AM more reviews by blissta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite liquid liner! Black applies a matte black--no navy or charcoal gray!--that lasts all day (no smudging on my contact lenses, either!), with a formula that stays true past six months. The small bristles take getting used to, as it applies with a LOT of product upon opening, but it's worth it. Dirt cheap, non-irritating for my sensitive, astigmatized eyes, and available at almost every drugstore, this is my favorite liquid liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 softchaos on 5/13/2014 12:45:00 AM more reviews by softchaos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

love everything about it except I wish the brush was a bit thinner for more precision and it does transfer to my browbone because of my oily eyelids and slightly hooded eyes. but for the price it's a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sunkissed365 on 5/3/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by Sunkissed365

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this eyeliner to cover my false lashes!! I've been using it for over a year and highly recommend for that kind of use! It's so inexpensive but lasts all day!! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Eyeliner products