Lancome Le Crayon Kohl

3.6

219 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

C10-18 TRIGLYCERIDES, BEHENYL ALCOHOL, TALC, ISOPROPYL MYRISTATE, STEARALKONIUM HECTORITE, SILICA, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, TOCOPHEROL, ASCORBYL PALMITATE, [+/- MAY CONTAIN / PEUT CONTENIR, CI 75470 / CARMINE, CI 77000 / ALUMINUM POWDER, CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES, CI 77163 / BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, CI 77510 / FERRIC FERROCYANIDE, CI 77742 / MANGANESE VIOLET, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, MICA.


on 1/18/2015 7:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am quite surprised at how positive the reviews seem to be for this eyeliner. It's not absolutely terrible, true, but it's nothing special either. I have bought eyeliners for a tiny fraction of the price that have worked exactly the same. It's not particularly soft to apply, and not particularly long-lasting either. The way it's packaged is nice, but I don't really care how a product looks if it doesn't work very well. If you're looking for a good eyeliner pencil I'd recommend going for something cheaper - a higher price doesn't always mean better quality. Disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/31/2014 8:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I own it in shade 13 silver and a travel size black one. I like the silver color which is festive and deep enough to define for me but not as harsh as a black liner. My main use for it is for the waterline and I think it does a very good job. It reminds me a lot of a hard writing HB pencil in that it's hard and cool upon application, and yet it delivers a precise amount of pigment without leaving too much excess product in such a delicate area, and you don't have to rub it or rub it over and over which is a big plus. I haven't experienced any noticeable smudging, It might get a little blurry by the end of the day but nothing that requires me to rush to the nearest bathroom and re-apply my eye make up. In fact, I rarely feel the need to touch it up since it lasts well enough. Overall, I find it to be a very reliable product, I don't have to look in the mirror every hour to check if it's still there, and it also doesn't run all over my cheeks by the end of the day. For me it's a winner.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It was my favorite eyeliner. It has good quality, and the eyeliner is so smooth on the skin. However, it smudges and disappear after 3-4 hours of application. I have found other eyeliner that is better, a Japanese brand called Kate

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2014 6:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a high quality traditional kohl that lasts surprisingly well, great for everyday use. The beauty of these is the quality vibrant pigmented color does not fade, plus the smooth texture that blends and smokes well. You need to use less product, so the result is more "close-to-your-skin" natural texture. More elegant less cakey flakey for older skins yet the same lasting color impact compared to standard or waterproof pencils.

Can tend to smudge in hot weather on my oily lids but I just set with powder and then I don't find it a problem. If I want waterproof I use creams and gels not pencils as I've never found ANY pencil liner (including waterproof, and I've tried hundreds over the years) that doesn't smudge on me somewhat.

I love the extra length you get with these, it makes them last twice as long as other brands so they are much more economical than you think and you don't have to shop as often.

The regular shades are all are so flattering especially when you don't suit the standard black they have a great range. I also love how they regularly put out more crazy limited edition shades now and then. I've picked up a few and have surprised myself how many times how many times I've worn them with more wearable shades to accents and lift a basic look. They work surprisingly well with the more wearable shades in each collection.

I'm actually glad these are an option I prefer over waterproof pencils because they have actually have problems we don't always think about:
1. Waterproofing ingredients are effective but act as "fillers" making the color pigments more sheer. This causes you to have to cake on extra layers of color to get the same color which doesn't look as classy and you go through product super fast
2. Waterproofing ingredients irritate sensitive eyes (they are what is used in hairspray) and over time, promote permanent irritation and aging red veins in even normal eyes (this is something no-one really thinks about)
3. Waterproof pencils are so smushy soft you can't sharpen to a precise point so you can't get an elegant thin line
4. Waterproof pencils are annoyingly hard to sharpen, you get alot of wastage and you go through pencils fast
5. Waterproof pencils dry out fast and are useless after a couple of years as the materials evaporate and the lead shrinks and breaks up. In contrast, I can still use my oldest Lancome kohl pencils which are nearly 8 years old (I always sharpen first for remove a clean layer for hygiene of course).

Of course waterproof pencils are quick and easy, I'm not knocking them they are just expensive and have a few other hidden pitfalls that its good to know about when choosing your makeup.


on 7/15/2014 1:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This was alright. I wasn't very impressed for the price. I bought Black Ebony and it doesn't fit the description, it's a deep grey. It felt harder without being a rock, but it was difficult to get a deeper color without going over the same area at least 3 times. It stays put pretty well for a non-waterproof kind of liner, especially on my undereye. It doesn't work well for tightlining.


on 6/22/2014 7:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this eyeliner! Applying it is incredibly easy, and I can make a perfect, dark line (people often ask me how I apply my "liquid eyeliner" so well). I don't mind the bit of smudging that occurs throughout the day, but I would not recommend this liner for someone who leads an active lifestyle/needs to look professional all day. Definitely expensive, but I can make my pencil last 6 months so I think the price tag is worth it.


on 5/2/2014 7:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been trying FOREVER to find an eye pencil that would actually stay on my super-oily eye area, and this one actually works for me, including on the waterline and inner eyelid. I was misled into trying only "waterproof" pencils, but even Lancome's own waterproof one failed on me (along with Tarte, all drugstore brands, and a few others I can't even remember). For some reason, the kohl here matters more than the fact that it isn't technically waterproof. Even if my eyes water in the wind, there's barely any liner lost, and (important!) if it does fade, it doesn't transfer to my brow or fall on my upper cheek--it just disappears. No primer is required, though I'd never found an eye primer that did anything for me anyway.

This is more comfortable going on than the Make-Up Forever Aqua Eyes, which is the only other pencil I think is comparable for staying power. Also, while it is more expensive than most pencils, you also get about 20% more product since the pencil is extra long. It's very concentrated and doesn't require sharpening often, adding to how long each pencil will last.

I have both Black Coffee and Black Ebony. No complaints about either color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2014 12:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

terrible and very disappointing, especially considering Lancôme is not exactly budget-friendly. this eyeliner creases and moves like there's no tomorrow - though i have oily eyelids, using primer makes my eye makeup stay for a whole day without creasing or any problem. that is, as long as i don't use this eyeliner, because then four hours later i'm a panda bear. would never purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2013 7:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Got this as a sample from my Lancome guy. I have been using the shade "Black Coffee", for my brows. This is actually a really great color if you have black eyebrows, however it needs to be blended which is pretty annoying. I will not be buying this when my sample runs out, too expensive for the quality.


on 12/22/2013 5:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Worst eyeliner I have ever used. I use eyeliner on an almost daily basis as I have small eyes. This one is not only difficult to apply - it tugs, applies patchy, and scratches the skin and chunks of eyeliner crumble off as you apply it - but it also really irritates my eyes. It ends up on my eyeballs and feels "oily" and causes some annoying temporary visual disturbance. I used it to line near inner rim once and my eyes were red for 3 days. On the upper lid it looks greasy and smudges in less than 5 minutes. I had to apply this repeatedly, and press harder than normal to get it to actually look black enough and even then it looks gross, flaky and cheap. For this price, it is absolutely awful and I don't ever want to go near it again.

Terrible, terrible product. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Another reason I avoid Lancome.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top