Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream

3.6

439 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Petrolatum 56.8%, Lanolin, Mineral Oil, Fragrance, Salicylic Acid, Propylparaben, Castor Oil, Corn Oil, Tocopherol, BHT, Iron Oxides


on 1/19/2015 6:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I know everybody has owned this. Im not so sure they still using it though...
Rumour has it that this contains cortisone, not sure if its.
Anyway, if you can pass the horrible smell, i would still not recommend this even if the hole worldsvwas rubbing this on everywhere, mainly the lips. It yellows any surface you use it on, it doesnt really do anything else, it tastes plastic and did i mention it yellows you?
Be gone, awful pointless cream, you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/15/2015 10:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

I like this product but I wouldn't really say it's a HG product. It helped clear up patches of dry skin in winter and soothed my stress-induced eczema, however I feel that Lucas' Paw Paw is superior, and at 1/2 the price will remain my handbag staple for chapped lips and random dry patches.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2015 3:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Despite the hateful smell (I now know this also comes scent free) I love this product. Chapped lips? 8 hour cream. Cracked hands? Hour cream. Brutal stiletto blisters? 8 hour cream! I have a tube permenantly my desk, and I use it several times throughout the day. Also unusually, I used this on my ears after deciding to shrink my ear stretches down to a sensible size ten for my wedding, and it helped them along swimmingly whilst keeping the skin soft and supple and pucker-free. It's a miracle for hangnails too. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2015 7:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure whether I really like this enough to repurchase but it is super helpful for dry skin. I have used this product all over my face & didn't see any consequences from doing that, just a more hydrated appearance. The texture was a bit hard to work with while smearing it on my face but it does work better when the temperature is warm.

Smells like rosemary or something along that line, I have used a product that shared similar scents so I am already used to it but every time I use the 8 hour cream, it just makes me wished I remembered what the product I'm comparing it to was called.

Great for patchy, dry or flaky skin.


on 12/26/2014 5:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wouldn't call this a face treatment at all (so I am not sure why it is in this category) unless you use it for a very dry patch on your face - for instance, after a cold and you have a raw nose or for chapped lips. I also wouldn't call it a cream but more of an ointment. That said it is a really nice moisturizer for cuticles, lips, and elbows. I haven't tried it on my feet but it would be great with socks on over night.

A lot of people are polarized about the scent. I haven't read all the reviews here so this might be something others have said but to me it smells like oregano. I know that sounds weird but that is what I think of when I smell it. It isn't the best scent but not the worst either. A tube lasts a long time because it is concentrated. I read on the Paula's Choice website that Vaseline would do pretty much the same thing as this cream but I disagree. This seems less greasy and has more body than Vaseline. I will continue to buy this because the cost over time makes it worth it to me.

EDIT: I have continued to use this and am really liking it for my hands in the winter. I put a pea-sized amount on my hands and rub it in on my way out the door and then put on my cheap gloves for my morning commute. I work with my hands and they get cracked and bleed and this cream is helping them to stay smoother and softer. Oddly, I am even starting to really enjoy the scent. I upped my rating from 4 to 5 lippies.


on 11/15/2014 9:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this cream however at the price I can say If I can't afford it I won't break myself to buy it as other lip balms are pretty good ../ Carmex for one . However as long as the budget allows I would always opt to have one of these in my handbag as its great for lips , dry skin around the nose and cuticles . I also use it on spots as well. I love the smell of it and was most dissapointed once when I picked up the fragrance free version by accident . It's a treat to own one more than a must have but I do rate it !


on 10/13/2014 7:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought the fragrance free version. I liked this product for a short while whilst using it. I originally purchased this as lip balm as I have heard my friends preaching about it and wanted an amount that would last me a long time.

I have really dry lips all the time and wanted a great lip conditioner I could apply prior to applying my lipstick. I find I need to reapply this product as it doesn't deliver the hydration long enough, even after i exfoliate my lips.

I also have used it on a dry patch of skin near my nose and found again that although it delivered hydration this was only temporary.

This may work well for others but not so much for me. I have stopped using it after using it for a few months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2014 4:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I know there's a load of newer, cooler multi-purpose products than this, and the smell isn't very appealing for some....but Eight Hour Cream, the 60 year old veteran, beats them all hands down.
If you want to travel light, this product will do the job of a night cream, eye cream, hand cream, cuticle cream, lip balm, emergency skin soother (for rashes, scrapes and extreme dry skin patches), eyelash conditioner, and probably a whole lot of other things besides. I think there are entire web pages dedicated to the various uses of Eight Hour Cream.
Texture wise, it looks like a gold coloured Vaseline but has a more refined feel. A little goes a long way, and although it appears very greasy it absorbs easily and is deeply moisturising.
It's famous as a lip gloss on photographic shoots and it's easy to see why - as well as being super glossy and soothing, it manages to deepen your natural lip colour by a shade or two and is very flattering as well as more moisturising and healing than most lip balms on the market. It will also soften the driest of skin, cuticles and heels, and as a night cream (particularly in cold weather) will guarantee soft bright skin in the morning without making your skin feel greasy or making your pores huge.
I have been using this product for more years than I can remember and would hate to be without it. I just love it - and even like the smell! - but a fragrance-free version has been on the market for a couple of years now.
I haven't found the fragrance irritating at all - in fact, a few years ago this was one o very few products I could tolerate on my skin during some severe seasonal allergies.
If you're half thinking of trying it out - go ahead, you won't be disappointed!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/25/2014 4:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm apparently the weird person who loves the smell of this product. It smells comforting to me, like something I would find on my grandmother's nightstand. However, I can totally see why this is an issue for some people.

"Cream" is a bit of a misnomer. It's more of an ointment. I definitely would not put this over my whole face. It's best used as a spot treatment over small areas - on cuticles, wherever you have dry patches, as a lip balm, etc. It was AMAZING when I had a cold and kept my nose from going completely raw. I've recently been employing it for use on the terrible flaky mess that is my feet. I think that the lanolin in this really sets it apart from other ointments, such as Aquaphor. It feels similar in your hand, but the ingredient lists are quite different.

I started using this more recently when I went on some heavy-duty topic acne meds that caused my skin to turn into a cracked, dry desert. This was SO soothing and helped where nothing else would. That alone makes it worth the buy for me.

I like the tube packaging - it feels nice and well-made, and while the product is expensive, you do get quite a lot for your money. One tube lasts me 4-6 months, depending on how much I use it. It's a classic for a reason - would definitely recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2014 3:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This cream is more of a balm like formula than your typical lotion-type cream. I first bought it last year thinking I'd use it as a night cream and then realised it is super sticky. I now use it sparingly as an eye cream and also as a lip balm and I love it. I put it on my boyfriend's dry skin patches and it calms them down.

Pros:
- Very hydrating. This product is one of a handful of products out there that do exactly what they say on the packaging.
- Price. This is relatively cheap for a high-end product that actually works.
- Packaging. I have the tube format and it's nice and hygenic. Not messy at all.

Cons:
- The smell may put you off
- Sticky consistency

I will keep buying this. HG eye/lip balm.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
522 Reviews
Lemon Juice
394 Reviews
Back to Top