Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 30

3.8

608 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Silica, Dimethicone, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Beeswax, Benzyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG 100 Stearate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Caprylyl Methicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Dimethicone/PEG 10/15 Crosspolymer, Sodium Polyacrylate, Behenyl Alcohol, Xanthan Gum, Ethylhexyl Stearate, Acrylates/C12 22 Alkyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Chlophenesin, Fragrance, Dethylhexyl 2, 6 Naphthalate, BHT, Trideceth 6, Propylene Glycol 7/10/2013


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite sunscreen/daytime moisturizer, and I have tried a ton! Most SPF lotions break me out and cause me to be a greasy mess! I have a very oily forehead and nose so I despise greasy products. This absorbs completely, leaving only the slightest glow behind, and does not make me oilier throughout the day. In fact, it makes a great base for makeup, and I feel like my foundations lasts longer over this. The price is fair and the sunscreen actives provide solid UVA and UVB protection. I haven't tried the higher SPF version, because I feel SPF30 is plenty for day to day wear. Will def. keep buying!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/28/2015 3:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is not a review it's about the active ingredients used and rating. This is a horrible sunscreen it contain chemical base sunscreen which absorb the sun's rays causing a chemical reaction in long run can cause damage. I don't recommend any chemical base sunscreens. Physical base are the only ones that work in the long run even if you don't have any skin irritation from chemical base sunscreens. Physical base sunscreens create a barrier on the surface of the skin to reflect the sun's rays from absorbing and causing damage. The only reasons most like chemical sunscreens is because it doesn't have a white cast or pasty thick texture unlike physical sunscreen or; they just don't know the difference between the chemical and physical base sunscreens. Most people just look at the rating and think the higher the better. SPF rating has nothing to do with the effectiveness it's the ingredients. The SPF rating is how long it takes before you have to reapply if you are not exposed to water/swimming. For example SPF30 mean about 3 hour depending on how your skin reacts to the sun. To determine how long just multiply the rating by 10. SPF 100% does not mean it can protect 100% no sunscreen can protect 100%. SPF30, 45, 50 is efficient for daily use depending on how fair or dark your skin color is SPF 15 is not enough unless you don't live in a sunny hot climate.


on 10/25/2014 1:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Unfortunately my skin is just too sensitive for this product, it really was an unpleasant burning sensation when I applied it and left my skin with a red irritation for some time. The good news is that it does have a dry finish (doesn't feel the same after being in water though) and is very effective at blocking out the sun. I would recommend this product for those who have oily and non-sensitive skin types but won't be buying it again myself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2014 4:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

this seems to be one of the few sunscreens out there that provides broad spectrum (uva/uvb) protection AND is formulated with oily skin in mind (though in my opinion, they missed the mark on the latter).

i stopped using this a couple years ago because it stung my eyes-- just the close proximity made them burn and feel irritated, never mind if i accidentally got the product in my eyes by rubbing them.

despite the dry feel, it looked very shiny on my skin, clogged my pores and broke me out a little.

since i've used sunscreen that contains homosalate without issue, i think i can rule that out as the culprit. it could be one of any of the other 4 active ingredients or for that matter the amount of fragrance they put in this that made this formulation problematic for me. i'm not sure why this company, who touts itself as "The #1 Dermatologist-Recommended Brand" adds fragrance to so many of thier products.

i might try this again in the future in the off chance they've changed the amount of irritants.

Active Ingredients as of review:
Avobenzone (3%)
Homosalate (8%)
Octisalate (5%)
Octocrylene (4%)
Oxybenzone (4%)


on 7/13/2014 7:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Itís quite hard to get this product in the UK but itís been so worth it for me. Due to being very fair skinned and using both Duac and Differin acne treatments Iím really supposed to wear sunblock all the time during the day. This is particularly important to me since, although Iíve always been pretty careful with the sun and have never been burnt, in my early 20s I already have fine lines on my forehead, under my eyes and around my mouth. Up until now Iíd never found a sunblock that I could apply makeup over without it looking cakey and horrible, so with quite a lot of problem areas to cover this was a daunting prospect. Most others Iíve tried also tend to give me spots, even the face-specific ones.

Apart from taking a bit more time to rub in, and leaving a slight residue (which is invisible but can be felt if you touch your skin) this feels just like an ordinary moisturiser. It doesnít leave a white cast on my skin, though Iím so pale anyway I donít tend to have as much of a problem with that as others do. My skin is incredibly oily anyway so it doesnít keep me matte, but itís no worse than if I use an ordinary oil-free moisturiser, if anything Iíd say its slightly better. I do find I need to use a primer over the top to get the best results from my makeup, but I do that normally anyway.

I use this every day now and have been for several months. My skin is as clear as itís been in years (though I donít specifically attribute this to the sunscreen). Biggest drawback is that it does sometimes sting my skin when I first apply it (many sunscreens have this effect on me), though it doesnít seem to cause any lasting redness or irritation and sometimes itís completely fine. Another problem I have with it is that the packaging is very wasteful, I have to cut it open to get the last of the cream out (which is usually several applications worth).


on 2/20/2014 10:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product irritated my face tremendously. It felt it was on fire and turned red and inflamed. Too bad because it is readily available and does not leave a white cast. In the trash it went.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2014 10:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Burns my face like crazy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2014 5:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This initially was great it went on smooth and it didn't make me look oily through out the day. Plus there was zero white cast! Unfortunately I wore this for a week and it made my face super irritated and caused me to break out. I'll continue to use it on my hands and body until it's used up. Such a disappointment.


on 1/23/2014 12:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Right now this is my favorite daily sunblock and I'll keep buying it until I find a better sunblock for the price.

Use Notes: I apply after cleansing in the morning with a heavier hand than I would my moisturizer on face and neck. I wait a few minutes to let it "set" then apply moisturizer, then foundation, etc.

Pros:

* On the less expensive end of the price range I'm willing to pay for this type of product. I just found it for $4.59 plus shipping on Amazon and I think it's in the $7 range at Target, etc.
* Light weight finish. No unreasonable residual oiliness. Slightly tacky finish, but less than you would expect from most sunblocks. Finish is normal after applying the moisturizer and foundation.
* No breakouts, white heads, etc. I have pretty normal skin.
* Not drying on my skin.
* No redness other than normal. I have warm-toned skin with surface redness.

Cons:

* If I'm being really nit-picky, I would say I did experience a slight white cast. I use Urban Decay Naked liquid makeup in 4.0 applied with the RT Expert Face Brush and that covers it. If I weren't wearing makeup I would still use the sunblock and the white cast would not be obvious enough to bother me.

I can't see myself switching to another sunblock unless something changes with this product or I started lemming another hyped-up sunblock.

Foot note: I have tried beauty balms and foundations with spf but I don't feel that I apply them heavily enough to get any real sunblock coverage out of them. I do use Urban Decay Naked Beauty Balm when I'm in a hurry and skip the sunblock and moisturizer. I have not used sunblock most of my life but I hit 43 this year and have noticed age spots so I'm using sunblock to help prevent more spots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2014 12:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used until I had a number of pimples that I normally never have. It was so bad that this was the only thing it could be. My neck had huge painful pimples, that I urge you if you break out even rarely, to stay clear of this! Sometimes I get one a month, but have quite a few now after using this. This was the only new addition to my skincare routine. I had been using Paulaschoice but she discontinued her 30 spf, I need to search again. I will use it on my hands, but will never buy again. Besides, I heard this company tests on animals.


Back to Top