Clearasil • Vanishing Cream • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.6(153 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 TheMickster on 8/21/2014 11:28:00 PM more reviews by TheMickster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up as a last resort for my acne, which must be hormonal because I recently had my IUD removed. I was getting small pimples all around my chin and mouth, with large cystic pimples that would not go away no matter what I did. One literally remained on my forehead for over 3 weeks. I was fed up and having never tried benzol peroxide, opted for this. It was cheap $5.95 at Walmart.
I tried a thin layer as a spot treatment with no results. The following week I tried it in a thick layer as a spot treatment. I started to see improvement the next morning. My big cystic pimples had subsided and the smaller ones were drying up.
I have continued to use it and it does work for cystic pimples. Its a no go on the tiny closed comedones, causing me to believe they may be something else than acne...possibly a fungal infection?
It has a few downfalls. Its very drying and leaves dry patches on the skin with continued use to the same area. It causes dark spots where the pimples use to be which are not easy to get rid of.
It cannot be used under make up because it will be white and patchy in a few hours.

All in all for the price its a good value. There is a lot of product for the price and the packaging is good and simple.

I pair it with a 2% plain Greek yogurt masque once weekly (hello lactic acid!) Which helps get rid of thebdry spots and dark marks on my face. I also use a baking powder scrub once a week to help remove dead skin cells and aid in clearing my blemishes.
I think you have to have a good skin care regiment to use this product..otherwise it could wreak havoc on your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilovethe80s87 on 7/14/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by ilovethe80s87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have the 10% BP formula. Used to use this a lot as a preteen before I started going to the dermatologist. It serves as a good spot treatment in an emergency/desperate situation (as in I don't have any more prescription treatment left). However, this contains "Isopropyl Myristate" which is HIGHLY COMEDOGENIC. I understand it's a moisturizing agent for such a drying acne treatment (10% BP); but I'd rather not slather this all over my face if it's just gonna cause more pimples (which on me, anything that's even mildly comedogenic will most likely break me out). As I said, I only use this as a spot treatment when I have no other option. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone with very acne-prone skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beecky on 6/18/2014 11:59:00 PM more reviews by beecky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the ONLY acne treatments that actually works, and believe me I've tried them all, including three courses of accutane. So yeah, I've tried a lot, lol. I've found that anything with 5% or higher benzoyl peroxide works best, no matter what kind of acne you have it clears it up super fast. The acne I do get now is not much, but it's the very painful, very deep, under-the-skin cystic ones. They can stick around for weeks, but this stuff clears then up within a few days ! I'm sure this stuff will stomp and regular acne overnight or within a couple days, and zaps deeper ones in a few days easily, as long as you DO NOT PICK. Picking just pushes everything deeper into the skin, and trust me I know, I've picked for years and years. It was a really bad anxiety thing. Anyways, this and the Spectro Deep Pore Vanishing Lotion ( I think that's what it's called...) are the best 2 acne treatments. Slather this on acne, but ONLY on acne spots or it'll dry out your skin very badly. I recommend using this overnight as benzoyl peroxide does not typically work very well under makeup and tends to ball up and create a bumpy texture. It's cheap, too ! Like 7 bucks. Give it a try, it works wonders !!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellyjr on 4/19/2014 5:40:00 PM more reviews by kellyjr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use it everyday mixed with moisturizer (a dab of each in my hands gets rubbed together, then covers my face & neck). It keeps my skin clear until I get those once-a-month hormonal breakouts & then I use it as a spot treatment at night. It doesn't keep me totally clear during that time, but it helps keep things from getting out of control. It works better than salicylic acid treatments on my skin & I actually get compliments on my great skin! After having terrible skin as a teen, I will keep using this because it obviously works!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lr1336 on 1/29/2014 3:03:00 AM more reviews by Lr1336

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS moisturize before putting this on and don't use it during the day. BP makes your skin more vulnerable to the sun so also wear sunscreen. The people who do not do this experience flaky skin for a week or 2 but then adapt to the BP. I didn't wear sunscreen for the first week and I got sunburnt but that was my own fault. It has been around a month since my first use and I've only had one pimple pop up so far and even that was gone within a day after putting this cream on it. My acne scars are much less noticable and my skin has never looked better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cfeldman7 on 1/11/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by cfeldman7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I originally bought this a few years ago and it cured my acne! I would have an occasional cystic acne appear, but usually just your usual case of hormonal acne. Salicylic acid has always helped my acne but never cleared it completely. It's effects were never strong enough or good enough for me to be satisfied with my complexion until I found this. I apply it at night right before bed after washing my face, then using witch hazel (which is amazing). It worked so well that I thought my acne was cured and thought I didn't need to use it anymore, but sadly my acne came back after a week (in order for BP to work you must keep using it) and now I've started using it and it's gone once again. It does make your skin appear a little paler, but who cares when you're going to bed. It took a few days for the initial itchiness to go away from using it and my skin to get used to it, and just 3 days for my acne to go away completely :) you're skin will be a little dry when first using it too but once your skin adjusts it balances again. Also you only need to apply a thin layer! seriously don't know what I'd do without this!! BUY IT! Will cure cystic & regular acne breakouts!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Casden on 9/19/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by Casden

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At first, this acne cream worked wonders for me.

After applying it at night, my face would be acne-free in the morning. However, it would be a bit dry.

Nothing horrible happened to my face after using it for 2-3 months. It simply made my face free of acne.

But after a while of using Clearasil Vanishing Cream, my face would grow red, itchy, and a bit bumpy/puffy around the forehead, cheeks, and nose area!I also noticed that this product left my skin really, really dry.

I believe that this product has ruined my skin. It was great when I first began to use it, but after a while, it started to damage my skin by making it excessively red and itchy. Made my face look like it broke out in a rash.

I would not use this product again, and I'm throwing the remaining contents in the trash. Definitely not for me.

But as a tip, ALWAYS put on moisturizer after using this. I didn't do that, and this is the result.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizardm on 8/19/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by lizardm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This works like a charm!!!! it shrinks my pimples crazy fast and clears my face up so well. Before this product, my face was so red and bumpy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lolliepoppies on 5/4/2013 7:07:00 AM more reviews by lolliepoppies

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This just helped me with tiny bumps

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tubbyloves on 11/4/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by tubbyloves

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This was one of my first acne treatment creams I have ever tried and at that time, it was soo effective and dried out my pimples overnight.(tinted version)
However as I grew older, my acne became more complex and worse. I bought this as again in 6 years and it was super cheap.
It is a thicker cream for BP 5% that I have come across and it is pretty effective.
I hate how it can rub off in flakes and leave a white ring on my skin if it is not blended out properly or if I have applied too much,
It is not 'vanishing' as the other ones I have tried. It is a little cheaper than my other ones so I will most likely repurchase but for my skin, it is not as effective anymore because of my terrible skin. I like it and it works okay and it barely has a chemical scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clearasil products

More Treatments (Face) products