Clearasil • Vanishing Cream • Treatments

rated 3.6(150 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 kellyjr on 4/19/2014 5:40:00 PM more reviews by kellyjr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use it everyday mixed with moisturizer (a dab of each in my hands gets rubbed together, then covers my face & neck). It keeps my skin clear until I get those once-a-month hormonal breakouts & then I use it as a spot treatment at night. It doesn't keep me totally clear during that time, but it helps keep things from getting out of control. It works better than salicylic acid treatments on my skin & I actually get compliments on my great skin! After having terrible skin as a teen, I will keep using this because it obviously works!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lr1336 on 1/29/2014 3:03:00 AM more reviews by Lr1336

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS moisturize before putting this on and don't use it during the day. BP makes your skin more vulnerable to the sun so also wear sunscreen. The people who do not do this experience flaky skin for a week or 2 but then adapt to the BP. I didn't wear sunscreen for the first week and I got sunburnt but that was my own fault. It has been around a month since my first use and I've only had one pimple pop up so far and even that was gone within a day after putting this cream on it. My acne scars are much less noticable and my skin has never looked better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cfeldman7 on 1/11/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by cfeldman7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I originally bought this a few years ago and it cured my acne! I would have an occasional cystic acne appear, but usually just your usual case of hormonal acne. Salicylic acid has always helped my acne but never cleared it completely. It's effects were never strong enough or good enough for me to be satisfied with my complexion until I found this. I apply it at night right before bed after washing my face, then using witch hazel (which is amazing). It worked so well that I thought my acne was cured and thought I didn't need to use it anymore, but sadly my acne came back after a week (in order for BP to work you must keep using it) and now I've started using it and it's gone once again. It does make your skin appear a little paler, but who cares when you're going to bed. It took a few days for the initial itchiness to go away from using it and my skin to get used to it, and just 3 days for my acne to go away completely :) you're skin will be a little dry when first using it too but once your skin adjusts it balances again. Also you only need to apply a thin layer! seriously don't know what I'd do without this!! BUY IT! Will cure cystic & regular acne breakouts!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Casden on 9/19/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by Casden

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At first, this acne cream worked wonders for me.

After applying it at night, my face would be acne-free in the morning. However, it would be a bit dry.

Nothing horrible happened to my face after using it for 2-3 months. It simply made my face free of acne.

But after a while of using Clearasil Vanishing Cream, my face would grow red, itchy, and a bit bumpy/puffy around the forehead, cheeks, and nose area!I also noticed that this product left my skin really, really dry.

I believe that this product has ruined my skin. It was great when I first began to use it, but after a while, it started to damage my skin by making it excessively red and itchy. Made my face look like it broke out in a rash.

I would not use this product again, and I'm throwing the remaining contents in the trash. Definitely not for me.

But as a tip, ALWAYS put on moisturizer after using this. I didn't do that, and this is the result.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizardm on 8/19/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by lizardm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This works like a charm!!!! it shrinks my pimples crazy fast and clears my face up so well. Before this product, my face was so red and bumpy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lolliepoppies on 5/4/2013 7:07:00 AM more reviews by lolliepoppies

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This just helped me with tiny bumps

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tubbyloves on 11/4/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by tubbyloves

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This was one of my first acne treatment creams I have ever tried and at that time, it was soo effective and dried out my pimples overnight.(tinted version)
However as I grew older, my acne became more complex and worse. I bought this as again in 6 years and it was super cheap.
It is a thicker cream for BP 5% that I have come across and it is pretty effective.
I hate how it can rub off in flakes and leave a white ring on my skin if it is not blended out properly or if I have applied too much,
It is not 'vanishing' as the other ones I have tried. It is a little cheaper than my other ones so I will most likely repurchase but for my skin, it is not as effective anymore because of my terrible skin. I like it and it works okay and it barely has a chemical scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lalaiamcool on 10/15/2012 7:09:00 PM more reviews by lalaiamcool

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I should have been wary of the 10% BP in this product...I'm an avid user of Neutrogena's Spot Treatment with 2.5% in it. I recently ran out of that one, which is my favorite, but I decided to venture out and get this Clearasil one. I have acne prone oily skin, and I've never considered to be sensitive, but this product irritated my skin quite a bit! It left red patches on the area of the pimple---I'm not sure if it even healed the pimple. I stopped using it immediately, realizing the effects of just how strong 10% BP really is. I'm going back to my Neutrogena one, and should have never EVER strayed. And so guys, BEWARE! It may have worked well for some of the reviewers here, but sadly for me it made my acne flareups even worse. The dry, reddish, and sometimes itchy patches that resulted from where I put this product managed to go away in about a week, with the help of an intensive moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashebrook on 8/12/2012 6:00:00 PM more reviews by ashebrook

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

To get the real benefit out of any product, you have to know how to use it. BP works best to prevent breakouts. If you use it consistently, you will be amazed at the improvement to your skin. The trick is to find what schedule works for you. I have been using clearasil for 30 years and this is how it works for me. Twice a day, I wash my face, apply toner, and then apply clearasil to the areas where I WOULD breakout. In other words, because of clearasil I DO NOT breakout. I pretty much always have clearasil on. About every five years, I decide I have finally reached an age where I do not need zit cream and stop using clearasil for a few days. Guess what, I am always wrong and end up going right back to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foamytea123 on 1/8/2012 2:03:00 AM more reviews by foamytea123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I admit I'm perfectly aware of the nefarious effects Benzoyl Peroxide has on the skin but decided to keep using it anyway because nothing else beats the crap out of those giant mofos that keep trying to appear during my ToM...well RetinA can probably give BP a run for its money being a pretty good zit & scar vanquisher in its own right without the negative aging effects of BP....but it's also quite a bit more expensive and usually requires a prescription.

I've tried a few acne spot treatments in the past::

DHC Acne Spot Therapy, Erzulie Oxygen Blemish Treatment, and Clean & Clear Persa-Gel. And in terms of LONG TERM effectiveness, Clearasil beats all these clear out of the water. The DHC & Erzulie only worked initially and decided to stop working after a couple of months. The Persal Gel- loved by some- and also as a user of BP doesn't quite work as well for me as Clearasil possibly because it's a gel and rubs right off my skin.

Like all acne spot treatment, this stuff works best when you start to feel that little mofo coming up. You only need a little bit of this to stuff cover the incipient zit and you need to apply it multiple times through out the day. Make sure not to apply too much and only apply it on the necessary area otherwise you are going to get disgusting dry and flakey skin.

For zits that are already doing a celebratory dance on your face, this stuff can help shrink them to an extent...but don't expect any miracles and in the end you're probably gonna have to squeeze the damn thing until it's bled dry.

For about 5-6 bucks at Target, the Vanishing Cream is a bargain and most importantly it works...if you don't mind BP.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clearasil products

More Treatments products