Clarins • Face Treatment Oil - Lotus • Treatments

rated 4.2(233 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Cheungc on 3/28/2014 3:07:00 PM more reviews by Cheungc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

My skin finally felt at ease again when I returned to using facial oils after a couple of months on a serum. I've already been a facial oil convert from the Anne Semonin Balancing Intensive Complex and was looking for an alternative when it started becoming constantly out of stock.

I've always had a shiny t-zone (which was also horrifically acne-prone until a bout of Dianette sorted the spots out for good) and red patches and, after years of going from one face cream to another, it was finally using a facial oil which evened out my skin tone.

I was initially sceptical about the Clarins Lotus Facial Treatment Oil: the price point is too good to be true, especially compared to the cost of other facial treatment products, so I saw it as a " cheapie" temporary alternative to the Anne Semonin until I found something else. However, I was surprised that even on my first night of use, I felt the improvement to my skin immediately.

The oil smells more strongly of geranium than I'd like, but I've gotten used to it. The consistency is also quite a lot thinner than the Anne Semonin, but it means 4 drops per application is plenty (my bottle looks barely used after 2 months).

The reason I dropped a few lippies on the packaging is because the dropper stops a few millimeters above the bottom of the bottle, which means I'll have a mission eeking out the last drops when I eventually get through the product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aisabelle on 3/23/2014 1:16:00 PM more reviews by aisabelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I was recommended this product in order to relieve some very dehydrated, peeling skin last summer on my face. I was convinced it would help as it was supposed to balance my skin by preventing it from getting oily whilst providing soothing benefits to my drier areas. I also have very light acne that comes and goes so I thought this was exactly what the doctor ordered. After cleansing, I applied a drop or so of this oil to my affected areas, followed by a thin layer of moisturizer. Lo and behold, I ended up breaking out in large, painful cystic acne exactly where I had applied this. It took months and several trips to the dermatologist to alleviate. The astringent properties of this oil proved to be far too harsh for my sensitive, easily irritated skin and as a result, caused me to feel hideous!

Might I also add that the smell is putrid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beecky on 3/9/2014 12:39:00 AM more reviews by beecky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know what I waited so long to buy this ... this stuff is seriously amazing ! I have very dry, dehydrated skin, that is extremely sensitive to breakouts. I breakout occasionally, usually only when I get lazy and stop taking very good care of my skin. But this stuff has made a huge difference in my skin. It wasn't an overnight thing, which is why I waited to write a review, but I can honestly say it is now an HG product for me. After cleansing and toning, when skin is still damp, I rub a few drops of this between my fingers and press it into my skin. I focus on my forehead, sides of my nose, and my chin. I then moisturize as usual after that has soaked in for about a minute. Also I use this nightly, and about every other day in the morning, using less. But always every night, and I find when I skip a night my skin usually is more congested. This definitely purifies the pores, making them just look clearer and appear smaller, while preventing and treating breakouts without being harsh. It's gentle, yet extremely effective and quite moisturizing. Oily skins could probably get away with using this as their only moisturizer. This does everything for my skin ! Totally worth the price and will 100% repurchase. HG !

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* soleil_kitty on 2/11/2014 3:18:00 AM more reviews by soleil_kitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

There are three different 'rebalancing' oils and for my highly sensitive combination skin I picked the Lotus oil which is meant to purify the skin, refine pores & reduce oil production. I must admit I was wary. Oil on already oily skin? But I took a leap of faith & spent the 36,99 Euros for 30 ml of product. It has to be applied on clean but moist skin, so I use a little bit of thermal water spray before warming four drops of oil in my hands and then dabbing it on. This is how it's supposed to be applied. You actually get a manual with the bottle, so there. The Lotus oil contains essential oils which may cause allergies so, like I said, I was wary but just desperate enough to still try it. Also, I'm only using it in the evening because I need a day cream with SPF.

Now this oil didn't work for me over night, like it did for many others. There's a German website with 77 reviews and a total of 4,6 stars out of 5 they're raving about it and how it's redefining the skin basically over night. That didn't happen for me but after four weeks now I can clearly say it works. Yes, my enlarged pores have become smaller than I ever imagined they could be. My skin doesn't get all shiny by noon anymore, like it used to be. It's also not as angrily red anymore infact, it's not red at all. But (you knew there would be "but"s): it took my skin a while to come around. At first this oil broke me out & I am still having hormonal break outs every now and then that even this oil can't help with. But sticking to my routine was worth it, afterall. I must say this was money well spent, considering the fact that I only need four drops per day, the bottle will probably last me a year or so. A hormonal break out is a hormonal break out no skin care ever helped against that and Clarins never said this oil would so I'm not blaming this on them. Since it delivers everything it says, I'm giving this oil five lippies. And in case you're planning to get yourself a bottle and it also doesn't work over night: don't give up after a week or two. Stick with it. Apparently the skin needs just this time to readapt. I'm sold & I'll buy again.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Naoto on 2/6/2014 12:57:00 AM more reviews by Naoto

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I've tried many oils, and so far this is the only oil that definitely HYDRATES and keep my skin balanced! I really feel as if it soaks in well. I use 3 drops am and pm and really press and melt it into my skin with my hands. Smells luxurious.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asha890 on 1/24/2014 1:10:00 PM more reviews by asha890

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

i am so in love with this oil! never thought my combination-oily skin can tolerate treatment oils so very well. works wonders for my acne.. i have 2 big acne on my forehead previously and after 2 days mixing this oil with my toner, my acne bcomes less reddish and smaller in size..no kiddin.. its amazing how this oil can treat my acne so fast and there's no black marks whats so ever left..this oil does sting a bit after application which means that it works ..

perfect combo with my thayers toner and anr serum <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Breighp on 1/22/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by Breighp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I have have this product for almost a year and my bottle had lasted such a long time. I have it for my combo acne prone skin and it seems to rebalance everything so well when used correctly. Less is more with this product and iv recently learnt to mix it with my vitamin c serum had worked so well in clearing up a break out I had over two nights. Will be repurchasing this product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PennyTang on 1/9/2014 12:17:00 AM more reviews by PennyTang

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Best skin care product for my combination skin. I only use couple drops per day on the oily T-zone. It reduces black heads & minimizes pores. This bottle probably will last couple years. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ejk28 on 1/4/2014 11:09:00 PM more reviews by Ejk28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This oil is beautiful! It smells lovely, feels lovely, hydrates my skin and really does help balance out my oiliness HOWEVER I feel like it hasn't made such an amazing impact on my skin to repurchase once I run out. Yes I would say my skin is defiantly more normal/ oily now (although my clarisonic has played a large part in this) and my pores look smaller, it hasn't exactly helped clear up any pimples or reduce any old acne spots which I was hoping it would help with a little bit. Also I think the price is a little excessive for the oil. I was using A'Kins Rosehip oil before this and also loved it and it is only $20 for 23ml, while Clarins is $50 for 30ml! Plus the packaging really annoys me, the bottle makes it look like you are getting a ton of product but they have been very sneaky and used extra thick glass in places! The bottle looks like a 50ml but you are only getting 30ml! It just comes off as if they are trying to tick me -.-

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sheenabyrne1 on 12/26/2013 6:50:00 PM more reviews by Sheenabyrne1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Holy grail facial oil!! I use it at night on its own using only 3 drops lasts forever and my skin is so smooth and has never been so clear! So glad I've found this!!! <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Treatments products