Clarins • Face Treatment Oil - Lotus • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(244 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 pensativa on 12/5/2014 12:01:00 AM more reviews by pensativa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for three weeks now, and I have to say that I LOVE it. The product is formulated for Combination/Oily skin and it really does a good job of keeping oil at bay. I noticed after two weeks of using it that I had (unusually) not broken out, even during that TOTM.

I switched to using oils on my face about 1.5 years ago, but had only used organic Morroccan argan oil up until now. Like many people with combination/oily skin, I was pleasantly surprised that my skin responded so well to argan oil.

A few weeks ago, I was in the Beijing airport killing time and I realized that I needed a good moisturizer as I had accidentally checked mine in. I scoured reviews on MUA and decided to go with the Clarins product as it had a great review score and I have had good experiences with Clarins in the past.

This Clarins Lotus treatment oil performed just as well as the argan oil, but it is more luxurious-smelling and feeling. I use three drops on my skin at night, and try to use their "patting in" method but usually just put the drops on different parts of my face and lightly rub it in. It smells DIVINE!

I predominantly use this at night and either argan oil or Dr. Hauschka's light Rose Cream during the day, but you can use it during the day as well. Just be sure to give yourself a little bit of time for this to soak in before you apply makeup.

Packaging: I wouldn't say that the glass bottle is ideal for travel, as it is quite heavy and impractical to travel with. I do think the thickness of the glass makes it look quite nice on one's skincare/makeup counter, and it is probably relatively impervious to breakage as it is so thick.

Cost: I bought it at at duty-free store, so it was $42, which is significantly cheaper than the price plus tax in the US. As I only use 3 drops/night (or 6 drops/day if I use it both day and night), I find the price to be quite economical seeing as there is a great deal of product in the jar. If you amortize the cost of the oil over the duration (~6 months), it has an excellent price-to-quality ratio.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Aug17 on 10/22/2014 9:25:00 AM more reviews by Aug17

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It was the only facial oil I ever bought and it turns out I hate the feeling of oil on my skin. It is also uncomfortable to march with oily face in front of husband.
So before putchasing this try to spread olive oil on your face and consider if you like the feeling.

Didn't notice any positive effect on the skin, but nothing bad as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tintiite on 10/6/2014 1:47:00 AM more reviews by tintiite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Even having combination skin, I have always been a fan of facial treatment oils. So far I was loyal to simple sweet almond oil which didn't reduce my oliness but it made my skin super soft and tight, but I decided to try this as I wanted to bring my facial oil experience to the next level. I also was attracted by the packaging, the bottle with dropper seemed easy to use.
And I wasn't disappointed! It is not a miracle product, but I regard it as a rich night treatment which really helps to tone my skin, my complexion seems brighter since I started to use this. It haven't reduced the oiliness (although in my case it is not my most concern as the oiliness is not so marked), but my skin definitely feels more hydrated and the smell is wonderful. Seems it also has helped a little bit with my rosacea.
The price is alright. I will repurchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 biancay on 10/2/2014 8:20:00 PM more reviews by biancay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay so I have oily skin that, over the past few months, has been breaking out in cystic acne across my lower cheeks and jawline. I was told this would regulate the oil on my face and help to alleviate the problem. I was skeptical, but I have to say that since I've been using this product my skin has been totally 100% clear, for going on four weeks now.
It feels moisturised, the colour tone is even, and no acne. I cannot believe it.
I have been using this product in conjunction with Garnier's mattifying cleanser, but other than that I have made no other changes to what I was doing when my skin was bad.
I just use a three drops on my face after I've used my toner. I can see that it is going to last a long time, so despite the upfront cost, it will end up being quite economical.
Definitely recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 constanceyc on 8/22/2014 6:22:00 AM more reviews by constanceyc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love it! it's the ultimate solution to my combination skin... less sebum but much enhanced glowing complexion...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 7/4/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This was a bit of a let down for me especially since all of the good reviews. I bought a bottle of this hoping that it would moisturize my dry skin (cheeks and forehead) while keeping my oily areas (nose, chin) from being over oily.

I found that the smell of this to be overpoweringly strong, not unpleasant but by far the most fragranced oil I have ever used. However, it didn't cause any irritation or breakouts, nor did it make my eyes sting.

I used up a whole bottle of this without any other products applied over the top just to see if this alone would affect my skin. Although my skin was soft after using it, it didn't make any positive difference that I could see. I will stick to less fragranced oils in future and won't be repurchasing this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dundada on 7/2/2014 12:28:00 AM more reviews by dundada

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Yes for now I think I would buy the Clarins Lotus face oil again : ) I'd like to give this oil 3.5 to 4 lippies. I use this in conjunction with Biologique Recherche products at the moment like P50 1970, Masque Vivant, Complexe Iribiol serum and Creme Dermopurifiante. This oil doesn't seem to clash with any of these products thank goodness!

I have sensitive, oily and acne prone skin and this oil seems to bring acne under the surface up to the surface for me and the Creme Dermopurifiante from Biologique Recherche that I apply after the Clarins Lotus oil just quickly dries the pimples up and keeps drying them up thoughout the day!

I love the herbally, clean and very natural smell of this oil the most of course : )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clasp on 6/13/2014 4:27:00 AM more reviews by clasp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i love this! I use it when I travel it's especially good in cold weather countries

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifeinfuschia on 6/6/2014 3:12:00 PM more reviews by lifeinfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This oil really did make me glow much more so than any other product I have tried as yet. It's suitable to use under makeup as well because it sinks in fast. It caused no breakouts for me, which is always a plus. I recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stefie2104 on 4/30/2014 2:53:00 AM more reviews by stefie2104

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am not new to Clarins skin care. First encounter was easily 10+years ago. After trying tons of skincare, here I am back to Clarins, I am 37 years old, acne proned skin type.

I managed to get 2 ml samples a few times. But never get the actual product. I think I strayed away to other skincare stuff in my stash. Then just last week, there was 20% discount on Clarins, I went ahead, bought this oil, double serum and the tinted sunscreen spf40. The GWP was deluxe size 100 ml toner and cleansing cream, 15ml multi day and night cream and 10 ml of the tinted sunscreen. One thing I love about Clarins, they are quite generous with GWP and samples. With this purchase I no need anything else, maybe just cleansing foam.

I used the lotus oil at night after toner. I find okay only, then I read few reviews and clarins online. Oh, I can just use some toner with 2 drops of oil and using the pressing method. Yesterday I tried, this morning, the effect is WOW...... my acne marks seems lighter, skin looks well rest.

My skin regiment is as follows:-
AM: Yves Rocher sebo purifying cleansing gel - clarins toner - clarins double serum - clarins tinted sunscreen spf 40

PM: Clarins cleansing milk - clarins toner - clarins toner +2 drops of lotus oil.

I believe in less is more, so i didn't use moisturizer, moreover in sunny Singapore, if i used moisturizers, it will clog my skin.

Now I will stick to these 3 star products, btw i just bought clarins AHA toner, clarins whitening serum. The whitening serum i will alternate with the double serum. AHA toner on alternate nights. Was given more whitening range skincare, toner, firming serum and eye cream. I guess it is very good deal to get. Total I spent for 2 trips are S$390, not too bad for luxury skin brand. I guess these skincare can last me easily 6 months. I am willing to spend on treatment items, cleansing stuff and toner, i can use drug store brands or bodyshop.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Treatments (Face) products