Laura Mercier • Black Violet kohl pencil • Eyeliner

rated 4.2(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* saarahkb4 on 9/1/2012 4:43:00 PM more reviews by saarahkb4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love love love this product! It was given as a gift and I have refused to use anything since! It is great for smudging, I personally smudge a little bit over a line of liquid liner to keep it from looking very severe. I also use it on my lower eyelid and stays in place perfectly. However I would not recommend using it on the water line, it doesn't stay in place (but it isn't waterproof either, so I don't know why I bothered).

I intend on buying it again, but it seems to last forever!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 buttercup9386 on 6/29/2012 12:13:00 PM more reviews by buttercup9386

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this eyeliner, definitely my HG. I have medium brown eyes, and the purplish-black color is really flattering. I swipe a bit on my lower line for daytime, and also love to line the top line and smudge. Probably the most smudgeable liner I've ever used - it just glides on.
It can be applied lightly for daytime (which is where the not quite black color helps) and a bit heavier for nighttime.
Very sexy, versatile, and high quality.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crees on 1/29/2012 3:39:00 PM more reviews by crees

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Read about this on xojane.com. It works to bring out green eyes. Easy to use, to smudge, to play with while it sets. Beautiful color. Smooth, lasting formula. It's actually a lot of fun to play with.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 12/7/2011 11:13:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I always reach for this when I want an intense eyeliner that isn't black. It's such a deep, sooty shade of purple that in certain lights it looks black. I like that depth of color for it's versatility because it really can go with any eyeshadow. I pair it with pretty much everything and it never fails to look fantastic. The tinge of metallic in the finish is just enough so that it doesn't look completely matte.


These are not particularly long wearing on me, probably because I like to smudge them so much. Sometimes I really go for it and smudge it until it's just a shadow of an actual line. If I use it as a traditional liner then it lasts a good amount of time and looks beautifully dark. Even so, it still smudges and transfers a little of its own volition. But for a purple this amazing I don't even mind.


These are soft for a pencil liner and I never feel like it's tugging my skin at all, or that I have to press hard to get pigment. Not as creamy or dense as my Chanel khol liners, but still very pliable. One of the few pencils I wear on my inner waterline.


I have four of these but this color is my most used. A staple eyeliner in my stash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 theinfinitepet on 7/14/2011 9:44:00 AM more reviews by theinfinitepet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this eyeliner for a while, and although this eyeliner goes on smooth and looks amazing when you put it on as well as during the first couple hours, it smudges extremely fast. By the end of the day, my eyeliner would usually be all over the place. I think this is well worth the money for special occasions because it really does look nice, but it's definitely not an eyeliner I would use for everyday wear because it just doesn't stay.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ptricia435 on 6/1/2011 11:19:00 AM more reviews by ptricia435

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'm still searching for an eyeliner that is truly long wearing - this isn't it, but it is a good product. It doesn't last a whole day, even with primer, and she-laq. However, it lasts several hours so it works for an evening out. It applies easily and has great pigmentation, good color payoff with one swipe. The color is awesome - softer than black, and looks great on brown eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maliktai on 5/2/2011 2:41:00 PM more reviews by Maliktai

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use this a lot and love the softer, less harsh effect it gives. I bought four of Laura's kohl eyeliners during the holidays and this is one of my favorites. I also use the gray and brown copper quite a bit.

I have older eyelids and these go on really creamy. I also have a lot of lid so I can really use an exaggerated line without it looking odd. Great liners!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* STACEYFFF on 3/20/2011 11:24:00 PM more reviews by STACEYFFF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The color of this pencil is lovely- black violet. Kohl pencil texture- smudgey, smoky, seductive. Me like-y. Not good on waterline and it will eventually smudge. But, still- it's great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kresenda on 12/13/2010 3:40:00 PM more reviews by kresenda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So thick and deep and nice. The color is just perfect for brown eyes. The hint of purple adds a little extra and makes your eyes really pop. My only reservation is that sharpening it is a pain. The wood is dry and breaks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanelmontes on 10/8/2010 10:57:00 PM more reviews by chanelmontes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A gorgeous pigmented very dark violet color that can be paired with many different shades of eyeshadow. I was hesitant to by this due to some reviews saying it tugged badly during application, but for me it's the opposite. It glides on very creamy and smoothly. It has a very nice consistency and really stays put well without smudging. I know my wallet will bust but now I'm on a mission to own every one of these kohls since the quality met my expectations and the shades are unique yet sophisticated. My search for the perfect eyeliner pencil just might be over :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eyeliner products