NADS • Hair Removal System - No-Heat Hair Removal Gel • Skincare - Body

rated 2.1(318 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.27%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 laschnauzer on 8/9/2013 4:06:00 PM more reviews by laschnauzer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Completely useless. I thought it was a great alternative to waxing, especially since it didn't require heating, boy was I wrong. This think sucks. It doesn't remove hair and it requires you to apply it several times, leaving your skin sensitive and red hot. Not pretty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 9/3/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Oh, Nads. I remember the very first infomercials in the 90's with that Australian lady and her hairy daughters. I myself was a little 9 year old girl with a unibrow. I had a gleam of hope in my eyes upon seeing that commercial, despite the fact that my parents would never let me use anything beauty-related at such a young age.

But as you get older, you realize you can't get through life being the happy little hairy girl. You kind of have to be vain to an extent to succeed, unfortunately. So after years of being made fun of by classmates for the dark shadow on my upper lip, I decided as a teenager that it was time to do something about it. And I bought my first tub of Nads.

Well, the most important question is of course does it do what it's supposed to: take off hair? Yes, it does. However, this green goo seems to have an expiration to it. After keeping it stored away for over 5 months, I noticed it turned to a salted sugary look and didn't have the adhesive factor anymore.

Is it painful? Yes. But show me a hair removal technique that isn't. Granted, I've started getting my eyebrows and smaller areas threaded to avoid ripping layers of skin off. But for larger ares, Nads is just as good.

Can you eat it? Yes, and I have. Just like that episode of friends where they eat Monica's organic hair removal.

Is it overpriced? Probably. Considering other hair removal products have entered the market since then. However, this seems to be one of the only easily found waxes that DOESN'T require a microwave. So you can travel with it.

If you're looking for an industrial strength wax to give yourself a Brazilian, I don't think Nads will cut it for you. But as a basic wax supply to save you money and modesty from the spa, this is pretty damn good. Nads certainly spared me from some embarrassment going through high school, which we all know is hard enough to go through. So I feel like I owe em at least 4 stars. Someday, I will have enough money for laser hair removal. But I will look back and remember the one who helped me out when I didn't have that kind of money. Even if it did jerk tears and cause me to scream expletives after every rip.

Thanks Nads.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 guitarheroine91 on 8/2/2012 7:37:00 PM more reviews by guitarheroine91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know why the rating on this product is so low. It is amazing! I just used it on my legs and it was great! It barely hurt. I have been searching for so long for a no-heat product that works. I hate heating wax in the microwave. It gets all stringy and messy and that's the end of it. But this product is natural, it doesn't irritate and wow... the results are great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* april1976 on 6/2/2012 3:26:00 AM more reviews by april1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

After a ten year, self-imposed home waxing hiatus...NADS has me back in the game.

I live in L.A. where a good bikini wax can cost between $70 (Melrose) and $35 (the valley). I have no problem paying for a good wax, but it's really not that difficult to do yourself, unless you want some freaky shape or vajazzling.

In college, I jumped on the NADS wagon and it was an epic fail. Somewhere in between college and now, I started to actually read directions. Wow...game changer.

So, here's my experience in a nutshell:

You need to make certain the area is clean and free of body oils and lotions.

Let the product warm in the sunlight, and use a delicate hand when applying (meaning, don't glob it all over like wax). The thinner, the better.

Take a good 4-7 strokes over the cloth strip to make sure it's sufficiently warmed to the skin. Then riiiiiippppppp! Actually, it's like pulling off a band-aid. The hair pulled out cleanly, and my bikini line is bump-free.

I did a great job my very first time, since rediscovering NADS. I purchased my tub of green gooey wonder for about $10. I buy my own replacement cloth strips and sticks at Sally's. Thanks for saving me about $60 a month NADS - now I can spend more time at the Korean spa with my extra moola!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Slicker on 9/4/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by Slicker

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I imagine this product has changed since people began reviewing it? It was easily the best home "wax" I have ever used, and the fastest. I usually get a professional wax, or cheap out/maintain with pre-waxed strips but the strips seem to be less and less effective lately -- hard and unusable. Anyway, I read a good review here of another sugar-type product in a tub, but not finding it in three drug stores here in NYC I bought the Nads. I did not heat it. (It's very hot out today.) The product *was* hard to spread but working just a little bit I could mush it out. Spreading thin was the obvious choice, since the product soaks into the strips. SO here's the thing nobody has mentioned: once the very first section is done, keep using the *same cloth* over and over, with the original "wax" on it, and it works brilliantly! In fact, I don't think I used more than four strips for full leg + bikini, and I have TONS of product left since I barely used any.
Keep in mind, you must use the prep wipes (or a wet washcloth), to make sure your legs don't have any oil (esp in the summer!) and then make sure legs are dry. My only complaint is that given you use so little product, the few strips given are going to be used up in no time. I've seen spas use strips of cotton fabric so I'll try some old bedsheets before I spring for more strips at the beauty supply.

Update: OH! The strips are washable! Perfect.
And I don't think it was mentioned but this home use stuff is NOWHERE, NO WAY as good as a professional wax. I usually use it between salon visits. (to cheap out)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LoFra on 5/8/2011 4:24:00 PM more reviews by LoFra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only wax I will ever use again. I absolutly can't stand unwanted facial hair and this removed it with absolutly no pain and easy to use wax and strips. Another great thing about this is the fact that it comes off with water so if you accidently put it in the wrong spot, it will just come off! No pain, just hair removal! Two thumbs up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 herbgurl82 on 4/2/2011 6:24:00 PM more reviews by herbgurl82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
Good for legs, long lasting results, and easy to use.
Cons:
Extremely sticky and hard to spread.
Made my underarms and bikini line bleed when I tried to wax them.
However, what made me decide to not purchase this again was that the sugary substance attracted ANTS!!! I had them all through my bathroom this spring, all headed towards this jar in my cabinet!! Yuck! So once you open the jar, be sure to seal it in a plastic baggie, especially during the summertime!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimplesgalore on 2/25/2011 7:16:00 PM more reviews by Dimplesgalore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE 12/2/11: I've gotten lazy. I rarely use this for myself anymore but my mom (54) has taken a shine to it so it's not going to waste.
(Update end)

I have gone through 3 tubs of Nads. I am very happy with the results (once you learn how to use it properly) and am more than willing to wait for my hair to grow long enough.

I wax my legs almost exclusivly, I dont want to wait for my pit hair to grow out and the rest of my body is thankfully covered in blond-ish fine baby hair. I wax my mothers upper lip and the back of her neck sometimes and, while she thinks it hurts like hell, is very happy with the results as well.

Some tips:
1. I wait for my hair (on the fine side) to be at least 1/2 inch long. If I can wait for it to grow to 3/4 long the removal is 50% easier.

2. Warm the wax in the microwave for 10-20 seconds on 60% power (with lid off!). This thins out the wax just enough to shorten application time.

3. SUPER THIN LAYER!! When you think you have it thin enough, make it thinner! I can not stress enough that the #1 mistake is using to much product. The less you use the easier it is to pull off, the less it hurts, and it grabs more hair in one pull leaving less straglers behind.

4. Exfoliate before waxing with a non-moisturizing soap. I then use some rubbing alcohol on a cotton ball to go over my legs (area to be waxed) to remove any trace of residue/oil/dead skin.

After fine tuning my skills with this wax, it takes me about 20 min to wax both legs. I dont rush, I take my time and I'm sure I cound go faster but I would probably miss a lot more hair that way.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pneggy on 7/4/2010 12:53:00 PM more reviews by pneggy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First bought this after watching infomercials about this on tv. It does work really well, but heats up very quickly on the skin and can get very sticky. but works well in winter!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kallisandra on 6/14/2010 1:47:00 AM more reviews by Kallisandra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately I got suckered into buying this also, so I thought I would share how awful it is and hopefully anyone that reads this will be deterred from buying it. It's a WASTE of money. Go buy an epilator, if you don't want to shave or wax. Nads does not work, the hair has a hard time gripping to the gooey sugar substance they stick on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NADS products

More Skincare - Body products