Fancl • Fancl Sunguard spf 30 • Sunscreen

rated 3.9(64 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 vuvie on 7/15/2013 11:54:00 AM more reviews by vuvie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got the new one that is all white and very waterproof.

I like that this product is no irritating and does not clog. But the waterproof part is really getting on me. It is filmy & sticky, causing my makeup to not adhere after this sunblock.
Also it has a very white film and does not budge.

I guess this is good for summer when the sun is hot and makeup does not dry to fast so I can blend this sunblock & my foundation for an even application.

Other than that, I don't see how I can work with this sunblock.

Having said that, I really like that it does not irritate or cause clogging at all!

I recommend removing with an oil cleanser though given how very waterproof it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tatouchs on 8/29/2012 8:50:00 PM more reviews by tatouchs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It is effective but the texture is awful. Oily, sticky and filmy. Not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mimikaayu on 3/27/2012 12:09:00 AM more reviews by mimikaayu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

one of my fav sunscreen!

pro:
- not sticky
- light texture
- SPF 30

con:
- short shelf life as with all other fancl products

This is one of my repeat item that I would keep buying time after time. It's a pretty good sunscreen, not very excellent but not greasy so won't clog pores. Well priced, but shelf life very short (Fancl products has normally only 2-3 months as they have no preservatives). I can't finish using the entire bottle and it just goes wasted.

Check out here for more pics and info:
http://mimikaayu.blogspot.ca/2012/03/some-of-my-fav-japanese-beauty-products.html



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 helloJ on 12/20/2011 10:15:00 AM more reviews by helloJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
Great sunscreen for coverage
A little goes a long way
Doesnt absorb UVA

Cons:
Too oily for my skin and body

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 svntang on 12/11/2011 1:54:00 PM more reviews by svntang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this all summer! Its not thick, quite watery actually, and applies easily. It doesn't really have a smell which I like. Only thing I didnt like was that it feels a little sticky / oily, and its not waterproof. So if you sweat you have like white beads on your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleydutta on 8/30/2011 9:26:00 PM more reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This sunscreen is more oily than I expected. I keep hearing how matte and drying Japanese sunscreens are - not this one! It is a very runny liquid and blends in easily, but it feels oily and looks oily for a while after application. I don't mind this too much, because it eventually settles into skin. It does leave some white cast, but it is better than most zinc oxide/titanium dioxide sunscreens. It gives good UVA protection and I have not burned or tanned while wearing this. I like that it has no sunscreen smell and no icky preservatives. However, it's just a bit too oily for my liking (and expensive!) so I don't think I'll repurchase.
Oh, and to respond to the review below mine - if you apply the amount of sunscreen needed to give you adequate protection (1/4 tsp daily on face alone, more for chest and neck) this sunscreen doesn't last that long at all. Just dabbing it on lightly will NOT give you adequate protection.
And, if anyone is interested, I wrote the company and the zinc oxide and titanium dioxide in this are coated nanoparticles.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tobacco_flower on 7/1/2011 6:06:00 AM more reviews by tobacco_flower

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I might repurchase this, but this product can last a long time, at least 6 months. If you apply by patting with your hands, the whitish cast is not immediate and in fact will cover up blemishes to some degree. So far so good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 5catmom on 5/29/2011 8:31:00 PM more reviews by 5catmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to like this sunscreen after reading reviews. Unfortunately, I found it greasy and sticky. I applied over my body, and I tanned after 45 minutes in the sun. It doesn't seem to very waterproof either. I'm pretty disappointed given the price and I had ordered from overseas.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bratalier on 4/9/2011 1:04:00 PM more reviews by bratalier

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: After using both Fancl and Biore for about a month, I am definitely preferring the Biore. Fancl may not be as drying, but it leaves a residue that I find unpleasant. Also being 30, not as long lasting as the Biore 50. Will use remaining Fancl on legs.
==============================================
Just got this in a package from Hong Kong (cheers to BoBoDave and their most excellent customer service!), and am glad to say it will be part of my summer arsenal here in the deep south. I used Sofina Perfect UV Lucent until it was discontinued. Fancl Sunguard 30 is not as matte, but I also got Biore UV 50 Perfect, and it is VERY close to the Sofina.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Cas on 1/21/2011 9:16:00 PM more reviews by Cas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have dry, sensitive skin and most sunscreens cause me an allergic reaction. Read about Fancl Sunguard on a local beauty forum and decided to try it out, since it was highly regarded for being a physical sunscreen and Fancl products are known for being preservative-free.

The sunscreen comes in a white, runny liquid form and is easy to spread on my skin. It dries up very quickly and it doesn't feel thick or greasy like many other sunscreens I've tried. I definitely can feel that there's something on my face when I have this applied - but it isn't sticky or anything. In fact, I love the texture! I've never had the habit of putting anything on my face in the day, but now I apply Fancl Sunguard religiously whenever I'm going out (the windows are always shut and the curtains drawn at home, so I don't bother when I'm staying in).

At SGD$45.50 for a teeny bottle, it's expensive, so to get around that I get it duty-free from the airport/ask my friends going to Japan to pick up a few bottles for me. That's my only real qualm with the product. It could also be more moisturizing, but since this is a sunscreen and not a moisturizer I don't mind. I can always apply some lotion before applying Sunguard anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fancl products

More Sunscreen products