Essie • Marshmallow • Polishes

rated 4.0(105 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 essslee on 4/6/2014 9:46:00 PM more reviews by essslee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice color, I'll admit that. But this polish barely even deserves 2 stars.
As so many reviewers have already said, the application is next to impossible. The color is blotchy until the 3rd or 4th coat, and then the polish takes foreeeeeeeeever to dry. But you know what, for the color, I'm willing to do this!
My PROBLEM with this polish is: the brush. This is a white polish, and the brush hairs are black. And without fail, somehow, there's always a little brush hair embedded in nail after applying. A black hair, in my white polish. I don't know if I got a defective bottle, but this is absolutely unacceptable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Capri6719 on 2/14/2014 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Capri6719

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful cloudy sheer white! I have gotten so many compliments on my nails, among them, "can't stop looking at your nails." Application is a bit difficult - I am not a professional but have been studying up on my technique and this polish was a great test. I used essie 3 way glaze as a base, 3 thin coats and top coat and after doing dishes, cleaning ect, still looks shiny and no chips 5 days later. I let each coat dry a little in between to avoid streaks, dragging and bald spots. It slightly levels after drying but also got a few air bubbles. I am looking forward to layering it over pinks to find a signature color. Im in love with this shade!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kaneve on 1/2/2014 11:46:00 PM more reviews by Kaneve

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Nice color. Streaky coverage. But worst of all is that it chips faster than any other polish I've tried. Not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 12/6/2013 9:34:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Got this originally to use for French/American tips, but I don't do that sort of manicure often and haven't tried it yet. After wearing this polish on my nails, I don't know that I ever will try it for tips, to be honest.

I like to use a base of semi-sheer white with some polishes, particularly metallics, to give them a colour boost. That's what I was intending when I put this on.This polish is STREAKY, and it does not self-level. I'm pretty experienced with nail polish, have hundreds of bottles of it and have been wearing it for 35+ years, so it's not that I don't know how to apply even streaky polish. And I'm aware that pastels and white are frequently streaky on the first coat, but dang, this was really bad. The formula is thick and gluggy, and that coat had great big bald spots. I know I'm not THAT clumsy with applying polish. It's got to be the polish.

Once I saw this, I decided to see if a second coat would smooth things out and it kinda sorta did, but a couple of nails still had slightly bald spots. Ugh.

Eventually, I started over, did a clear base coat (and let it dry completely, of course), then one streaky, balding coat of Marshmallow, and then my metallic over that. By the second coat of metallic (silver, as it happens), it was fine, so I can and will continue using this polish as "undies", but I can't imagine I'll be using it for much else.

Not sure why/how this polish gets so many great reviews, but I'm glad it works well for someone. I see in the photos people have shared that it can eventually be even, so if I worked at it, I could probably get it to behave (but I don't wear white nail polish, generally, other than as a base for some nail art and for tips and for undies).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kateb18 on 9/9/2013 9:17:00 AM more reviews by kateb18

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh. Clumpy, streaky mess. I don't understand the good reviews - did I just get a bad bottle? This is seriously one of the most difficult polishes I have to work with. It is impossible to apply evenly and does not self level. Loreal's white polish is a better formula and a similar semi-sheer white. I don't know how anyone uses this for french manicures, it clumps so badly!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Iammelody on 8/26/2013 11:46:00 AM more reviews by Iammelody

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect white for a french mani. This is not a opaque chalky white. You will get it opaque after 3 coats but it will not appear harsh. It takes a very long time to dry but its worth the wait. I do my tips with this all the time. I need about 3 coats but you can do 2 if you want and a more subtle effect. Everyone needs a white like this. Its a staple in my stash and its really versatile!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 8/17/2013 5:30:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It is nice polish, however it takes about 3 coats to apply evenly and it take a while to dry completely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautyblondey on 7/12/2013 3:47:00 PM more reviews by beautyblondey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this polish. Yes, it does take me approx. 4 coats to get the finish I like, however it is well worth it. The best way to discribe it is a milky white. It did look streaky during the first two coats, but by the third it evened out. Love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashliebella on 5/31/2013 10:54:00 AM more reviews by Ashliebella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Be patient in the process of polishing cause its a pain in the butt! But totally worth it! Such a beautiful. Color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jessiqka on 5/9/2013 3:29:00 AM more reviews by Jessiqka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This color is a commitment. It takes HOURS and HOURS to dry. But the results are gorgeous if you're up for the waiting period. The problem is also that it takes about 3 coats to hit the peak level of milkiness. But I just don't have that much time normally. It was still kind of tacky in its consistency 4 hours after application. I can't do that too often.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products