Essie • Ballet Slippers • Polishes

rated 3.3(338 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 NPNewb on 1/4/2015 9:52:00 AM more reviews by NPNewb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One of my top three favorite nail polishes. I had read how great it was and I'm like really? What's the big deal? It looks too sheer/white for my tastes, plus I really can't stand pink nails (they look 80's to me- any shade of pink), so I steered clear of this polish for a long time.

I don't know what made me finally try it, but I am SO GLAD I DID. I have never gone through a bottle of nail polish so fast. It is great because it stands out and looks sharp, but yet is classy and professional. This is my GO TO polish for work (I work in a professional field), dates, weddings and events, and those weeks where I am sick of nail polish but can't stand the sight of my bare nails.

It is a typical Essie formula, which I personally love. It is thin and has the perfect applicator brush. I LOVE essie bottles. You can apply as many coats as you want to achieve the desired level of color/sheerness. I apply three coats, and it gives me a nearly opaque finish. It is extremely extremely pale pink. I actually wish it had a bit more pink, because it does look kind of white, but it doesn't look like white out, it looks classy and clean cut.

I cannot believe how many compliments I get on this stuff. Like... it's practically not even a color, yet people are like oh my god your nails. I don't know why it stands out so much. My Central Park After Dark weeps at how much attention this subtle little shade gets.

Ballet slippers. Who knew?

I apply it with Seche Vite base coat and either Vinylux, Seche Vite fast dry, or Essie Good to Go top coat, and it lasts as long as any polish in my collection. The best thing, too, about pale colors like this is that they are very forgiving of chips, so I find my manicures lasting even longer because a minor flaw or chip is not super noticeable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Taylorm3 on 1/2/2015 7:43:00 PM more reviews by Taylorm3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had my nails done for years because my nails are brittle and break easily. I removed my acrylic nails and switched to gel. the UV lamp bothered my hands so I had had to try something else. I began using essie grow stronger and ballet slipper polish and found if I keep my nails short, I can maintain them. ballet slipper polish is light enough that if my nails chip its not noticeable. the color is a beautiful soft pink tinted neutral color that makes my fingers look longer and match everything

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 candystar11 on 1/1/2015 5:04:00 AM more reviews by candystar11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very sheer, milky pink polish which can be worn with one or two coats for a natural, glossy look or with three coats for opacity. It is a work appropriate colour and is very girly. The colour has white undertones and can look white in some lighting, however up close it is definitely a demure pink. It has great wear, and lasts for more than a week without chipping (and without base and top coat too!). It looks perfect alone or with a bit of shimmer layered on top of it (I would recommend Nicole by OPI's 'You're A Star'). This is a classic colour and a must have in any lady's collection. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenellaG on 12/30/2014 9:49:00 PM more reviews by JenellaG

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the perfect nail color to use for every occasion! I would describe the color as a sheer milky polish with an ever-so-slight hint of pink. Good color if you're fair-skinned with pink undertones like me. I love wearing this in a French Manicure with the color "Blanc" or sometimes I use it by itself for a perfectly polished look. I find it works best if you apply a VERY THIN coat in as few strokes as possible. I try not to use too many strokes otherwise it gets really streaky 😬. Anyway, I'm glad this is in Essie's permanent collection. I just hope they don't ever change the color like so many others I have loved and lost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Louloune on 10/30/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by Louloune

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

love this polish for work and a neutral, professional look. it's sheer but stands out at the same time. i really love this polish and think every woman should have a bottle on hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 creepygreenlight on 10/26/2014 3:39:00 AM more reviews by creepygreenlight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this polish in my collection for at least 6 months and haven't tried it until today. Now I know what all the hype is about! I think the reason I held off from wearing it for so long is the fact that I'm kind of leery about polishes like this. Y'know, the milky-white-pink-sheer-nightmare-formula type thing but I was pleasantly surprised with this one. It took about three coats to get the opacity I wanted but it wasn't a nightmare to apply at all. I have quite a few sheer polishes from Essie including Limo-scene, Allure, and Mademoiselle and none of them have that oh-so-easily-buildable coverage like Ballet Slippers. I currently am wearing it with a matte topcoat and I can't stop staring at my nails! I'll probably be wearing it quite often, I suppose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ewon8413 on 10/22/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by ewon8413

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Essie is known for their great nail polishes, so I decided to give "Ballet Slippers" a go.

The only nail polishes or acrylic nails I ever wear are nail enhancers or French tipped nails. Something translucent and almost nothing-there like a nail enhancer is much different from some opaque polish. To give the more colourful polishes a go, I kick started it off with this polish.

Firstly, the formula is kind of... eh. Sloppy, I would say.
Something this sheer shouldn't be so streaky and chunky.
It's a complimenting colour (especially for faired skinned girls), but if you apply it incorrectly, it'll look horrid.
Doesn't last a very long time and chips off in a matter of days.

Other than that, it doesn't do anything to your nail beds and won't just run off with warm water. It's only a good polish if you've mastered the way of avoiding streaks and such.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kavarice on 10/22/2014 10:17:00 AM more reviews by Kavarice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really want to like this polish because it's a pretty and unique pastel color and I thought it would make my nails look neat and clean and feminine. But the formula is awful. So thin and streaky, and I could still see my nails through it after 4-5 coats. Because you have to put so much on it takes FOREVER to dry and I ended up getting a bunch of little dents in mine so it just looked sloppy. I wish Essie would change the formula on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sofaloaf on 9/9/2014 6:10:00 PM more reviews by sofaloaf

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Out of all the products I've tried, Essie's Ballet Slippers wins. Not best nail polish, but wins the award for having the most spot-on, accurate reviews on MUA. And a lot of them. I read a ton of them...and then I ignored my gut feeling as I bought it last week because Mademoiselle (a great Essie polish, unlike this one) was out of stock. I really encourage you to save your money. Don't buy this polish, it was really disappointing.

For the last couple years, I've selected bright or fun colors for my nails, but recently I've been curious to see if I could find something to make my nails look pretty, polished, and neat instead. I looked everywhere for a light pink tone, without sparkle chunks or weird yellow tones. I picked Ballet Slippers up after reading MUA reviews, figuring that an average 3 lippies wasn't great, but it must not be bad either. Nope.

It was bad.

I took it home to paint up, and I realized you guys have been sharing nothing but honesty. The thin brush doesn't help the streaky, sticky mess that globs together. I used every trick in my book to get this polish to cooperate, to no luck, and re did the entire process two more times. After my best try, my nails still came out a bizarre, creamy unnatural color with big stripes of nail peeking out. Yeah, that doesn't look pretty, polished, or neat, let me tell ya.

I left it on there, too frustrated to bother with removing it again and trying another polish, only to have it chip and peel off and leave nasty strips of it on my nails....within hours of applying! The. Same. Flippin'. Day. Really??

I "gifted" this one to my roommate, the word "gifted" here meaning that I "passed on the experience of hours of frustration trying to get this polish not to look like a crusty, streaky glob of white-out on my nails"

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kamee on 9/2/2014 1:11:00 AM more reviews by Kamee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Super streaky. Even after 2 coats it's still streaky. Dries fast in some thinner stroked areas but if u go over it again, that first layer is more opaque than your second layer. This is such a frustrating polish to work with. Also if you're light, this will make your skin darker. I don't recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products