Essie • Ballet Slippers • Polishes

rated 3.3(320 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluestar21 on 4/16/2014 2:45:00 PM more reviews by bluestar21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because it's a cult classic and I wanted something sublte for my toes. It becomes opaque as you build it, so it can look streaky with 1 or 2 coats. With 3 coats it looks perfect. The color is not-quite-pink-not-quite-white. Very modern, soft, and sublte. I only own 2 Essie polishes so I can't really compare it to others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hannahps on 3/22/2014 6:58:00 PM more reviews by hannahps

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've heard mixed things about this nail polish and was excited to try it out. The colour is beautiful, very classic and pretty (I used three thin coats and it was a true opaque nude) and lasts about a week with base and top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shewee on 3/18/2014 3:50:00 AM more reviews by Shewee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've not had chance to road test this yet - my nails are still drying...

Yes this is a 3 coater - with base and top that's 5 coats - so don't plan doing anything like work for at least 2 hours if you're going to use this colour. Yes it super sheer - yes it streaks with just 2 coats - but the colour is enchanting. If like me you've been rocking gaudy nails since the 90s Ballet Slippers will transform your talons from 'hot mess' to 'oh yes'. This is the perfect date/bride/grandma's coming shade. It's subtle and chic - my hands look elegant and well groomed (I haven't had a professional mani since 2012!).

Patience, thin even coats and time are key when applying this colour - you can't just throw it on.

I'll try and post a pic of my gorgeous nails - as soon as they are dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shirleyV on 3/17/2014 7:07:00 AM more reviews by shirleyV

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely wanted to love this , I am a big fan of pretty neutral pale nail colours. With this one, I love the pinky white colour but it takes a good 3 coats to build a decent colour.
The big thing I dislike about this is that after a couple of weeks of purchase it went thick gluey and tacky so I discarded the rest of. The bottle, so it's a thumbs down from me, there are so many better, cheaper , pale nails colours around. Definitely not a repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mmmgirl on 3/14/2014 6:01:00 AM more reviews by mmmgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This, like all of Essie's other lighter shades, began "turning" a few weeks after I got it. No matter where I purchase from, how well I store them, colors like Ballet Slippers, Mademoiselle, Sugar Daddy, and Vanity Fairest all fade into an unsightly yellowed ivory. I do not have this issue with Revlon or Orly pale pinks. I will not be repurchasing any of Essie's lighter polishes. For $8.50 or more, I expect the polish to be usable for a while (and my Revlon sheer pink has stayed true for 4 years!). Too bad, since it looked nice in the bottle at first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 3/13/2014 6:52:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think I finally found a nude color that looks good on me. This is a nude/pink color and I am NW20. It's very sheer and I had to use 3 coats to get a decent opaque color. I like it though because it looks great with one coat as a more natural nail and with 3 it looks nude.

The drawbacks for me on this is the formula. It's a bit watery for my preferences and it streaks. It's not chalky like others I have tried in light colors, but it can look a little too dull if you aren't careful.

I have yet to find a formula from anyone really that isn't superior when it comes to pale colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AB188 on 3/1/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by AB188

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Streaky and has gone thick and chewy. Not had it very long and aways kept in a cool dry place. Mavala do a range of colours and its cheaper. I had a bottle of OPI for four years that never went thick or guey!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 inkyblaine on 2/22/2014 10:59:00 PM more reviews by inkyblaine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I love everything Essie so it pains me to say that this really sucked. Its streaky like everyone says and you will definitely need 3 coats. I think I just prefer Mademoiselle. Ballet Slippers is just a little too chalky looking for me. Its a white pink, and I don't hate it, but the streakyiness really ruined it for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 2/5/2014 6:51:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the soft colour, but this shade is sooo streaky, looks like watered down pinkish milk or something on my nails. Difficult to get smooth, even colour. You need about 3-4 coats to make it look normal. I don't have time for that - plus for the price, I expect better quality. To add insult to injury - even with a top coat this ended up chipping the 2nd day. I bought 1 bottle a few years ago, and then another one this year and it was the same thing, I wish they would improve this. I even had a manicure and the woman used this colour and it was streaky as hell. Obviously, I wouldn't repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 boringcake on 2/4/2014 8:27:00 PM more reviews by boringcake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I generally love Essie polishes and I'm in love with this colour but this particular polish is terrible. It takes way too long to dry even with a fast drying top coat. It's very sheer and streaky so it needs a minimum of 3 layers to make the polish look decent on the nails, which adds to the drying time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products