Essie Ballet Slippers

3.3

346 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/21/2015 3:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The only way I can describe this nail polish is as "a beautiful nightmare."

It's a great color and I've been battling with it for some time now to make it work. It's a fantastic, lovely white-pink color and I love it enough that I'll keep fighting to get it right. The problem is, the formula is just downright horrible. It's a streaky, three-coat nail polish that always manages to look like I glopped it all on by the time I'm done, no matter how thin my coats were. It never seems to look even and doesn't self-level, and application is like a never-ending bad dream. I always close my bottles of nail polish tightly so they won't dry out, but Ballet Slippers seems to have physics-defying qualities because mine's thick as solidified honey.

And when it dries? Air bubbles. Air bubbles everywhere.

For all my complaints, however, I'm still on a campaign to make Ballet Slippers work. I know just how beautiful it can be and the color is so perfect, in my opinion. I've never had these problems with any other polish, nor with any of my countless other Essies. All I can do is hope that Essie will fix this god-awful formula and that I can one day master the art of working with this polish.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 6/12/2015 2:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This polish is everything I hoped Fiji would be.

I'm quite pale, and I think that's why Fiji doesn't work on me. It's thick, matte and reminds me of the whiteout you use to correct spelling mistakes in pen. Ballet Slippers however, is perfect. it's pale, opaque and with a hint of pink. It's glossy, smooth and summery.


on 4/15/2015 5:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One of my favorite nail polishes. The color looks so good on my very fair skin. It last a long time and I can wear it without base and top coat. Is the first time I used up an entire nail polish bottle. I hate the formula though, but I learnt how to work with it as the color is too beautiful not to use it. I apply a single coat with as few strokes as I can. Never more than three. Even if you think the polish doesn't look even, don't do more strokes, it's only going to get worse. Leave it there and wait for it to dry and enjoy :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2015 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Lovely shade which matches perfectly with my fair cool skin. The formula is a bit streaky and after 3 coats it's finally opaque. Staying power is the worst... Even with a base and top coat it chips the day after. The parts that stay become darker and develop fine grey lines at the tips until it cracks and chips. No, will not repurchase.


on 2/19/2015 3:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

There are better milky, French manicure polishes out there. Ballet Slippers streaks, applies unevenly (and doesn't self-level), dries slowly, and, regardless of what top/base coat combo I use, chips in under 24 hours. The shade is beautiful, I will grant, but I'm not going to struggle with a polish that takes four painstaking coats to reach opacity. I hasten to add that I'm not a newcomer to painting my nails.

At least the brush is well-cut, if thin.

The Queen likes this stuff, sure, but I doubt she's the one grappling with this polish.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2015 5:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted so bad to love this, but it's way too streaky. The brush maybe the issue, as it doesn't distribute evenly unless you work fast. Don't even think about going a second coat unless the 1st coat is completely dry. If you really want to try this colour, do so professionally at the salon, especially with a French manicure. Just don't buy it unless you are a pro at application (I'm okay at it). Wish I read the reviews before picking this one, should have gone with Fishnet Stockings.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2015 12:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This shade is gorgeous if you have cool toned fair skin! It's perfect as a subtle but professional look.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Very pale blue-toned petal pink creme that makes my very fair skin look like I've just gone and got a tan. It has a clean white undertone which suits my very fair skin. I find some lighter shades like Opi Bubble Bath with its warmer beige undertone, or others that have an ashy undertone make my skin look dirty. A clean cool-toned pink like Ballet Slippers works best for me.

Formula is tricky but as good as it gets. It applies fine if you've have a couple of years experience painting your nails and know how to work a pale formula. If you're on the fence and do purchase it and find it too much of a pain, it can be used as "nude underwear" underneath other shades so it can still be put to good use. So thats one way it can be worn. The sheer way 1 - 2 coats I don't bother to wear as its difficult to get all 10 nails without one or two of them looking streaky and needing to be re-done. My favorite way to wear it is full coverage. 4 coats applies well to opacity without streaks, so that's how I usually wear it.

Drying time is slow, and since I use 4 coats that takes even longer. So when I apply Ballet Slippers I put aside an hour and catch up on some you-tube videos that I would have watched anyway. The color is pretty so its worth it the effort but I would definitely advise choosing an easier to work with color your signature shade.

The brush may have been recently improved? I just brought a fresh bottle from a chemist who always has fresh stock and this new one came with a very wide curved brush. The new brush made application easy although I have to be careful doing my pinky as it covers the entire nail in a single stroke if I go lightly. If I apply any pressure the brush spreads out and polish floods onto my skin. Anyway, I think the new brush is an improvement for the very pale cremes. Allure (almost white) and Limo-Scene (neutral pale pink) have the same white brush.

I love the color and would buy again. I think I'll look up reviews for similar shades in my favorite Zoya and perhaps a few more accessible brands like Sinful colors, Sally Hansen to consider I can get a suitable replacement first.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2015 9:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One of my top three favorite nail polishes. I had read how great it was and I'm like really? What's the big deal? It looks too sheer/white for my tastes, plus I really can't stand pink nails (they look 80's to me- any shade of pink), so I steered clear of this polish for a long time.

I don't know what made me finally try it, but I am SO GLAD I DID. I have never gone through a bottle of nail polish so fast. It is great because it stands out and looks sharp, but yet is classy and professional. This is my GO TO polish for work (I work in a professional field), dates, weddings and events, and those weeks where I am sick of nail polish but can't stand the sight of my bare nails.

It is a typical Essie formula, which I personally love. It is thin and has the perfect applicator brush. I LOVE essie bottles. You can apply as many coats as you want to achieve the desired level of color/sheerness. I apply three coats, and it gives me a nearly opaque finish. It is extremely extremely pale pink. I actually wish it had a bit more pink, because it does look kind of white, but it doesn't look like white out, it looks classy and clean cut.

I cannot believe how many compliments I get on this stuff. Like... it's practically not even a color, yet people are like oh my god your nails. I don't know why it stands out so much. My Central Park After Dark weeps at how much attention this subtle little shade gets.

Ballet slippers. Who knew?

I apply it with Seche Vite base coat and either Vinylux, Seche Vite fast dry, or Essie Good to Go top coat, and it lasts as long as any polish in my collection. The best thing, too, about pale colors like this is that they are very forgiving of chips, so I find my manicures lasting even longer because a minor flaw or chip is not super noticeable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 7:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had my nails done for years because my nails are brittle and break easily. I removed my acrylic nails and switched to gel. the UV lamp bothered my hands so I had had to try something else. I began using essie grow stronger and ballet slipper polish and found if I keep my nails short, I can maintain them. ballet slipper polish is light enough that if my nails chip its not noticeable. the color is a beautiful soft pink tinted neutral color that makes my fingers look longer and match everything


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
136 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

52 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
Back to Top