Unlisted Brand • White Shoulders • Fragrances

rated 3.6(71 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Joyciejuice on 3/25/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by Joyciejuice

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I haven't worn White Shoulders in years and didn't realize it had been reformulated. I got it the other day at Wal-Mart and though it may be slightly different from the past it still is a delightful scent. After spraying my old Evyan scent on one wrist and the new scent on the other there is a difference but they both are lovely perfumes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blueberryfrost on 1/13/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by blueberryfrost

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My husband gave this to me for my birthday when we first started dating. He knew that I love fragrances, and not really knowing what I would like, he chose White Shoulders.

I had never smelled it before then. It has a very "classic" scent...you can definitely tell this is a fragrance that was designed a long time ago. It's not new, but seems so fresh and different compared to today's perfumes. It is a soft, sweet floral perfume that clings delicately to you. It lingers softly throughout the day, gentle florals wafts...it is noticeable, without being aggressive. It's ladylike.

There's something so traditionally feminine and sweet about White Shoulders. The next day after my birthday, I wore the perfume. When I went to hug my husband, he closed his eyes and sighed that I smelled wonderful. He was happy to know it was the White Shoulders he gave me.

The fragrance reminds me of that first year of us dating before we married. It makes me think of fresh, new love.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoconutCutie on 12/12/2013 5:50:00 PM more reviews by CoconutCutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

When I was in Jr High, the mother of one of my friend's wore this. I always thought she smelled lovely and one time when I was visiting my friend she went into her parents' room to get something and I spied this on her mother's dressing table. I didn't know what it was called but remembered the bottle. Flash forward a few years later around Christmas, and I was in a drugstore and spotted the bottle as part of a giftset, so now I had the name of this gorgeous elixir. For whatever reason, I never bought it. Still, in my mind, the fragrance was etched in my mind so I knew it whenever I smelled it on someone. Well, last week, I was online at Walgreens and spotted some for sale. I ordered that along with another giftset of Toujours Moi, the closest thing I have to a signature right now, along with the bathpowder of White Shoulders. The bathpowder arrived first and I opened it right away. The powder was beautifully scented and exactly how I remember. Then the giftset arrived today and I opened it and dabbed on a little of the parfum. Lovely. It also came with hand cream and a large 4.5 oz bottle of Eau de Cologne. I am really enjoying this. There's something about it that smells almost like you'd expect the hand cream in a fancy bathroom to smell. Large white flower bouquet fully enveloping you, but with a creamy hint to it. Overall, it's not an every day perfume for me, but something I can see me wearing frequently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 6/15/2013 9:23:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A whiff of Evyan White Shoulders in Fall of 1969 is what began my obsession with perfume. I was a high school senior, sitting in the first desk of the center row of my homeroom class. The girl who sat directly behind me in homeroom (Janet) came into the room and passed in front of me to get to her desk -- swishing past me and throwing a GLORIOUS scent in my direction.

OOOOOH!! The impact of that unbelievable swoosh of perfume changed my life forever! She took her seat behind me, and I spun around to face her. I told her she smelled sooooo good, and what was that scent she was wearing? She said "my mother's White Shoulders bath powder".

My experience of perfume to that point had only been what my mother wore. She had always worn loud, strong perfumey perfumes, chiefly Tigress, which choked her whole family. Until I smelled Janet's White Shoulders bath powder, I had never known that soft perfumes even existed. I was 17 and thought all perfumes were strong. Evyan White Shoulders was new and different to me in that it was SOFT! I thought it was the most gorgeous scent I had ever smelled.

That evening, when I got home from school, I remember the exact spot & time in our kitchen that I approached my mother. I asked her, "Have you ever heard of White Shoulders perfume?" and she said "Sure!", so I said, "Well, I'd like some for Christmas please!" and told her about that heavenly whiff.

Lo and behold, I found a splash bottle under the Christmas tree in 1969. I spent the whole day inhaling from the bottle (as well as wearing it). I was deeply in love with Evyan White Shoulders, and I had been introduced to the power and joy of perfume. I've been mad about perfume ever since. Athough it's been reformulated and has lost considerable of the original magic of Evyan, I still have a bottle of White Shoulders today, in the new formula.

I would give 5 stars for the original Evyan and for its importance in my life, but to the new reformulation, I have to give 4 stars.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 melyndaw on 7/23/2012 3:17:00 PM more reviews by melyndaw

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love white florals - when I initially sprayed some of this on, it smelled okay - but within seconds what ever may have been potentially acceptable, vanished. The dry down was revolting...dare I say extremely cheap & nasty smelling...terrible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 6/16/2012 7:27:00 PM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After loving White Shoulders in my teens, I saw a small bottle of the parfum variety on a clearance table and purchased it without sniffing. It is how I remember it but my tastes have obviously changed a great deal. Now, all I can detect is heavy gardenia and maybe more white florals. I no longer like gardenia at all and the same goes for magnolia. I can hardly stand to wear it but will try using it occasionally in tiny amounts to use it up. If you like gardenia, this is for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nearfantastica78 on 5/2/2012 12:49:00 AM more reviews by nearfantastica78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I fell in love with this scent when I was a little girl. My mother wore it on her wedding day in 1976 and wore it VERY rarely, but it smelled heavenly on her.
When I was about 12, I was snooping in the little perfume tray she kept in her bathroom. She was in the hospital alot while I was growing up and I think subconsiously I would sniff her perfumes to make me feel like she was near. Her bottle was the original, screw top cologne. But it was beautiful, floral, Mum.
Mum recently purchased a new bottle and then gave it to me, as she thought it didn't smell right. To me, it is the EXACT same gorgeous gardenia, tuberose, lily and jasmine fragrance I took comfort in so long ago. I normally gravitate towards Oreintal scents but this beauty will always be in my top three. Thank you Mum <3

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bombshell222 on 11/16/2011 10:37:00 AM more reviews by Bombshell222

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My mother wore this when I was little....I remember sneaking into her dresser drawers and putting it on myself. It is a very nice floral, has strong notes of lilac and lillies, with a very subtle musk undertone. It is a nice classic fragrance to wear to the office. It is a rotation on my perfume shelf when I feel like something professional and not overtly sexy.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kdm1 on 5/15/2011 11:29:00 AM more reviews by kdm1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice floral and some would say, right off, that it smells like a "grandma" fragrance. Well, my mother wore this when she was alive and when I smell it, I think of her.
I'll agree, I don't think of this as a "young" fragrance.
I would not wear it, but for a more mature woman who prefers feminine fragrances, White Shoulders is worth looking into.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cheriebeary73 on 5/15/2011 10:06:00 AM more reviews by cheriebeary73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I just smelled this horrid stuff at Kohls the other day during my new perfume quest and HOLY MOTHER of GOD, this stuff is DISGUSTING! I would not wear even if it was the last pefume on earth!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products