Murad • Clarifying Skin Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.6(291 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 alicebestman on 9/21/2014 8:46:00 AM more reviews by alicebestman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was recommended this product because I have acne-prone combination skin. Within the first two days of using it I had an allergic reaction worse than any acne I've ever dealt with - broke out in tiny red bumps all over my cheeks and forehead. Terrible. I'll never buy a product from this brand again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShoeGal95 on 8/24/2014 1:12:00 AM more reviews by ShoeGal95

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This has been my "go-to" evening facial, neck, dec. cleanser for a few years. I apply less than a dime sized amount on a Buf-Puf and exfoliate once a day, at night.
The tube is large. I use about a tube a year. That's my price justification. My skin rinses very clean, afterward. I rarely use a toner. Face doesn't feel "stripped or dry". My skin is oily with occasional breakouts. All signs of oil, makeup and hours of the day are washed away. I may be tempted to try other cleansers but, always come back to this one. It's the only Murad product I use.
Clear, yellow tinged gel with no noticeable scent. A great prep. for evening skincare!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jessicamarie022 on 7/23/2014 1:35:00 AM more reviews by Jessicamarie022

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product because of the reviews I had read. I'm an adult still suffering from acne and I've tried everything!!! It's frustrating, I had been hearing about Dr Murads products for a while now and wanted to give them a shot. I'm assuming I'm allergic to benzoyl peroxide because I put it on my face (night time) and woke up with my skin red as a crab! It was swollen, bumpy and it itched a lot, it was horrible!! (Note: I tried it first on the side of my neck first to try it out) I returned it. I'm still in the search of something that will help my skin. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nickitraylor on 7/8/2014 10:04:00 AM more reviews by nickitraylor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I first bought a small version of this with the mattifier and the acne clearing solution (see other reviews, I love them too). I then bought the regular size of this so the little one could be in the shower. I am in my mid 40's with some minor, though annoying, acne. I figured it's about time I spent a little money on my skin instead of just the generic Walmart cleanser and neutrogena spot acne treatment.

I really love this cleanser. I use a neutrogena makeup remover wipe first to remove my makeup, then I wash with just a very small amount of this. It is great! Then at night I put on the clearing solution, and in the morning it's the clearing solution with the mattifier so I don't look greasy.

It has calmed down the couple of trouble spots I've had for awhile in just a few washes! I love how it makes my skin feel and look. It is definitely more expensive than generic walmart, LOL, but really I use not very much and I believe it will last a long time.Anyways, I'm worth a little bit of $ to look good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mlfpatrick7 on 6/24/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by mlfpatrick7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had an allergic reaction to this product, too. :( Created tiny red bulls all over my skin that burned so bad.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlywurly100 on 6/24/2014 1:55:00 PM more reviews by curlywurly100

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After 3 uses of this product, my skin reacted with hundreds of tiny bright red, itchy burning bumps. Which if wasn't bad enough, also caused a minor breakout. It took a week of Aloe Vera, Calamine and Eucerin applications for me to be able to look at myself in the mirror without make-up. I am so sure that this product was the cause, because it was the only new thing I had applied or even ingested! To prove that it was definitely this, I even did an allergy patch test on other products to make sure I hadn't become allergic to something I already use. It is my belief that my skin reacted to this cleanser because it's too harsh. I am never going anywhere near another Murad product ever again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Callmecorrina on 6/20/2014 11:38:00 PM more reviews by Callmecorrina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A pricey item with noticeable quick results. Simply impressed with this product by how quickly effective it was. Not only that, but they don't test on animals and don't include parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. I suffered a severe acne breakout after travelling this month (darn airport air) & nothing I was doing was calming it down, from origins charcoal mask to raw honey, nothing!! My sister finally got me into trying this product & I was skeptical because I've never actually heard of this. You only need a dime size amount, when you use it, it has an invigorating/cooling yet soothing feeling, (similar to Biore's acne scrub which did nothing for me btw). Yes, you can tell this product is very drying because it contains salicylic acid, so I suggest you only use this product if you have frequent breakouts or suffer severe acne. STAY AWAY IF YOU HAVE DRY SKIN OR A CLEAR COMPLEXION ALREADY. But my oily skin friends, this product is superb. I am not over exaggerating when I say the next morning my breakout decreased drastically. The redness was gone, the pain/irritation was gone & the swelling almost unnoticeable. I was simply impressed. The product claims to help stop future breakouts, usually I get small breakouts once a week, I've been using this a month and haven't suffered any major breakouts..just tiny blemishes that are no problem. If you plan to use this everyday like myself, I do suggest using a moisturizing face mask 1-2 times a week because this can be very drying. I strongly suggest a good moisturizer as well, I use pure organic avacado oil and thankfully I have not gained any dry patches from this cleanser. Also, seriously avoid getting this in your eye, not a good experience =\. Overall, a very effective acne cleanser for those with acne problem & oily skin. I would suggest it to people with problematic oily to combination skin.

Update 9/7/14: This product STOPPED working for me. I am unimpressed because of the price & my cystic acne returned unfortunately. However for those of you desperate..I have found a new HOLY GRAIL Acne clearing line that worked wonders for me. It is the Alba Botanica AcneDote line and the products are only about 11$..I am happy to say I am sitting here with clear skin thanks to this line. Worked much faster and it has kept the results!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asenes on 6/18/2014 3:13:00 PM more reviews by asenes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this cleanser. I got it in a kit after I got a facial. At first I wasn't sure because my skin was breaking out a little bit more but after a few weeks my skin started clearing up. My skin now is clear with the occasional breakout mostly around that time of the month. I use it with my Clarisonic and love the tingling cooling sensation after. The only thing is this cleanser can be a bit drying so make sure to moisturize. I absolutely am addicted to Murad it's the only thing that has helped my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 spottedswan on 5/8/2014 9:30:00 AM more reviews by spottedswan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

I purchased this for what looked like a breakout from bacteria. Small bumps on my cheeks. For a moderate breakout, I would suggest this. For longterm, consistent use it's far too drying. Because of how stripped and tight my face feels following use, I'm certain that long term use would damange my skin's outter layer. Some helpful things to keep in mind:

1. This is not a makeup remover, especially not an something that can be massaged into the eye area. Far too harsh. I would use this following makeup removal.

2. For sensitive skin, I would use this only at night when you can follow up with a powerful moisturizer.

3. A small drop will create a full face lather - the beauty of gel cleansers. Considering the amount needed, the price for 6.75 oz is reasonable.

Overall, a good product to have in my stash, but not something I can reach for often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nurica88 on 4/15/2014 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Nurica88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ive struggled with adult acne when i turned 24. it was a really difficult time as i had never had any serious skin issues before.
i tried everything. i would try a different face cleanser every month, a lot of the times i would return something after a day because it would just make my face worse.

Murad is the only thing that got rid of my acne. it is gentle and effective. it doesnt have a strong smell either. it is not drying. it is just honesly the most perfect cleanser i have ever bought. i am on my 3rd or 4th bottle i think.

Also, a little goes a LONG way, so it last a few months and for $25/bottle that is really worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Cleansers products