Guerlain • Loose Kohl in Noir • Eyeliner

rated 4.2(120 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 7/2/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff. Yes, it's four times the price of the real thing, but a)you can buy it in the US without having to look too hard, b)the packaging is definitely more luxurious than the kind you can buy in the pharmacy and c)it definitely does not contain lead derivatives (though if you do your brand research, you can find lead-free "traditional" kohls too). So I think it's an OK deal for a product that has lasted me forever.

There are a couple cons: I still balk at the price, and sometimes I wish it was a truer black, but sometimes the slightly-shimmery charcoal is the perfect accent to a subtle eye look. The application method has to be modified for my eye shape -- as I have big round eyes, I find that when I use the traditional method, I either color only the center of the waterline or drag a big black line across my contact lens if I don't go very, very slowly. So I either apply it with a brush or trace each waterline with the applicator, eyes open, just as if I were using a pencil.

It lasts reasonably long, and I find that it's worlds better at setting pencil or gel on the waterline than a powder e/s. As someone who's always allergic and watery-eyed, this product allows me to tightline/line my waterline without fear of the dreaded panda face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Teefpaste on 10/14/2013 7:16:00 PM more reviews by Teefpaste

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I Like this A LOT, why not love? Well, being part Egyptian and living there for a few years; wearing authentic 'Cleopatra' Kohl was a daily experience.. while this is beautifully packaged, the Kohl itself is more on the grey side and isn't as longwearing as genuine Kohl.
On the plus side; as it isn't 'in your face' black, I find I can wear this to work without looking like I'm overdone.
The price is a heart stopper, but I've had my current bottle for well over a year, using it regularly and there is still lots left.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teddibe4r on 9/13/2013 5:03:00 PM more reviews by teddibe4r

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

FAB-U-LOUS

I have this amazing Guerlain Kohl in several colours, namely the Black, Blue and Bronzey-Brown. I also have one I bought YEARS ago, when Guerlain first released them - and its sort of a bright turquoisy-green colour. As I have hazel coloured eyes, I have tended not to use that colour that much (I use more browns and taupes) - and it has remained in a drawer for a long time. Absolutely just cannot dump it, as I have fads and may come to use and love it (got drawers full of "just in case" stuff - doh!!).

Application? If you are confident applying eye make up, it should not be much of a problem. I do use the "swipe the wand over closed eyes method", but find I do need to touch up areas missed from the swipe. I do this by just using the very END of the wand, with a little powder on it and place it in the waterline as if I were using a kohl eye pencil.

TIP FOLKS - I use one of those "mascara application protectors". They are a solid, semi-curved plastic device, which you can place very close on the upper lid just above the lashline, or right under the eyelash line on the lower lid. They were actually specifically manufactured to stop mascara drifting up onto eyeshadow when applying. BRILLIANT for applying this stuff, as you can hold it firmly in place with one hand and apply the khol powder with the other - and they catch ANY "fallout". You can place the edge of the device RIGHT UNDER the lower lash line, and the body of the device catches any fallout. These plastic mascara devices are only a few pounds, and save loads of time cleaning up from khol "fallout" problems. Do check them out.

If I don't use this device, I always put my waterline in FIRST when doing my makeup. I apply it just after applying my eye primer. It does stand firm during the application of eyeshadow and mascara thereafter. I apply my foundation and under-eye concealer AFTER applying this kohl to my waterline, as it is a NIGHTMARE to remove from concealer and top of cheek foundation - and you can end up looking somewhat like dracula. I learnt this lesson after having to completely remove my undereye make up (and off the top of my cheekbones), with cleanser - what a chore and waste of time, effort and make-up!!

Love the metallic finish on these. They give such a dramatic effect, compared to flat black kohl. Will ALWAYS have a stock of these. Staying power is incredible, considering the powder is sitting on a wet surface. Amazing that it does not "run". I can apply this in the morning and still have it on when I remove my make up in the evening.

LOVE THEM......hope Guerlain NEVER discontinue them - and devise new colours - and bring back some colours they discontinued. There was an amazing white/cream pearl colour they did as a limited edition and I never got that one -regretably, as you can't find it now, it's as rare as hen's teeth.

The Noir black is not for the feint hearted. Do get at least one and try it. Practice (when you're just at home and not going out). After about 3 goes....you should be fine - as I was.

Hope this review helps.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautyLove02 on 3/28/2013 10:37:00 PM more reviews by BeautyLove02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love everything about this-the packaging, the product, the application, the buildability, the over-all look. Everything. The eastern method is very intimidating at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes very easy. It has become the first eyeliner (out of MANY) I reach for every morning, because it is SO fast to tightline. Just hold the stick horizontal, close your eye over it (not too hard), and swipe across and...perfect tightline! Sometimes if I want a more dramatic black look I will have to do this a couple times. DEFINITELY recommend this!
Edit: I've found if I hold a tissue right under my eye, it really helps with any fallout. I really only need one hand to apply this, so it is still worth it because it is so fast and easy to do.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeannaNass on 3/22/2013 7:06:00 PM more reviews by DeannaNass

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This and the whole GT Loose Kohl line is fabulous and I have managed to collect them all (I think :)) I have had MGD Meibomain Gland Dysfuction and this is pretty much the only eye makeup line my sensitive eyes can tolerate. Guerlain must do great opthalmologic testing. The Noir color I can even tightline without having sensitivity issues getting it in my eyes, although most other colors I tend to use Western syle rather than sticking them in my eye... although even so they dont irritate much. I like blending them together to achieve mixed colors. Great product overall. Everyone with sensitive eyes should try at least the black one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 11/8/2012 2:45:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The gorgeous packaging is what sucked me in, but I'm not crazy about the kohl. It doesn't irritate my sensitive eyes and it looks beautiful, but the fallout just bugs me. I've applied this first before my face powder so I could clean up any fallout but a few mins later it was all over my under eyes again. I've tried it as a last step after eyeshadow, macara, etc. and still the fallout is inescapable. I think no matter what I do it ends up clinging to the base of my lashes so that every time I blink it scatters the powder. That's the only thing I can figure out since I've tried applying this in as many different ways as I could think of, including a separate tiny eyeliner brush. Because of the extreme pigmentation of the kohl the fallout doesn't just brush away easily either. It sticks to skin and smears when I try to brush it off.


But for a few minutes, man my eyes look stunning. I haven't seen a similar effect with any other kohl or dark liner worn in the waterline. It's just so dark, so rich, and the multi-colored fine shimmer makes it smolder in a unique way. I'm surprised at how long lasting it is but it's more water resistant and long wearing than most of my other liners that fall into that category. I really had to work to get this off... it took many q-tips and a ton of my Shu Uemura cleansing oil to remove it all.


I've worn loose kohls before but it's by no means as easy for me as a traditional liner. I didn't find it to be as difficult as I expected though; I just ended up using the applicator almost as I would a pencil liner and it went on easily enough if slowly. I wouldn't have minded the extra time to apply and to clean up a bit of fallout if that had been the end of it. Constantly trying to wipe off dark pigment is a pain and not worth it to me. I wish I had better luck with this as so many other reviewers did.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dewmercia on 6/13/2012 11:32:00 PM more reviews by dewmercia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

The colour is lovely and this loose powder does a decent job.One great point is it doesn't irritate my eyes even though huge chunk of powder would get in when I was just getting a hang of the application method. But for the price I'm paying, I feel I'm more in love with the packaging and the applicator than the product itself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blueelm on 6/9/2012 7:33:00 AM more reviews by blueelm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Oh wonderful. This is my new HG Kohl. I was curious about the powder, but a bit afraid to just buy an old powder because I have heard that some of the kohl/kajal you can pick up in an import store or market may contain lead.

The only eyeliner I have ever been able to use on my waterline is Lancome's Kohl pencil, but that is slightly different and lighter than this. It does not have the intensity of the real deal.

This product does exactly what it says it will. I do not find it any harder to apply than using cake liner to tightline, or applying a dark eye shadow.

I use the eastern method, and then fill in any area that looks missed. If you have *never* applied makeup on your waterline, this may be tricky.

The noir is very nicely black, but soft enough with my eye color not to look clownish. I can not believe how well this stays put. It is still on in the evening when I get home, and until I take it off. For me, this is perfect because it doesn't irritate my eyes at all.

I use ponds to wash my face, which takes off almost any make up, but if you use a cleanser without oil you will probably need makeup-remover to get this off.

For what you get in the bottle, and the sense of safety I get from knowing that Guerlain has to comply with regulations about what can be put in a human eye, I think this is the best kohl I know of.


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* april1976 on 6/2/2012 3:03:00 AM more reviews by april1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Yes, it's messy. Yes, you'll need to apply the "It takes a village" philosophy to get this off at night. But, oh my it's awesome.

I have a major issue with eyeliner staying put and not wandering downward, making me look like a baby panda.

Guerlain is no joke. It does take some practice, but it's much like riding a bicycle: once you get it, you won't forget how to do it.

My technique is to tap the excess powder off inside the container while I simultaneously remove the applicator stick. Then I do an initial line to my waterline. This helps get much of the product off, and is more precise. Next, I follow the lessons I observed on You Tube and Into The Gloss, and put the stick in the center of my eye, gently close the lids, and swipe outwards. Perfecto.

This stuff stays put. It does not irritate my eyes or my contact lenses. Be forewarned that the first few times you try this, you're going to look like Marilyn Manson. That won't last. I don't even baulk at the $32 price tag because it simply rocks my world.

In a nutshell, my boyfriend (who notices nothing) stated: "that totally changes your look. your eyes pop out and are even more beautiful." I use the Noir and the Brun consistently.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 juillet4paris on 5/30/2012 5:01:00 PM more reviews by juillet4paris

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought all the colors in this collection after all the hype. I'm still torn on this product. There is a very big learning curve to doing this properly, I'm convinced if you take the time then you could have an amazing look. I'm just tired of having to deal with the 'moving liner' throughout the day. That said the packaging is sublimal and taking this out of your purse makes me smile. I will continue to plug through on this considering the investment that I made :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Eyeliner products