Mario Badescu Lip Wax

3.3

23 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/3/2014 11:19:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I used to buy the Lip Wax stick version each season. Made my lips glossy and had a nice blackberry frangrance. This season, I just picked up the stick and they changed the formula. Not the same smell, it's now Rose Petals which I really don't want that flavor on my lips.
Also the consistancy is not the same. No longer shinny, more like a dull wax.



on 3/21/2013 10:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I added this to my order to get the free $50 shipping. I'm glad I did! I'm a lip product junkie and I love trying all sorts of things. I really love the slip of this. It melts onto my lips with just the lightest touch from the tube. I really don't even notice much of a smell, let alone a strong one like other reviews have stated. This makes my lips look glossy and it feels very moisturizing when on. I haven't used this long enough to see if my lips have a positive or negative reaction, but I like the feel of it on! It feels like I have an oil on my lips, and I like the feel of that, but if that's something you dislike I would reconsider.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2012 11:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I am a lip balm junkie, so to make my cart tot up to the free shipping amount, I threw this in. No. No, no, no.

This is a very solid lip balm, that you need to warm with your fingers slightly to use, and as you dip (I got the pot version) you get an extremely thin layer of oil on your finger. Much harder than something like rose salve (which I love, btw), more like beeswax, but more oily on application. Absorbs pretty quickly into the lips, as an oil does (if you've ever tried putting straight vit E oil or rose hip oil or something on your lips).

The smell is strong and herbal but not really pleasant. I didn't like it, and the performance of the wax was not anything near what it would have had to be for me to tolerate the smell.

I returned this, and would recommend as an alternative the Elizabeth Arden 8 hour lip protectant (a solid tube balm that leaves a thin, quickly absorbed layer) any Labello chapstick, shea butter (try L'Occitane's), or, better yet, the Elizabeth Arden 8 hour skin protectant, and just use it on your lips. This is the best overnight lip treatment I have found, with something like the consistency of rose salve (but it smells of grapefruit).


on 10/24/2011 4:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One word - "Lanolin". I am allergic to this...horribly. I love MB's stuff, but not this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2011 3:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have the one in a tube without SPF, and I hate it. The smell is really strong and off-putting to me, and it's extremely oily. The only time I feel comfortable using it is right before bed, and I've found that it doesn't actually soften my lips at all or help how chapped they are. In fact, I think they've gotten worse since I began using this.


on 3/29/2011 6:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I live in the Rocky Mountains - a high desert region. It is drier than all-get-out - zero humidity, lots of sun. My lips get so bad they develop multiple massive cracks that constantly bleed and I get those gnarly ones in the corners of my mouth that are so large anyone near me can see them. Sad when you are scared of yawning because it hurts too bad.

This is the only stuff that I have ever found that works. Period. Yes, it doesn't smell or taste that great, and it is kinda greasy and requires somewhat frequent reapplication. But if it is the only thing that stops my lips from giving off dime sized bloody flakes, I'll take it. The only thing I care about is that I can now yawn without pain and my lips are smooth as a baby's butt. Even my manly boyfriend, who eschews all facial products/cleansers/lotions/balms/etc, appreciates this stuff enough to carry it around.


on 8/24/2010 5:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought the non-spf tube version, and its an ok balm. My biggest qualm is that its very greasy (like petroleum jelly but more moisturizing) and it broke apart in the tube. Also there is hardly any staying power. There are better moisturizing balms out there that are not as messy.


on 11/21/2009 3:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm reviewing the SPF 15 one. It is actually a bit too oily for my taste, very moisturizing though. Replaces my daily lipgloss :D


on 5/27/2009 10:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I prefer the non spf version to this. Without SPF, this is an addictive balm that's just perfect... with spf, it's really gritty... not pleasant. $7 tops. I may go back to soft lips though... it's easier to get my hands on.
FYI!! Keep out of any heat! It will melt.


on 1/12/2009 9:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very dry lips...always chapped. I love love love this lip balm. Very balmy and keeps my lips nice and moist. Smell isn't that great, but it's almost like a natural, unscented scent. Highly recommend


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1504 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
176 Reviews
lip maximizer
98 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top