Mario Badescu • Lip Wax • Lip Treatments

rated 3.3(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 denisefilice on 1/3/2014 11:19:00 AM more reviews by denisefilice

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used to buy the Lip Wax stick version each season. Made my lips glossy and had a nice blackberry frangrance. This season, I just picked up the stick and they changed the formula. Not the same smell, it's now Rose Petals which I really don't want that flavor on my lips.
Also the consistancy is not the same. No longer shinny, more like a dull wax.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 3/21/2013 10:47:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I added this to my order to get the free $50 shipping. I'm glad I did! I'm a lip product junkie and I love trying all sorts of things. I really love the slip of this. It melts onto my lips with just the lightest touch from the tube. I really don't even notice much of a smell, let alone a strong one like other reviews have stated. This makes my lips look glossy and it feels very moisturizing when on. I haven't used this long enough to see if my lips have a positive or negative reaction, but I like the feel of it on! It feels like I have an oil on my lips, and I like the feel of that, but if that's something you dislike I would reconsider.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mianga on 4/6/2012 11:40:00 AM more reviews by mianga

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I am a lip balm junkie, so to make my cart tot up to the free shipping amount, I threw this in. No. No, no, no.

This is a very solid lip balm, that you need to warm with your fingers slightly to use, and as you dip (I got the pot version) you get an extremely thin layer of oil on your finger. Much harder than something like rose salve (which I love, btw), more like beeswax, but more oily on application. Absorbs pretty quickly into the lips, as an oil does (if you've ever tried putting straight vit E oil or rose hip oil or something on your lips).

The smell is strong and herbal but not really pleasant. I didn't like it, and the performance of the wax was not anything near what it would have had to be for me to tolerate the smell.

I returned this, and would recommend as an alternative the Elizabeth Arden 8 hour lip protectant (a solid tube balm that leaves a thin, quickly absorbed layer) any Labello chapstick, shea butter (try L'Occitane's), or, better yet, the Elizabeth Arden 8 hour skin protectant, and just use it on your lips. This is the best overnight lip treatment I have found, with something like the consistency of rose salve (but it smells of grapefruit).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 10/24/2011 4:47:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One word - "Lanolin". I am allergic to this...horribly. I love MB's stuff, but not this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ely617 on 7/25/2011 3:15:00 AM more reviews by ely617

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have the one in a tube without SPF, and I hate it. The smell is really strong and off-putting to me, and it's extremely oily. The only time I feel comfortable using it is right before bed, and I've found that it doesn't actually soften my lips at all or help how chapped they are. In fact, I think they've gotten worse since I began using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lucidresq on 3/29/2011 6:05:00 PM more reviews by lucidresq

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I live in the Rocky Mountains - a high desert region. It is drier than all-get-out - zero humidity, lots of sun. My lips get so bad they develop multiple massive cracks that constantly bleed and I get those gnarly ones in the corners of my mouth that are so large anyone near me can see them. Sad when you are scared of yawning because it hurts too bad.

This is the only stuff that I have ever found that works. Period. Yes, it doesn't smell or taste that great, and it is kinda greasy and requires somewhat frequent reapplication. But if it is the only thing that stops my lips from giving off dime sized bloody flakes, I'll take it. The only thing I care about is that I can now yawn without pain and my lips are smooth as a baby's butt. Even my manly boyfriend, who eschews all facial products/cleansers/lotions/balms/etc, appreciates this stuff enough to carry it around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tahari on 8/24/2010 5:31:00 PM more reviews by Tahari

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the non-spf tube version, and its an ok balm. My biggest qualm is that its very greasy (like petroleum jelly but more moisturizing) and it broke apart in the tube. Also there is hardly any staying power. There are better moisturizing balms out there that are not as messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michybabe on 11/21/2009 3:05:00 PM more reviews by michybabe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm reviewing the SPF 15 one. It is actually a bit too oily for my taste, very moisturizing though. Replaces my daily lipgloss :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mjoy14 on 5/27/2009 10:43:00 PM more reviews by mjoy14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I prefer the non spf version to this. Without SPF, this is an addictive balm that's just perfect... with spf, it's really gritty... not pleasant. $7 tops. I may go back to soft lips though... it's easier to get my hands on.
FYI!! Keep out of any heat! It will melt.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLaura2 on 1/12/2009 9:09:00 PM more reviews by MissLaura2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have very dry lips...always chapped. I love love love this lip balm. Very balmy and keeps my lips nice and moist. Smell isn't that great, but it's almost like a natural, unscented scent. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Lip Treatments products