Worth • Je Reviens • Fragrances

rated 4.0(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 debrsl on 4/3/2014 4:22:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of this from someone, so I don't know which version I have. The juice is blue. It smells fantastic. I like it alot. It smells like a classic. It strikes me as airy at times and now, in the drydown, haunting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 1/4/2014 10:59:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for the Eau de Cologne version.

In 1932, nose Maurice Blanchet created a timeless piece of fragrance that, in my view, surpasses all era related concerns and can appeal to the most modern audiences. Especially nowadays, with more and more niche noses creating abstract fragrances attempting to capture breezy, light, non-perfume odours, I believe that Jeviens eau de cologne can be understood much better than it was during the oriental eightenties. It is the morning breeze in a fresh morning carrying wafts of dewy flowers from afar... so much so that they are near abstractions, too. Clean, vast, airy.

Angela on NowSmellThis likens this version of Je Reviens to watered silk and I understand that association. To my nose, it smells like steam from newly pressed cotton fabric. An abstract cloud of fragrance both there and ethereal. Both innocent and professional smelling.

In other versions, there is more complexity, a bittersweet tone, perhaps sweet like very subtle menthol and a slightly bitter greenness from some stems. I also feel that the steam note ever so slightly turns into hay. Very pleasant but I prefer the eau de cologne, even if some might find it too watery.

I feel Je Reviens is on par with more expensive soft abstract fragrances like Amouage Dia or Boadieca Divine.

I love it so much that I am ready to overlook the low sillage and lasting power this time.





1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LyrA236 on 10/18/2013 12:33:00 PM more reviews by LyrA236

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had not worn this fragrance for decades, and a burst of nostalgia caused me to revisit it. Surprisingly, it smells remarkably similar to what I recall, even though I am sure the formula has changed to meet the new restrictions. There are white flowers and woods. And while is smells a bit demure, it also smells elegant. It also lasts quite some time, unlike modern gone-in-half-an-hour fragrances. It is subtle enough to work in a professional setting, if you apply lightly. An extra spritz can get you in a black tie mood. Quite nice. Quite classic. And yes "I shall return" to this fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yum_yum on 8/16/2012 8:21:00 AM more reviews by yum_yum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't remember the vintage version well enough to comment, but the current one is great. It helps that I like aldehydes. Mostly this is powdery iris and carnation, and a bit of all the other floral notes it claims to have. The narcissus note is nice, quite green and the ylang keeps it from being too conventionally girly. The sandalwood base is easygoing too. What's good about this is -- it isn't overdone. It's very pretty and balanced with a reserved glamour factor. It also smells old-fashioned (retro) to me, which is a plus. I quite enjoy floral perfumes easily available at discount: Je Reviens, Bluegrass, Oscar de la Renta and L'Air du Temps. They manage to express the floral theme without throwing in too much fruit or going overkill on the woods.
I prefer Je Reviens in summer. It's comforting when I'm under the weather or plain tired. The iris is handled well -- I prefer the note here more than the note in niche scents like Iris Poudre. If you like gentle carnation with other equally soft florals, give this a chance. It's not like the big carnation perfumes: Bellodgia, Floris Malmaison, Spellbound or Bluegrass. It's far more reserved. Years ago I owned the soap, lotion and body powder -- I suppose it was all 'vintage'. It was easy to layer in that it didn't become dense or cloying -- and for an unobtrusive scent, it was memorable enough for me to repurchase many years later. I've seen different packaging for this: the tall bottle with the plastic lid and a little round Lalique-style, frosted glass bottle with a 'W' embossed stopper. The latter would look lovely on a dressing table.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Karidinka on 4/15/2011 2:56:00 AM more reviews by Karidinka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I stumbled across the reviews for this perfume by accident, and they brought tears to my eyes, as this was my Mom's "signature scent" before it became such a PITA to find, so she switched to Chanel No 5.

I'm pleasantly surprised that in the era of generic, girlie scents this fragrance is so much appreciated by reviewers on MUA (I'm annoyed when reading of the "old lady" smell of many classic perfumes, by reviewers who would probably wear the scent of poop as long as it was trendy, lol).

Like Shalimar and many other classics, this scent is not to be confused with any other. I swear I could recognize it even now, after almost 2 decades. As a matter of fact, I'm now considering ordering it online, making sure I get the vintage version!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettykitty1 on 2/24/2011 11:10:00 PM more reviews by prettykitty1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I have a cheap mini bottle of Je Reviens EDT that I bought on a whim because I needed to spend a few more dollars to reach the minimum $25 order that I needed in order to qualify for free shipping on an online purchase. Because it was so cheap, my expectations weren't very high, but when it arrived, I was ecstastic by how good it smelled.


It's a nice, clean, soapy smell that reminds me of those expensive imported floral soaps that are sold in fancy gift boxes. You know the kind of soap I'm talking about-- it's molded and embossed and so fragrant that you're almost afraid to use it, so you put it in your dresser drawer for a few months so it can perfume your clothing. And once in a while, you take the soap out of the box and admire how pretty it is in the palm of your hand before deciding to put it back in the drawer. Eventually, you take the soap into the bathroom where it belongs, and when you finally work up the nerve to you use it, you feel inexplicably sad.


This is how Je Reviens smells to me-- like the most elegant kind of embossed soap, the kind that is meant to be savored for months, not used up too quickly. Fortunately, at this ridiculously low price, I don't have to use Je Reviens sparingly. I can wear it whenever I'm in the mood for a fresh-out-of-the-shower scent that is simple, linear, but still very classy.

I know that this is the reformulated version and that it's considered inferior to the vintage one, but for once in my life I'm so pleased with a modern version of a scent that I feel no need to try vintage Je Reviens or even the new Je Reviens Couture flanker, which I hear is a resurrection of the vintage scent. But I do feel bad for anyone whose heart belongs to the original Je Reviens. I know how painful it is to see a scent get discontinued and then brought back as a ghost of its former self. Thankfully, I don't have a memory of the original to compare this to, or I'd probably be up in arms too.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 10/30/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am reviewing je reviens couture which is supposed to be nearly identical to the old one before it became cheap and washed out.

The packaging is lovely with the dark blue bottle that I remember.
First you get a blast of aldehydes and a lovely bitter green note which I take to be salicylicate. the dry down is quite powdery.

This is a very pretty, classy fragrance. it was my Mother-in-law's holy grail so I probably will not wear it around my DH. I hope it is not discontinued as I bought mine from a discounter. Adding the staying power is very good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cacvsp on 10/7/2010 1:45:00 PM more reviews by cacvsp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wore this a teen in the early 70s.
I got a newer formulation while visiting in NewYork about 5 years ago.
Not the same at all!!!!
I went on Ebay and bought a bottle very reasonably and it was a type of bottle I remember owning years ago--a bottle with flowers impressed on it. I eagerly ripped off the packaging when the mail arrived and
ahhhhh--there was the smell I remembered!!!
The thing I like best about this scent is that it smells like nothing else.
But you have to go vintage on this one. Or maybe try the new "couture" version,

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whitecountess on 9/2/2010 6:11:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Je Reviens is THE ultimate nostalgic fragrance. When American men were leaving for the second World War, all of the military men gave their beloveds this perfume to remember them by. A not entirely truthful translator joined with a brilliant advertiser translated Je Reviens as "I will return". This perfume became a scent infused with so much emotion that even POST WWII, it was a bestseller.
A vintage parfum sample arrived today. Jean Claude Ellena described it as "Delicate Skin" and it's hard to do better than that. Many people have likened Je Reviens to No. 5, but I'm not getting that. It smells clean and fragile, but even more than that, it strikes an accord that no other perfume does. It makes you smell it again and again to figure out how such a fresh scent can simultaneously contain a hint of smoke.
It must be a kind of magic.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 7/7/2010 2:21:00 PM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Je Reviens has changed a lot over the years. I've products covering a fair spectrum, from vintage edp to modern edt to even more modern haute reworking of JR back to its roots. I have to say, while there is a little thin-ness to the less expensive newer versions, overall JR is a beautiful, timeless classic which nicely fills the iris niche for me.

It manages to catch both that dry, woody/powdery feel of iris, but also hold a little citric lushness and a sandalwood/wood spine. Overlaid on this is a very feminine floral -- a touch of violet (not usually my favorite but carried nicely here) and white musk. There's also a green, almost cannibis note. I like layering the vintage parfum with any vintage edt for a veil effect.

The haute re-working, which comes in a ridged blue tower bottle, deserves its own section. But since many will come to this looking up the haute version, I'll cover it here. It does, indeed, ring back to the stronger, more powdery vintage version, as well as capturing (I think through citronella) a really strong citrus. I love it, but it's a strong, sometimes bitter, woody/citric over powdery sandalwood, not much like the almost watery, light, floaty Je Reviens of the drugstore bottles.

I can hear gasps of dismay about to burst, but honestly, I think this is quite nice in the drugstore version, very pretty, feminine, and wearable. If I HAD to redeem a drugstore coupon on fragrance, this wouldn't be a bad way to go at all. I think it's better to get some of the more vintage versions for very little at the Bay or online perfume stores, and springing for the vintage parfum (which can still be had quite inexpensively and which comes in beautiful bottles) is a real delight.

I may be revealing myself as an iris-note peasant, but really, I could be quite happy (and for a long time have been) getting all my iris cravings satisfied with Je Reviens. I love wearing it when I want something cool, floral and elegant, with a little woody touch, or when I want something vintage. It comes in a huge bottle and I love how free to crazy-spray it I feel. It's hard to overspray since it fades quickly and never blasts. It is a little on the classic side, but I think the cool green-ness of the wood lifts it out of the Perhaps Too Classic risk category and makes it a very modern fragrance in many ways.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Worth products

More Fragrances products