Mario Badescu Healing and Soothing Mask

4.0

88 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua), Seamollient,Balsam (Myroxylon Pereirae Resin) Peru, Zinc Oxide, Talc,Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Starch,Castor (Castor Rinicus Communis) Oil,Kaolin,Hydrolized Yeast Protein,Lanolin Alcohol,Oatmeal (Avena Sativa) 5/20/09


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't normally review things immediately after trying them (and I will definitely update this review after a month or so of use) but oh my goodness—I can already tell that this has the potential to be a HG product. I have oily, acne-prone skin and have been going through a lot over the last month or two to calm down my acne. Now I'm in a stage where I'm still getting breakouts but the majority of my spots are trying to heal and are a kind of scabby/dry/peeling mess.

I've used this mask once so far for 20-30 minutes after a shower (after I shower I exfoliate my face with my La Lune Activated Charcoal and Bamboo Konjac Sponge with a little of my Avalon Organics Vitamin C Cleanser). After I removed it (very easy removal btw, only need warm water and your hands) my skin felt so soft and moisturized and my skin was still plenty blemished looking but it looked and felt calmer. I'm sure with regular use this will be such a skin savior.

They suggest alternating it with their drying mask which I didn't buy but got a sample of (because I didn't know if I'd like it) and I haven't tried that yet. I did get the drying cream, though and that seems to be fine. I've also only used that once hah.

-----UPDATE-----
It's been over a month now, and this is still a HG product in my book. I use this whenever I feel like my skin needs a hug and it delivers. My cousin even said after I had used it one night that my skin looked a little better after I had taken it off! It just calms your skin and helps things not be so broken and flakey, I feel. I especially like exfoliating before using this so that it has a nice fresh surface to work it's magic on. The results are great.

I have since bought the full size of the dying mask after using the couple of samples I got and I will say that alternating between the drying and healing mask is amazing. When I'm really breaking out it helps me feel so much better to use them both.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/8/2015 10:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love this mask, i use it a face mask weekly and as acne treatment, i apply a tiny amount on the acne spot and leave it over night wash my face in the morning and the zit is smaller or gone


on 12/14/2014 10:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This product makes my skin worse acne-wise. I suspect it is the Balsam Peru since that ingredient is also in MB's Control Moisturizer for Oily Skin and I get the same result. Seamollient is also in both, however I use the Strawberry Face Scrub, which also contains seamollient and have not had any issues.

According to some online sources, Balsam of Peru is a common allergen. I don't know if that is my problem or not, I just know this stuff messes with my skin.

I chose this as a sample, thankfully, and have used it three times. Each time my existing acne looks worse and I have new areas starting up.

I don't love the feel of this mask, and as others have said it is hard to wash off completely. Perhaps that was clogging my pores. It is not worth using this.

Avoid the Control Moisturizer for Oily Skin if this disagrees with you, it is even worse since you leave that on your skin...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

My skin is usually oily and is never sensitive so I didnt expect much and didnt really know how to judge this mask. But the other day, I was extracting black heads and clogged pores and my skin was super red as a result. Hence, I used this mask to calm it down. Surprisingly, when I washed off the mask, there were no red patches on my skin! So I will keep using this mask whenever there is discomfort and when my skin is dry in the winter. Does leave a layer of residue behind but I clean it off with my toner before my serum and moisturizer. Did not break me out, yet.


on 1/18/2014 3:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Everytime I use the drying mask overnight on some spots, the areas would be more or less dry because the mask works.

To counter the drying effect of the mask, i would apply a thin coat of this on the same spots overnight to let it calm my skin down.

Good companion product with the Drying Mask. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/16/2013 12:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i dont use this mask for healing, soothing, or anything to do with acne. for those things, i find it to be ineffective. i use it simply to brighten and even out my skin tone. the revised version of this has lemon in it. lemon is excellent for making skin radiant and helping to fade marks. my complexion looks much better since i started using this mask. i will continue using it...its a keeper!

UPDATE:
this mask is extremely hard to rinse off. it leaves behind a heavy residue. normally i wouldnt mind because i like going to bed with the residue on as i feel like the mask is continuing to work overnite. but with this mask, sleeping with the residue on causes breakouts. and washing it off with face wash denies me that radiant glow the next day and also prevents it from fading marks. sadly, i will have to discontinue use :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2013 12:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

OSWP / DSWP skin.

I bought this product to calm my skin and pamper it after regular 30% multi-acid peels I do on the weekends. It does the job - calm redness, soothes, plumps, hydrates, smoothes. I can't complain. It is not the most hydrating product I have ever used, but it definitely soothes my skin after the heavy treatments. I will not repurchase, however, because I don't find it necessary part of my routine. My skin recovered just the same with a nice moisturizer.


on 7/18/2013 4:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I suffer from cystic acne, which is a bitch to heal so I decided to get this mask to help speed up the healing and lessen the redness from the pimples. I tried it two times and each time I ended up with new pimples. As the mask was the only new product in my skincare routine it's definitely the culprit. Which is annoying as I've loved all the other products I've bought from MB in the past. I think it's the "film" the mask leaves behind that's causing the pimples but I can't know for sure.

That's why I decided to use the mask as a spot treatment instead, as I knew others had done so and I figured it was worth a shot. I put it on different cystic pimples overnight and in the morning two of them had come to a head. Which is a minor miracle as neither the buffering lotion nor the drying cream had made that happen in the two previous days of treatment. The pimples were still peeling but some of the redness had disappeared and overall the pimples looked better. I'll definitely use the mask as a spot treatment instead from now on.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this mask. I use this the next day after using the MB Drying Mask to keep my random acne in check or after a night of using my retinol cream. It is easy to rinse off and doesn't leave my skin feeling tight or irritated. A little goes a long way so I imagine this lasting me for quite awhile.

Update 4/25/2015: I think this was reformulated because the second tub that I bought gave me a different outcome from the first. Its hard as heck to remove and it leaves a nasty film on the skin that requires me to use an aggressive toner to remove which totally defeats the purpose of being healing and soothing. Over the past year a few of my beloved MB faves have been reformulated for the worse rather than for the better so I'm quickly finding myself extracting myself from the line which is such a shame because it was once had some great products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2013 2:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff. I'm prone to cystic blemishes. Topical Clyndamycin helps tons, but it can dry the spots out and further irritate the skin around it. I rub some of this stuff into the blemish, pile some more on top, and leave it on over night. I wake up to a much less red, much less hard, spot. It really brings down the swelling. It's also great for when my skin in general just feels burny or dry. Lasts forever, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4238 Reviews
Back to Top