Cle de Peau • Loose Powder • Loose Powders

rated 4.5(75 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 suepak on 4/9/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by suepak

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately I love this powder...it gives me a nice matt finish in the beginning and gets a really nice glow without highliter. My problem is price and the packaging is a bit clumsy and they keep changing the package so I also don't like that I have to spend a very large amoung of money on powder box or whatever it is called.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 4/1/2014 2:04:00 AM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Oh Cle de Peu how I do love you. This powder is so finely milled and a little does go a very long way. I have owned this for 6 - 8 months and tried over various foundations and BB creams - it partners beautifully with them all.

This comes in quite a decent sized container and I believe you can buy refills? The powder puff inside is soft and lux though I never use it. I really like how the inner design has a separate lid from the container lid to stop it getting too messy. (will include photos above to show this) It has a mesh insert inside but as the powder is so fine a lot still comes up through the mesh when pushed down. So would not make the best travel companion.

I find this powder fine enough to set under eye concealer and especially flawless if done with a tip of a slightly dampened and dried off beauty blender. I have used all sorts of brushes to apply this my current favourite method which seems to be working really well over any foundation are the Sedona Lace 850 angled and RT contour brush - just little areas at a time leaves a flawless finish and non-powdery look.

The powder does look to have a slight "pinkish" hue to it however it is translucent and definately does not leave a pink cast on my NC15 skintone. Nor does it make me look white. It really is one of my favourites and I will happily enjoy this Cle de Peu product for a long time to come - unless I work out how to actually grow a money tree and buy more from the range :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 0113ichijiku on 2/17/2014 11:56:00 AM more reviews by 0113ichijiku

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was very looking forward to use this powder but I didn't like it at all. My skin looks sooo dry and some reasons got so white. I tried few different liquid foundations but didn't work non of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NoirAngelx on 7/26/2013 9:36:00 PM more reviews by NoirAngelx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful loose powder, my favorite after Chanel Poudre Universelle. The difference between these two is that Chanel offers more coverage and oil control, while the Cle de Peau is super sheer with a brightening effect. It is also less powdery, and upon setting my makeup, I cannot even see a trace of any powder. The color is a very pale pinkish white, however, it doesn't lighten the color of my foundation as it is translucent. I imagine it could appear ashy though on darker and very warm-toned skin. It also has subtle shimmery particles in it, but not as much as La Mer Translucent or Koh Gen Do Natural Lighting powder. It disappears into the skin after powdering. It just sets the makeup very naturally, with no color or shimmer visible. It also doesn't dull the finish of foundation at all. Because I have oily skin, I don't find this is the best to use always as it doesn't do much for stopping shine. However, I like to use this as a finishing powder over my regular loose powder at times, because it gives a beautiful porcelain glow similar to Guerlain Meteorites in Teint Rose. It also works nicely over the Cream foundation, which has a matte finish, so this sets it very naturally with a bit of glow. Overall, It is a very high-quality powder that is worth trying!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eastend_Snob on 7/7/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by Eastend_Snob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Something about this loose powder makes me feel mature and sophisticated. Maybe it's the vintage looking packaging but I definitely feel like a classy lady when using this powder. I was tossing up between this and T. LeClerc and went with CDP because I just wanted a translucent powder and T.LeClerc had too many colour options. CDP is also the most expensive loose powder I have ever purchased but it is undoubtedly an excellent product. The powder is very soft and finely milled, blends well and great for setting makeup. It also does not leave me looking chalky. The box is generously sized, contains a sieve (which slightly helps control the amount of product you use and minimise wastage) and will surely last me a long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nhwhazup on 4/21/2013 7:50:00 AM more reviews by nhwhazup

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this loose powder as a sample when asking about the CDP pressed powder. The SA said they basically give the same effect. I'm hoping the pressed powder will be the same finish as the loose but in a travel friendly package.

I really like this loose powder - like the slight pink which keeps the powder from looking too yellow or too ashy as the neutral beige powders tend to on me. The coloring is translucent with just that slight pink which just gives a brightness to my face. It also has very subtle sparkle but so subtle that it really doesn't show unless you are specifically looking for it and looking very closely. Usually I hate the sparkle but this one does it right.

The feel of this powder is divine - very finely milled with a so soft finish on the face. Really very soft look and feel and doesn't settle into lines or pores.

My daily at home loose powder is Ben Nye in fair which is do cheap and works nicely. It might be a few years before I run out of the BN. But when I do, this CDP will be my replacement. I just hope the CDP pressed powder I ordered is as good as the loose powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clarissa90 on 3/18/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This powder is just okay. I believe it is very overpriced. NARS Reflecting loose powder , YSL, and the Ben Nye are comparable in terms of having a nice finish and being finely milled. I would go to any of those brands since they are more affordable. I will nor purchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flybaby on 5/23/2012 9:41:00 PM more reviews by flybaby

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My all time favorite loose powder!

It is completely translucent. I don't understand some of the comments about it leaving a pinkish cast. I wonder if maybe way too much powder is being applied? When I purchased, I did buy the entire product (powder + container) rather than just purchasing the refill, and it might make a difference that the sifter that comes with it is the mesh screen rather than a rigid lid with holes.

This powder never accentuates fine lines and/or dry patches. It gives just the perfect finish! It does not impart color, it allows me to look radiant. I apply with a fluffy synthetic bristle powder brush.

The container is absolutely gorgeous too! It is a sumptuous deep blue (looks black) with a high lacquer shine.

To compare with other powders I have used in the past, Chantecaille is fluffier and more matte, Becca although also very fine milled is not as fine, and is not as transparent. Chanel is heavier and offers significantly more coverage,it also is much more mattifying than CDP..

I stated that I would repurchase, but cannot imagine when I will have to. I've had this for about a year, and I can't tell anything is even used from the container, it still seems full.

I love it so much that I bought a Stratton compact from Vanroe, just so I can carry powder with me for touch ups—and I have a Chanel and Becca pressed powder compact already!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Koeywinglee on 4/22/2012 5:02:00 AM more reviews by Koeywinglee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I LOVE this loose powder! Given that I have combo skin, I have always been on the hunt for a good setting powder that mattifies and controls oil. I was really into MAC blot powder after trying several pressed powders as it really controls oil like none other - i gone through two of the blots powders and I was ready to get a third one... but wait, the powder is really drying on days where my combo skin tends to be BOTH oily and dry, and the powder seems to highlight any dry spot that I have on my face... OKAY i should stop before this turns into the blot powder review... so with that said, my face now is LOVING the new cdp loose powder after I decided to splurge on this bad boy...
The powder feels really light on the skin... I have the best result to pat this on my face using a blush brush. I found that using more of this product is better for me personally as I always have super long days. Patting on this powder helps my makeup to set and lasts longer. The pink tinge of this powder will give you sort of a brightening effect if you have yellow undertones as I do.
Price-wise this is outrageous. I am really battling whether I am going to repurchase this given that I already have a few loose powders as well as pressed one to last me for maybe a lifetime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LAURA11976 on 2/2/2012 10:58:00 PM more reviews by LAURA11976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It is soft and airy feeling that blend in my face without looking cakey. I used this power to set my makeup, it has shimmer but very fine and show very nice on my face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cle de Peau products

More Loose Powders products