Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Anti-Chip Top Coat

4.2

505 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ethyl Acetate, SD Alcohol 40-B, Butyl Acetate, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Acrylates Copolymer, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Triphenyl Phosphate, Sucrose Benzoate, Nitrocellulose, Etocrylene, Benzophenone-1, Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Saccharide Isomerate, Algae Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Water, Hydrolyzed Rice Bran Protein, Violet 2.


on 8/28/2015 1:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Deep Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This works well in minimizing chipping. However, it becomes very thick within a few months of usage. Once it gets to that stage, it tends to trap air bubbles in it when it is applied - not very pretty or effective. This is the second bottle that I've had to throw away after a few months.



on 8/14/2015 3:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I would definitely buy this again. I was looking for a simple, cheapish quick dry topcoat and decided to get this. I absolutely love it. Usually my nails could take up to 25 minutes to totally dry, depending but with this, it takes *maybe* 5 minutes. It does "dry" within seconds but you will get dents if you try doing too much. I didn't have any issues with chipping. I cap all my layers and that seems to help A LOT (I notice when I don't cap, it chips quicky). I change polish frequently so I only need my polish to last 2-4 days without chipping anyway. I also try to keep my hands from being wet or using my nails as tools to prevent chipping. It's not a miracle product, but it works for me and I'm happy with its overall performance for the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Bought this after serious disappointment from Seche Vite (it became unusable halfway through the bottle). I've only used this once but I already like it better than Seche Vite. I live in a very humid area and my nails will not dry completely unless I use a quick dry top coat. My nails were completely dry in about 10 minutes. I love the formula. It's very thin and easy to work with and it doesn't shrink on the sides of my nails like Seche Vite does. My polish lasted about 4 days before chipping occurred, but I'm a housekeeper so that's a long time for me. Overall very impressed and will continue to buy this unless I find something better. Also anxious to see if it will get all goopy and gross halfway through like Seche Vite did.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2015 2:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Yes, yes YES! Bought this at target on sale for $3 after reading the rave reviews. I used to use the OPI top coat but it didn't even get me through the first day of my manis. I used this atop my essie "where's my chauffeur?" and its been FOUR days and it still looks like a fresh mani. It's been through four days of washing dishes, cleaning house, and working (my hands go through a lot at work). Not a single chip, not even fading on the tops or edges!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2015 10:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product has changed my life... dramatic I know but seriously it's perfection.
Ive painted my nails a couple of hours before bed and no creases!! when I wake up in the morning and to me that's really the ultimate dry test.
It's great at being chip resistant and I have a hands on job where by the end of one day I would have chips a plenty and now I either have none or one tiny chip.
Im in love 😍

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2015 12:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the definition of a perfect product!!! For a top coat, criteria are:
- Protection: check! 4-5 days for me, because I use my hands a lot. Regular polish lasts 2.5 days. Manicure lasts 5 days. So this polish for 4-5 days? Oh yeah, that's really good.
- Finish: beautiful! It adds extra gloss and shine to even the dullest colours.
- The "insta-dri" claim: YES! unbelievable!! After painting my last finger, my first hand is already all dried. Yup!!! But by "dry" it means you can start using your hands on simple things like cooking, typing, picking things up, and even washing dishes (done it!). But washing your hair, unbuttoning tight jeans, and putting together furniture (anything that repeatedly scratches your nails), you'll have to wait a few more hours. I'm saying this because I don't want you saving the world after this top coat. It's not THAT invincible, but you can definitely do a lot of everyday things right away!! including sleeping.

I apply only one layer of this top coat. It's thick and gel-like. Very gunky if you apply too much. It can get messy if you have a lot of cat hair flying in the air. This bottle has lasted me 3 years. It's amazing, I love it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 11:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Literally, the best on the go nail product ever. The packaging has changed, but the formula is still amazing. It's super cheap, and works wonders. My nails last about 5-7 days with this, and considering I'm rough with my nails that says a lot. I normally chip my nails within two days! The finish is BEAUTIFUL. It's so glossy and it almost looks like gel. I always get asked if I'm wearing shellac. It dries ridiculously fast, I just put my nail polish on and I don't even have patience for it to dry, so I wait about 5 minutes and put the top coat and within minutes my nails are ready! Such an amazing product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2015 4:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this stuff! It dries so fast and unlike Seche Vite it wasn't thick and goopy or sticky, and it didn't do the infamous shrinking that Seche Vite is known to do. Goes on absolutely evenly and is extremely shiny and makes for a really lovely manicure. It doesn't completely dry in seconds, but I'd say in about 10-15 mins I was able to do whatever I wanted and pretty much went about my business. This stuff is so worth it and I will continue to purchase. 👍🏻

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2015 1:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is not the miracle worker everyone claims it is for me. It does not dry fast. I've tried it with roughly ten different polishes and it takes the same amount of time to dry.


on 4/12/2015 6:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product.

After having issues with another Sally Hansen Nail Polish I wrote them expressing my dismay and asking to send that product back. Sally Hansen not only replaced my polish but they sent me the Insta-Dri top coat and the Double Duty basecoat and instructions on how to do a manicure that lasts.

I'm in LOVE with the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri topcoat. It needs time to dry, its not instant drying, but its still a damn fine topcoat that protects my manicure and makes them last longer. I also love the effect it gives over the polish, all shiny and professional looking.

I'm getting towards the end of my bottle now and at about the half way mark I started adding thinner for a better result as it was getting a bit thick and stringy. But, a few drops of Nail Polish Thinner after every use then back in its storage area and this stuff is applying as well as the day I received it.

Love this stuff and would definitely consider repurchasing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top