Lancome Rouge Absolu Creme in Sugared Maple

4.6

22 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Somebody earlier mentioned that Lancome must have removed the scent from this at some point. I'd have to agree. I'm the queen of being able to smell something even when a product claims to be scent-free. I can smell chemical in Clinique lipsticks, but this has no detectable odour whatsoever. No rose scent either.


This is my first-ever Lancome lipstick. On my lips, it looks identical in colour and texture to Clinique's "Berry Freeze". A nice warm red with undertones of bronze/orange. I apply just a skiff of it and then spread it with a lip brush to stain my lips, then put a clear gloss overtop.



on 12/5/2010 1:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great product! One of my favorite red lipsticks!


on 6/25/2010 5:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I got this like most people as a gwp but i found that they sell these on ebay for cheap!! its the perfect everyday/anywhere color. its bold and pretty. I wear it with a natural eye, only nars albatros for the brow bone highlight. simple top e/l and mascara. fun and games on the cheeks.


on 5/11/2010 11:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this in a gwp so I have ugly packaging, therefore my review will just be about the product. Oh. My. God. This is the absolute perfect MLBB shade on me except with a red tint. I love how I can build up the intensity-- with one thin layer it just looks my lips with an extra oomph but with more it's a super sexy muted red. I love putting my red tinted lipgloss over this to really make the red come out and it's such a perfect color for all occasions! I will definitely repurchase this when the time comes because it's one of the most flattering lipsticks I've ever owned. My only qualm is that it isn't very moisturizing, but it's not supposed to be so that's fine.


on 9/17/2009 12:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wear this lipstick every day. I love it. It's a neutral peachy brown in the tube, but because my lips have a lot of red pigment I get a reddish orange color from this product. It works with any color of blush, even pink, and is a no-brainer, especially with my olive skin. I plan on wearing this for years to come. It's turned out to be one of the best makeup purchases I've ever made. For those unfamiliar with this line, this is a creamy, full coverage lipstick that is almost matte but gives a little bit of shine and lasts practically all day, although you will have to reapply after eating. Highly recommended for everyone, except those with very fair skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2009 5:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lipstick has a very nice color. It is a peachy red color with a bit of brown undertones. The texture of the lipstick is very creamy and still pigmented. I was very impressed with this lipstick. At first is settled into the lines of my lips and made my lips look more wrinkley but after a few minutes the lipstick settled and looks lovely. If you are a fan of lipstick check this out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2008 10:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Oh wow, I received this in a gwp, and its the most beautiful metallic reddish shade thats very flattering on darker skintones. Its not maroon, or pink, but the perfect reddish pigment to pass for red. I highly recommend this but the sad thing is you cant find the shade anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2008 8:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

A very, very brilliant find if you are looking for a neutral-warm shade that will enhance what is already there. Sugared Maple is neither red, nor brown, but it is really a nice, full, dusky pout. The sheen enhances your lips size, while the pigment deepens your colouring, creating a very natural, earthy effect. No liner is needed, as the sheen fills in all lines.
I don't like brown lipsticks because they make teeth look yellow, and I am not longer big on bright red either because my NC 15 skin can't support it any more. This is a nice fit in between, yet difficult to describe! You must go and see it for yourself to see how lovely it truly is.

I am a lip gloss girl and now only own four lip sticks. This one is absolutely stunning and I adore it. It's very flattering to a fair and warm skin tone, wears well with different colours because it is subtle, yet powerful and medium in intensity. It gives a very polished, classy look. I pair it with dark, smoky eyes, or a clean, well made up look of warm browns on the eyes and peachy-blush. I can imagine it would also be lovely on darker women as well!

The texture is nice as well, smooth and seems to last. It feels like a quality lipstick, not like one of those awful, cheap long lasting formulas. I like that it doesn't chunk and glob as much as other lipsticks, leaving unsightly rims on drinking glasses. This is my "go to lipstick" for special occasions. It's camera friendly and lasts longer than a gloss, yet has a lovely sheen. For you older ladies, this does not highlight any lip lines at all and works very well with a simple nude liner.

All in all, a lovely little gem and will be repurchased.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got this as a GWP and what a gorgeous muted red! It was included in the "warm" gift, but I agree with previous reviewers it is quite neutral and would work with most skin tones. On the back of my hand it's a soft red with copper tones, but on white paper it looks more reddish brown. I'm very fair-skinned (neutral-toned Mac NC/NW 15) and lipstick tends to look dramatic on me. Bright reds make me look clownish, but Sugared Maple is my "perfect red." And the subtle shimmer is just enough to prevent it looking "flat." For me it's definitely a bold look and I will use it mostly in the evening, but it would probably look more subtle on darker complexions and be a nice daytime shade. The texture is smooth and creamy, and I love that it has no scent or taste - unlike Lancome's earlier lipstick formulation (I've been buying Clinique lipsticks more often but I just might have to swich back). Also, I must say I am very impressed with Lancome's GWP lipsticks. As someone who has trouble finding lipstick that suits me, I've liked 4 out of the 6 GWP lipsticks I've received over the years (2 of the "warm" colors and 2 of the "cool" colors work well for me.) Lancome has regular bonus times with generous gifts, so go for it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2007 7:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this color although I am surprised to hear it referred to as red. I wonder if it just looks different on different skin tones or what? Anyway on me it is brown with pink mauvy tones. Its the perfect nude lipstick for me. In the tube it looks just brown but when it's on it has more of a pinkish tone. I think it will be great for Fall.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Lancome Products

image

Foundation Brush

150 reviews
image

Rouge in Love

50 reviews
Back to Top