NARS • Body Glow • Highlighters

rated 3.1(93 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 olivejuicex on 8/26/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by olivejuicex

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I saw this in Sephora and thought I'd try a little sample on my arm. It smelled great & blended so smooth! The price scared me, but I gave in & bought it. Dun dun dun... Got home and wanted to put it all over to go out. This product, for me, didn't work so great when it was used on a large area. I was streaky and fought with it to look decent. Hours passed and all in the crevices looked dirty. The inside of my arm had the bronzed clumped in my skin. I honesty felt a little icky after putting this on. It felt like tanning oil after a long day of tanning. You know that greasy feeling, no matter how much you try to rub it in your skin. I also wish the bottle had a spray, or a pump! Those impulse purchases sometimes don't work out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 2/11/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The best thing about this product is that it smells fantastic. The smell reminds me of summer. Other than that, this is pretty much useless. First off, the color and the shimmer in the bottle separate. No amount of shaking will ever make this product settle together like it's supposed to. The packaging is atrocious. It looks pretty, but it's in a glass bottle that will probably break if you drop it. It's hard to get out of the small hole at the top. When you do get it out, it does barely anything. It does not bronze your skin and gives a VERY MINIMAL sparkle. I never use this stuff because it does nothing really. Waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 7/10/2012 1:24:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My God, this stuff is pricey! I've known about Nars Body Glow since Sephora's early days, & I've always loved glowy body shimmers, but at that time I didn't like gardenia scents & was disappointed how little shimmer payoff I got compared to the amount of oily slick on my skin. I also found the glass bottle difficult to control (God forbid it should slip out of my hands & shatter on the floor!). That turned me off & I turned my back on Nars Body Glow for 12 yrs, moving on to other shimmer products (usually lotions, sometimes powders).


It's funny how tastes change over the yrs! Recently I fell in love with all things monoi after buying Carol's Daughter Monoi shampoo & conditioner. I thought the gardenia scent might give me the creeps but it proved exactly opposite - smells DIVINE! Now I adore Nars Body Glow for its luscious Tiare gardenia monoi scent, for its blissfuly lightweight moisturizing texture (so silky!), & for the bit of glow it gives to my summer-tanned skin (doesn't appear on my winter pale skin). It doesn't bronze me up but it does very subtley enhance my tan by giving it a gentle sheen. I put this on my lower legs yesterday & I like how the light oil didn't attract dirt to my skin the way heavier oils have while commuting through the smoggy, sooty city.


So far I haven't bought a bottle because of the $60 price. I'm going to try less expensive monoi alternatives, since I'm more keen now on the fragrance as opposed to the shimmer. I'm sure somewhere down the line I will be grabbing a bottle of Body Glow for myself. It's a luxurious product I now enjoy, finally, 12 yrs after the fact.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 9/5/2011 4:43:00 AM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm honestly surprised at some of the negative reviews this got. I've tried this twice now and can honestly say, this is probably HG for me! I love that the texture is moisturizing without being too oily. It delivers a nice bronzey sheen to the skin without being too over the top. A gorgeous bronzey-gold glow. The scent is decent and better than most of the other body bronzers I've tried. My only beef is the packaging. I would personally have preferred a squeeze tube or pump, but that's a minor complaint that doesn't turn me off from using it because I love the effect it leaves on the skin. . The lasting power is better than bronzing body powders that I've tried (everything from B&BW to UD's powders, etc). This is probably right up there w/ the Victoria's Secret body bronzers that I've tried. Overall, a product I can see using often during the warmer summer months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 4/7/2009 3:58:00 AM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

it is average. so, i am not surprised some people love it and some hate it. i figure with this one, your mileage may vary. personally i have yet to find a body oil that i just love. i wrote " Yes " i would purchase simply to indicate i do not regret this purchase, but will i buy again if i use it up entirely?, i doubt it.
however,i love the packaging. i love all NARS packaging!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* moonchita on 3/24/2009 2:25:00 PM more reviews by moonchita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product is damn Sexy!!! I really can't understand the bad reviews at all. Can only think that they maybe didn't put enough on or melt it sufficiently or maybe they need to exfoliate first? On me, this stuff looks and feels amazing. It comes almost solid in the bottle and you have to immerse the bottle in warm water for a few mins to melt it into its oil state. Then, slather on all over for a sexy, golden, sheeny glow. I love this oil, its very nourishing if you have dry skin like me and it actually makes my skin look sheeny and glistening with a gorgeous golden brown colour- very J-lo! I'm not sure if this stuff may stain underwear though as so far I've only worn black undergarments and would be a bit concerned about wearing white. As for some people complaining that its too oily- erm, hello?, its a body OIL so what do you expect?!! it does come out as an oil but if its rubbed in properly its certainly not greasy at all. It is very expensive for what it is but frankly, I don't care, if it makes my skin and me look and feel this good, its worth it. Very sexy product.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaden08 on 3/24/2009 10:02:00 AM more reviews by jaden08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, so first of all i bought this for valentines day bc i wanted to be a hot sexy glistening mama for my husband, mind you i was so excited bc this product is always getting rave reviews. Anyways i plopped over the big bucks for this thing at sephora and off i went to victoria secrets and fredericks to complete my mission. Got home and proceeded to carry out my mission, so like a light that u see in the movies when something is coming from out of space or jesus coming to u, i seen that coming from my sephora bag as i went in to grab my nars body glow. I unscrewed the cap and began applying it and then that's when the W...T...F!!!! happened. #1 it was 2 damn oily. ok it is a oil granted but i had to wipe my hand on my husbands towel like 20 million times to get it dry so it didnt mess up my lingerie. #2 after all of that the smell annoyed me but i think that's bc i was alredy aggrivated by my oily hands #3- what body glow are they mf'n talking about! bc it is for damn sure not in this bottle, my legs dryed back up in like 10 mins after applying it and looked as if nothing had ever happened, so now im steaming mad bc not only is this product a bunch of bull but the amount i paid plus my dreams of being a glistening jewel for my husband completely started to vanish b4 my eyes. I got a grip of myself, went to the nearest duane reade bc sephora was about to close and got me some of the new body oil by vaseline and that was all that i needed. Needless to say valentines night was perfect and the next day i got my money back, quick fast and in a hurry. This product is garbage and i do not recommend. Hmmmph! The only good thing from nars is their blush but im about to let out some steam about their dry a#*! concealer next. Edit: um to the reviewer moonchita on top, um get it straight, i throughly exfoliate my skin, imo the product is garbage, so i can say that thank u! and duh we know it's a oil but is to damn oily. This is a review board for people to say what they want about what they bought, so don't imply nothing about what i did wrong or anybody else bc the ish is crap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eritreanempress on 7/22/2008 12:47:00 PM more reviews by eritreanempress

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Black    

One of the most overrated products of 2006/2007.I have the bronze bottle. It's only saving grace as far as I'm concerned is that it smells lovely but you can get better Tahitian smelling monoi oil @ Bath and Body Works for under $10. Not only does it not show up on your skin, the glitter and the oil seperate quite easily. Horrible to travel with. It spilled inside my cosmetics bag twice and got oil all over the place.It also does NOTHING as far as moisturizing goes, which is odd considering it's an oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lmblazer on 6/19/2008 10:10:00 PM more reviews by lmblazer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Looks like a lot of people like this stuff, but i absolutely HATE it. Feel completely ripped off with this one. I bought this in the duo set with the monoi body oil...i reviewed the oil too, and as far as body oil goes, i guess it's fine...but as for the body glow, what the heck?? I find it cheap looking, too glittery and my body itches like crazy after i apply it. I have fairly light skin, not super pale, but it barely shows up at all on me. The smell is pleasant but besides that, i find it to be a sticky mess. And the bottle it comes in is terrible...i could barely get any out until i stored it upside down for a week! Really disappointed with this one...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lfrueh on 4/26/2008 9:45:00 PM more reviews by lfrueh

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Gawd, I love this stuff! Surprised at the low ratings, because it gives a beautiful sheen to legs and arms and it smells absolutely divine. I wish it was in a squeeze or pump bottle because it puddles in the hand, but otherwise I think it's fabulous - a real summer staple, especially for legs in short skirts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Highlighters products