Mario Badescu • Buffering Lotion • Treatments

rated 3.8(230 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 4/14/2014 5:10:00 AM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Although the ingredients sound like they would be helpful, I did not find mich improvement with my acne, ifany. Obviously, some others had better experiences. Very pricey, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaDolceVita8 on 4/14/2014 2:01:00 AM more reviews by LaDolceVita8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

This did not work for me. It didn't help my cystic acne in any way and wouldn't even work on the smaller pimples. I tried using it several different ways thinking maybe I was using it wrong. I shake the bottle first and then applied it with a cotton pad, then I tried using it with a cotton swab. Finally I just ended up putting a drop directly on my finger and massaging it in that way, because I thought maybe the cotton was absorbing the product so it wasn't actually getting to my skin. But even with this approach, it did nothing for me.

I'm not sure why it's not working but i'm really sad because I paid a hefty amount for this. If anyone knows what I'm doing wrong, please tell me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 4/11/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only topical I've used that's done anything significant for cystic acne. What I love about this is not only does it help heal the spot, but it takes the pain out of cysts. I find that the pain of cystic acne is what normally leads to picking (bad, I know!) because the pressure hurts so much. With this, the pain goes away within a few minutes and stays gone all while making the spot less noticeable. It is a bit pricey, but as mentioned in other reviews you only need a few drops per day to take care of the redness, swelling, and pain. A perfect combination of effective yet gentle skin care for cystic acne and definitely worth the investment if you're suffering from painful acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurentaylor88 on 4/3/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by laurentaylor88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is a staple to my skincare routine, and simply a must-have. The bottle lasts forever if you're using it the right way, and it works wonders on under-the-skin blemishes. I use it every time I can see/feel a cystic pimple coming on, and even on erupted blackheads. I'd say 8 times out of 10, it shrinks the blemish by the next day, stopping it from getting to its full potential. It absorbs into the skin, so you can dab it on and still go about your day or apply makeup. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emarieet on 3/8/2014 9:40:00 PM more reviews by emarieet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Recently I have ready amazing reviews on this product and when I broke out in FIVE different places on my face I went to Ulta to get it. I have combination skin with some cystic acne and the frequent breakouts. This product is great for cystic acne. Anyways, I have been using it for two nights already and my pimples aren't nearly as red!!! You can barely see them and my cystic acne is slight less noticeable! This really works. I haven't been using this for very long so I will post again or make any changed if the product no longer works or works even better. I would DEFINITELY get this if you were in my situation!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joiseygirl27 on 3/1/2014 10:40:00 AM more reviews by joiseygirl27

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product really works! I occasionally get cysts & would have the bump for MONTHS but with this product the bump goes away within a few days. Can't recommend this product enough!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marimist on 2/23/2014 3:27:00 PM more reviews by marimist

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately I'm going to have to give a low rating for this product-it just didn't work for my cystic acne, and the price definitely didn't help. I had about 2-3 large cysts on my chin on a daily basis after I tried to wean myself off of spironolactone. After reading some very promising reviews on Mario Badescu products, I decided to give this a try. This was the most I've ever spent on topical OTC acne medication, and hoped it would work as well as it seemed to for many people.
I tried this for 2 weeks, shaking it well and applying a dab on each cyst every night using clean fingertips. It really didn't do much other than dry out the patch of skin above and around the skin of the cyst--but the cystic bump was still there, raised and scarring. The cyst still took about 1-2 weeks to reduce in size, and leaves that small bump of scars that would take another while to heal.
I'm disappointed, as it seemed promising for many people. I've decided to refund this and switch back to spironolactone. This product may be ok for non-hormonal-acne, but won't do much for those that are hormone-induced.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SharkyBritt on 2/21/2014 7:38:00 PM more reviews by SharkyBritt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm obsessed with this product! I heard about it through a friend who told me to give it a try...now its my go-to product for blemishes. I rub it in the areas I normally break out and poof they're gone! Sometimes I will use it in the daytime over a blemish (place a Qtip underneath it so it doesnt run all over the place) which masks the red color and almost hides it without being too cakey with makeup. Make sure to shake it up before applying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 supeng on 1/18/2014 3:42:00 AM more reviews by supeng

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

First of all, a godly product. I have super sensitive and acne prone skin. SUPER.

This buffering lotions blocks all the incoming cysts like no other. Especially when paired with the Drying Mask and Healing and Soothing mask.

I would apply this on my jawline area since I get hormonal cysts every month prior to my period. This has helped me greatly. This works. Whenever I feel an under the surface painful bump coming, I would apply this followed by the drying mask on that spot for a night. The next night, I would apply Healing and Soothing mask overnight on the spot and, tada, the pain and the bump would have went away by then. <3 Thank you Mario Badescu~

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MyPorcelainLife on 1/13/2014 11:00:00 PM more reviews by MyPorcelainLife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

For years I had a small rash of pimples on the side of my face near omy hairline. I was using Serious Skincare's Clear-Zit at the time and those zits just refused to go away. I went to Ulta, thinking maybe I'd try the Mario Badescu pink lotion, which I'd heard good things about. The salesgirl instead directed me to the Buffering Lotion which is more for cystic acne. The pimples cleared up in less than a week and I've never used a different acne treatment since. This stuff is AMAZING. My monthly hormone pimples are gone before they ever fully form! The only thing I don't like is the bottle. It's hard to control the amount you get from it. And you have to shake it well to mix the product so I think they could have used something nicer than a cheap plastic squeeze bottle - especially considering the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Treatments products