Mario Badescu • Buffering Lotion • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.9(236 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ccbemiller on 10/16/2014 7:15:00 PM more reviews by ccbemiller

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have dry, acne-prone skin and tend to get cystic bumps when I break out. I purchased MB buffering lotion about 2 weeks ago and already notice a difference. Previous to this, I was using Clean & Clear Persa Gel 10 which works fine for surface bumps, but I needed something stronger for those stubborn under the skin bumps.

Make sure you cleanse and tone first. Start by shaking the bottle, then pour some of the liquid onto a cotton ball and pat on the cyst. I find that using a cotton ball is much more efficient than a cotton swab or q-tip. Repeat these steps for 2 nights in a row and the cyst will be significantly reduced.

I couldn't be more pleased with the results and will continue to buy! The 1 oz. bottle sells for $19 on their website, even though you may be able to get it cheaper at your local Ulta or Sephora.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bumblevi on 10/14/2014 6:05:00 PM more reviews by bumblevi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product works! If you suffer from deep, under the skin pimples, then apply this overnight and the swelling will be reduced by morning. From my experience, applying this 2 days in a row will completely flatten a pimple. I usually have a little hyperpigmentation after these type of pimples heal, but it is easily concealed with makeup. It was recommended by the company to pair with the Drying Mask and this also speeded up the healing process.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snowprinc3ss on 9/4/2014 7:27:00 PM more reviews by snowprinc3ss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I can't love this treatment enough! This one makes my inflamed acne visibly smaller the next day. I use it with the drying mask and the dual makes magic :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marquiseazzie on 7/30/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by marquiseazzie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Since I hormonally broke out after drinking a whey protein shake (ladies with touchy hormones - STAY AWAY... three months of non-stop zits due to the androgen-boosting power of whey), I've been cycling through all of Mario Badescu's spot-treatments. I've had great results with the Drying Cream on smaller pimples; it also takes down the inflammation in large cysts. But of course I want to eradicate cysts, not just deal with them after they've formed big bumps.

I tried this on a reddened, aching patch of skin on my cheek (those who get hormonal cysts know that means bad news), and yes, it actually did prevent it from coming out. The small hard swelling under the skin was gone in two days, and saved me weeks, if not months, of cystic hell.

This is EXCELLENT at stopping the formation of a cyst in its tracks when its at a very specific stage of growth - not yet visible to the eye, but growing underground. However, it does next to nothing for cysts that have already formed big bumps, or smaller pimples that will go on to create a whitehead. It also does cause some flakes, which is to be expected as it contains alcohol, but if you're using a great exfoliator (BHA/AHA) they won't be too bad.

Each of the Badescu spot-treatments seem to work very well for very specific types of acne, and having each of them on hand seems like the way to go. I'll be trying the Drying Lotion next!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nanamisan on 7/12/2014 3:21:00 AM more reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this on cystic acne a few times but it did not seem to really do much of anything at all over the course of a few days, to be honest. I think the drying lotion by mario badescu works much better on cystic acne and it's the best spot treatment I've found for acne in general so far. I put this up for swap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* encee on 5/3/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by encee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

For cystic acne, this is a little mild. I thought it could totally work on my troubles, but not really. I had to buy the Drying Lotion next. This one just soaks up the oil on the surface, I guess. No penetrating effects.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 4/14/2014 5:10:00 AM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Although the ingredients sound like they would be helpful, I did not find mich improvement with my acne, ifany. Obviously, some others had better experiences. Very pricey, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaDolceVita8 on 4/14/2014 2:01:00 AM more reviews by LaDolceVita8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

This did not work for me. It didn't help my cystic acne in any way and wouldn't even work on the smaller pimples. I tried using it several different ways thinking maybe I was using it wrong. I shake the bottle first and then applied it with a cotton pad, then I tried using it with a cotton swab. Finally I just ended up putting a drop directly on my finger and massaging it in that way, because I thought maybe the cotton was absorbing the product so it wasn't actually getting to my skin. But even with this approach, it did nothing for me.

I'm not sure why it's not working but i'm really sad because I paid a hefty amount for this. If anyone knows what I'm doing wrong, please tell me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 4/11/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only topical I've used that's done anything significant for cystic acne. What I love about this is not only does it help heal the spot, but it takes the pain out of cysts. I find that the pain of cystic acne is what normally leads to picking (bad, I know!) because the pressure hurts so much. With this, the pain goes away within a few minutes and stays gone all while making the spot less noticeable. It is a bit pricey, but as mentioned in other reviews you only need a few drops per day to take care of the redness, swelling, and pain. A perfect combination of effective yet gentle skin care for cystic acne and definitely worth the investment if you're suffering from painful acne.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurentaylor88 on 4/3/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by laurentaylor88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is a staple to my skincare routine, and simply a must-have. The bottle lasts forever if you're using it the right way, and it works wonders on under-the-skin blemishes. I use it every time I can see/feel a cystic pimple coming on, and even on erupted blackheads. I'd say 8 times out of 10, it shrinks the blemish by the next day, stopping it from getting to its full potential. It absorbs into the skin, so you can dab it on and still go about your day or apply makeup. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Treatments (Face) products