Rusk • Str8 • Styling Products

rated 2.9(73 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 beautyarte on 12/2/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by beautyarte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Other, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product on and off. I mostly use it when I do not chemically straighten my hair. I recently picked up this product again and I feel like they must have changed the formula because it is honestly a miracle product. I used it on my hair which is very curly and unruly and my blow outs last much longer. My friend saw my hair after using this product and thought I put in tracks because trust me, it will stretch out every curl! I'm a hairstylist, although not always actively practicing this profession; I occasional do ethnic hair. I did a friends hair with this product and it was almost as if it changed the texture of her hair! I was astonished. When used properly by a professional, that is the most effective way to get the best results from this product. It is a must have for the unruly curly head!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smolderingviolet on 1/30/2013 4:25:00 PM more reviews by smolderingviolet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of the most important parts of my hair routine. After toweling off my hair I spray in a little its a ten and then smooth a dime size drop of this through my long hair (past the middle of my back). The product is a little bit tacky but as long as you don't use too much it isn't a problem. It does have a strong scent but it isn't something I'm sensitive to. When I use this my hair will blow dry very straight and flat iron pin straight. It will also stay that way for a few days after sleeping on it. The thing I like the least is that the bottle is kind of "tough" and becomes difficult to squeeze when there isn't a lot of product left, but you can get too much out when you take the cap off and then have to deal with trying to get it back in the bottle. I truly love this stuff and always make sure to buy a new bottle before the old one runs out. I've noticed a lot of people who had negative reviews about this bought it from a drug store. You shouldn't buy "high end" products from stores like Target, Walmart, CVS etc. because their authenticity cannot be guaranteed. People (called diverters) go to salons and buy large amounts of certain products and then sell them to other retailers. Unfortunately most of the time the products get watered down to stretch them, so you aren't getting the real deal. Please always be careful and always go to a reputable salon or store (such as ulta or sephora) when buying products such as this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SnappyLeeLee on 10/5/2012 10:43:00 PM more reviews by SnappyLeeLee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

After trying probably every lotion out there, I have to say this product is the best. I wish I would have found it first. It does not weigh down or give my hair that greasy look later. I actually can use it once then go 2-3 days without getting that greasy look that forces me to wash my hair. It keeps the frizz at bay and leaves me very little to straighten after blow drying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sfsuperstar on 5/3/2012 5:15:00 PM more reviews by sfsuperstar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I CAN;T BELIEVE THE LOW RATINGS THIS HAS!!! I HAVE BEEN USING MATRIX SLEEK LOOK LOTION FOR YEARS. I DECIDED TO GIVE THIS A TRY AT THE SALON, AND WOW!!!! I CAN TOTALLY TELL THE DIFFERENCE!!! IT MAKES MY HAIR ABSOULTE STRAIGHT TO PERFECTION AND I CAN TELL IF I TOUCH IT, THAT ITS A LITTLE STIFF SO IT'S GONNA STAY IN PLACE. BUT NOT A BAD KIND OF STIFF, A GOOD ONE. I AM HAPPY I GAVE THIS ONE A TRY AND IT WILL BE MY NEW STUFF. SORRY MATRIX. DEF GIVE IT A TRY!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IHeartSurfing on 10/8/2011 9:13:00 PM more reviews by IHeartSurfing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this!!! My hair is naturally wavy, and frizzy! When i put Str8 on my hair and blow-dry it, It's almost pinstright! Give this product a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DivineHammer on 1/19/2011 1:19:00 PM more reviews by DivineHammer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This product is gross. I bought it because my stylist recommended it, but it made my hair look awful. It dried my hair out so much, my hair always felt, and looked, like straw. It actually took much longer to straighten my hair after using this product, and I could never get my hair fully straight with it. I would go over the same strand over and over and over with my flat iron and the curl remained. Thought maybe I was using it wrong, tried more, less, combining it with other products, nothing worked. My hair always felt so dry and brittle, and looked like an absolute mess. This is by far the worst straightening product I have tried so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KalmiaB on 10/26/2010 1:49:00 PM more reviews by KalmiaB

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked this up at a half price clearance sale. My hair is thick, coarse and curly. I found that is gave me a smoother look and feel, IF you use very little. I apply it to semi-damp hair, then a quick blow dry. I like it as well as other so-called defrizzers. I'd buy again, but I think this bottle will last me for five years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 10/23/2010 5:55:00 PM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hated this stuff. Left my hair feeling weighed down, sticky, and coated. Used it once and returned it.


For those who are really in love with it - they have it in TJ Maxx all the time, the huge bottles of it - almost always giving it away with the low price. Happy Shopping. Unfortunately it didnt work out for me ....!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fckyeahBRITTANY on 9/12/2010 4:17:00 PM more reviews by fckyeahBRITTANY

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product is one of my hair must haves!

I use this every time I get out of the shower & I let my hair air dry.

I have very wavy, frizzy, course hair.

This lotion obviously doesn't make my hair super straight but it does relax my curls enough to the point where the look cute instead of out of control.

I also find that my hair straightens a lot faster with a straightening iron if I have this in my hair first.

The only thing I don't like about this product is that is has a weird smell... I'd describe it as a bad men's cologne.

It also seems like my hair takes a bit longer to dry when I have this product in it.

But to me the pros far out weight the cons.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* simi531 on 8/24/2010 9:32:00 AM more reviews by simi531

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Picked this up at Marshalls a few weeks ago to try something new. I have frizzy wavy sort of curly hair that I blow dry with a round brush. I dont like to wear it stick straight, but smooth and wavy. I dont use this on its own, so I cant just review it like that, but with other products (paul mitchell skinny serum and balm) it seem to do the trick. Some other straightening creams make my hair too soft and it sort of looks limp. This kept the body and fullness at my roots without weighing my hair down which I have found if i only use the PM super skinny line on its own. This probably wont work for people with really coarse frizzy hair because it is not smoothing enough. I like it b/c it keeps body and smoothness. It does seem to dry out my ends a little, but nothing a rinse out and conditioner doesnt remedy.
EDIT: gave it to a friend of mine. Was making my hair a little too sticky - i probably was using too much, but either way it seemed to dry out my hair after a while and my hair is too damaged to deal with that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rusk products

More Styling Products products