Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

3.9

1117 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, ISODODECANE, ALCOHOL, POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE, ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, HEXYL LAURATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ACETYLATED GLYCOL, STEARATE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TRISTEARIN, CELLULOSE GUM, NYLON-1,2 LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, PARFUM / FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, METHYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICA


on 7/28/2015 8:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have oily skin to begin but the lo gevity of this product is pretty decent if you set it with a good powder. I like rimmel stay matte or Coty airspun both in transluscent. Let me begin by saying that the first day I wore this I was out and about at the farmers market on a super hot day. After 5 hours of wear my face looked almost better than when I just applied it. My skin looked poreless and luminous, but not shiny whatsoever. And I have oily skin so I was pretty shocked to see this baby last on my skin so long without any touch ups or fading. After a few weeks of use my skin was breaking out because of stress from finals and junk eating, so I needed more coverage and this foundation just wasn't cutting it for me anymore. Because of its consistency it takes a while to build up the product. My blemishes and darks pots were still shining through even after 3 pumps (I know too much foundation guilty), although it still didn't look caked, it just wasn't giving me any coverage! Girl I was livid. I had finals and didn't wanna spend more than 10 minutes pumping the life out of this pricey product. I put on some of my maybelline age rewind concealer on a few spots and set it and was out the door. My point is that this product is geared for those with decent skin. Not full coverage, it's strictly medium in my opinion. Doesn't look cakey, but it won't cover any acne pigmentation scaring. It's worth a shot but I returned this product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 7/21/2015 5:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have repurchased this product now after using up a whole bottle. #2 is one of the few shades of foundation I have found that match my skintone and does not oxidise. The texture is fantastic, even better when applied with a damp beauty blender. I find it lasts very well on my normal to combination skin.

My first bottle lasted me a year and I wore it very regularly, I suppose I do not apply a lot but the coverage is great yet very natural looking so I didn't need to use much ( I can't stand foundation that doesn't look like skin - this holds up very well on that front).

Also it does not block my pores which I am prone to with most products.

Highly recommend.


on 7/9/2015 4:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

HG!!!!!! Whenever i get the money to splurge on this i will!! i received like 5 samples from a friend that worked at the make up section at saks. Let me just say it leaves my skin looking dewy and it has a medium coverage. i tried it with a brush and with the beauty blender and the beauty blender gives the best and most even coverage. i am a 5.5 in this foundation and a 54 medium in kat von d.


on 7/7/2015 4:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

On the good side, the #4 was a good color match to my LLL/MMM yellow undertone skin. It applies very nicely with my F80 kabuki and is of a thin consistency which I prefer.
But I won't be purchasing it again for a few reasons:
For such a high end product I noted it has Parabens in it.
The coverage was less than I require, but can be layered.
It was a splurge for me, but I found it is not one bit better than my L'Oreal True Match Liquid Founation in W3; except that is has a pump.


on 7/5/2015 10:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i have been looking for my holy grail foundation for so long and finally came across this beauty, it is medium to buildable and works great with my dry/combo acne prone skin. its not heavy on the skin and gives such a beautiful luminous silk finish I'm ecstatic i discovered this foundation and would highly recommend!


on 7/5/2015 12:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am not sure we can ever justify the price for something this size unless it's liquid gold and I do tend to resent it. That said, this is a beautiful foundation. I originally bought the long lasting version and they gave me the sample form of this foundation as well. It took me a while to try it but when I did I put it on before going out in hot weather for several hours and I noticed no difference in longevity between the two. It has a respectable longevity. It lasts me the day with primer and a light dusting of setting powder.
What I did find however that the mild chalkiness that I noticed in the long lasting version was not present in this. The long last version is inferior in my opinion. This foundation really does offer a subtle glow and a burring of flaws without heaviness. It's also offers pretty good coverage. I have a decent, clear wrinkle free skin for my age but I do still usually prefer medium coverage and I found this to offer plenty. It's at least buildable. The price is extortionate but you actually dont need to use that much and it really does deliver. I am a pale redhead and it has some shades suitable for the gingers among us. Shade 4 is a great match for me.


on 6/18/2015 11:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Heard the rave reviews so in my search for a HG foundation I invested. Applied it with a brush and I wasn't overly impressed so next application I tried it with a beauty blender. My god it looks so nice I can't describe it. It's not high coverage id say medium but the finish is lovely! It's sort of Matt but still radiant. It's the most expensive foundation I've bought but it is lovely. On a side note originally I wanted the too faced born this way foundation but with shipping taxes it added up to a whopping 48 pounds which is like 76 dollars! I still want to try that one though but I refuse to pay that much!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2015 12:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

JUST NO. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!! I have pretty normal skin, not especially dry or oily and I can't make this foundation last no matter what. It honestly lasts for about 2 hours before it needs to be touched up. If you get a little bit of oil or sweat FORGET IT!! Also, when you apply it, it goes on streaky. I have to keep buffing and buffing until it doesn't look streaky. I HATE this foundation and I can't believe how people can like it. The ONLY POSITIVE for this is that the colour matches my skin perfectly (a bit lighter and more yellow than nc15 and shade 3 is perfect). Save your money, there are much better foundations for half the price.


on 6/16/2015 7:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Bought this yesterday from selfriges in Birmingham and having used it two times already I can say I'm in love!! I have dry skin and with other foundations it would cling to it but with this foundation it covers and doesn't cling to my dry bits!
It gives a glow once it is on I set it with macs setting spray it's good at covering my spots and I'm very pleased!! Deffo worth the money


on 6/15/2015 9:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really wanted to love this foundation like so many others, but I absolutely without a doubt hate it and I will never buy it again. I am medium skinned Black meaning not light skinned, but not dark either, in between. Shade #8 made me look ashy or pasty. It had an extremely overwhelming baby powder scent that lingered hours after applying it. The coverage was extremely light almost like a tinted moisturizer. Also, the pump doesn’t lock like some foundation pumps do. For $62, I would expect one that locks. The only good thing about it was that it blended into my skin easily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top