New York Color Extra Shiny Top Coat

2.8

96 reviews

41% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 8/19/2015 12:47:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this top coat for dirt cheap at Wal-Mart in the hopes that it would be a less expensive replacement for Seche Vite but there are times when it's worth spending the extra dollars on a product that you know will work.
New York Color's Extra Shiny Top Coat is a prime example of that. For whatever odd reason, this top coat bubbles on my thumb nails (but not my other nails) and the polish ends up chipping and coming off within a day or so.
I love New York Color's lipsticks but their nail products leave a lot to be desired. Their polishes are nothing to write home about either.

Skip this top coat and get Seche Vite.



on 10/30/2014 2:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm actually not sure how long I've had my particular bottle of NYC top coat but I know I didn't purchase it within the last year. in fact, I probably received it as a gift because I only recently started getting into polish and don't recall using it before a few months ago. as a result I was initially going to advise you to take my review with a grain of salt, as I honestly have no idea how long this TC had been collecting dust in my room before I finally used it, but after reading some other reviews before writing my own, I'd say that's not actually necessary.

this top coat is indeed shiny but it does crack, I'm not sure if it cracks the polish underneath or if it's simply the TC itself that cracks but you can see little fissures in your nails that are ridiculously unsightly. I do recall leaving this TC on for a few days (it's been a while since I've used it, after I realized the NYC was what was causing the cracks I quickly picked up a bottle of SV and haven't looked back) and not having additional issues with chips, but the cracks themselves are still conspicuous enough even on glitter that I lost the desire to show off new manis. I probably wouldn't repurchase, though I would like to give it another shot to see if there's any way of applying it that prevents the chips...perhaps a thinner coat of it? I'm not sure.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Literally the WORST top coat I've ever used. I've used it twice so far and both times my nail polish started chipping the day I painted it. The polish cracks all over the nail and just falls off. Usually without top coat I can go at least 3 days before my polish starts to chip. By using this, 70% of my nail polish is gone the day after I paint them. On top of that, it's very thick and goopy and tends to gum up at the end of my nails. I'm throwing this out, it wasn't even worth the very cheap price I paid for it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 12:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this is a terrible top coat! i thought for $1 what did i have to lose? i ruined a good manicure. its thick, and it makes my polish crack and chip within the same day. dont buy this.


on 8/31/2013 4:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This top coat is very cheap for the amount of polish you get, but it's not a very good top coat. My nails chip in the first few hours when I use this top coat which leads me to believe that it's basically useless. Overall I give it a 2/5 and a no to repurchasing.


on 3/11/2013 11:41:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm spoiled by super fast top coats now. Alas, there is no going back. This is a more old fashioned kind we just used to call "clear nail polish," back in the day when doing your nails meant alloting half of that day immobized so the dang stuff would finally dry.

But this still serves a purpose. I like to use it to thin out too goopy thick polishes. It leaves the polish less opaque, more like a "jelly" type look.

Works well for that since its cheap and easy to find


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is horrible. Top coats are supposed to seal and protect nail polish, but this causes my nails to chip far more than what they do without any topcoat.


on 2/17/2013 10:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I bought this because, i wanted a top coat that would help make my nailpolish last longer, but nothing to expensive because i don;t really care about my nails (weird since i like them to be painted all the time)

BUT ANYWAYS OVERALL:
First time I used this, i thought i loved it, because I didn;t notice any cracks in my nails and it lasted about a week without chipping.

Second time i used this there was some cracks in it, still lasted long

Third time i used it, terrible! cracks, it chipped easily, etc

so i was thinking, why was it that, the first time it was perfect? but the other times it began to crack and chip. And thats when i noticed it was because how I applied it.

The best way to apply this is if you are using two coats of nail polish, wait till it is COMPLETELY DRY and then apply it.

I gave it 3 because well...its shiny, inexpensive, and if you apply it right, it will be useful.


on 1/9/2013 3:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I could summarise this top coat in one word: AWFUL.

It applied perfectly fine for me and looked lovely until the next morning when I put on my gloves and bits of my (lovingly applied) nail polish started falling off just as I was leaving for work.

It has also left hairline cracks in the polish and my nails now look a mess.

It would probably be better not to use any top coat than this one. It's a waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2012 1:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

hate this topcoatt...its so stringy and goopy and thick and takes forever to dry and when it finally does dry, it chips right away... it is super shiny though.. thats why i gave it 2 lipsies




Top Rated New York Color Products

image

Matte Me Crazy

35 reviews
image

309B Sheer Red

155 reviews
Back to Top