New York Color • Extra Shiny Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 2.8(94 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 aybubs on 6/23/2014 12:00:00 PM more reviews by aybubs

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is a terrible top coat! i thought for $1 what did i have to lose? i ruined a good manicure. its thick, and it makes my polish crack and chip within the same day. dont buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dbc202 on 8/31/2013 4:12:00 PM more reviews by dbc202

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This top coat is very cheap for the amount of polish you get, but it's not a very good top coat. My nails chip in the first few hours when I use this top coat which leads me to believe that it's basically useless. Overall I give it a 2/5 and a no to repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 3/11/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm spoiled by super fast top coats now. Alas, there is no going back. This is a more old fashioned kind we just used to call "clear nail polish," back in the day when doing your nails meant alloting half of that day immobized so the dang stuff would finally dry.

But this still serves a purpose. I like to use it to thin out too goopy thick polishes. It leaves the polish less opaque, more like a "jelly" type look.

Works well for that since its cheap and easy to find

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hbroadwayphann on 3/11/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by hbroadwayphann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is horrible. Top coats are supposed to seal and protect nail polish, but this causes my nails to chip far more than what they do without any topcoat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 itsAmybby on 2/27/2013 7:37:00 AM more reviews by itsAmybby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Worst top coat I've ever tried.. It bubbles up during application and takes literally 3-4 hours to try completely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katrinacg3 on 2/17/2013 10:56:00 PM more reviews by katrinacg3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So I bought this because, i wanted a top coat that would help make my nailpolish last longer, but nothing to expensive because i don;t really care about my nails (weird since i like them to be painted all the time)

BUT ANYWAYS OVERALL:
First time I used this, i thought i loved it, because I didn;t notice any cracks in my nails and it lasted about a week without chipping.

Second time i used this there was some cracks in it, still lasted long

Third time i used it, terrible! cracks, it chipped easily, etc

so i was thinking, why was it that, the first time it was perfect? but the other times it began to crack and chip. And thats when i noticed it was because how I applied it.

The best way to apply this is if you are using two coats of nail polish, wait till it is COMPLETELY DRY and then apply it.

I gave it 3 because well...its shiny, inexpensive, and if you apply it right, it will be useful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ohsailor on 1/9/2013 3:47:00 AM more reviews by ohsailor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I could summarise this top coat in one word: AWFUL.

It applied perfectly fine for me and looked lovely until the next morning when I put on my gloves and bits of my (lovingly applied) nail polish started falling off just as I was leaving for work.

It has also left hairline cracks in the polish and my nails now look a mess.

It would probably be better not to use any top coat than this one. It's a waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 maysamaidibi on 12/6/2012 1:52:00 PM more reviews by maysamaidibi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

hate this topcoatt...its so stringy and goopy and thick and takes forever to dry and when it finally does dry, it chips right away... it is super shiny though.. thats why i gave it 2 lipsies

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MeganElizabeth2012 on 10/29/2012 10:14:00 AM more reviews by MeganElizabeth2012

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

When I first put this on I thought I would really like it; sure, it makes your nails look super shiny but after a day or so I noticed that my nail polish was cracking. Threw this out right after I noticed it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 10/28/2012 10:25:00 AM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this was a steal. I don't *usually* do my nails, and when I do they always chip anyway because of doing the dishes and everything else, so I didn't think this caused chipping any more than I would without. I think it's really shiny and cheap and dries fast. For me, that's good enough. (I didn't get any cracks.) I suppose if I really do my nails more often that a better top coat would be worth it, if it really keeps polish on, but I feel that's an impossible task and definitely not worth tons of money to try to achieve. So for me, for now, this works.

Update: I had since bought Setche Vite and use this for my kids manicures. I can't even paint my nails anyway. They just break. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Top/Base Coats products